R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2014, 08:22 AM   #31
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,092
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorents View Post
Thanks!

I considered taking them off but found them useful for transponder mounting The RC4 transponder wont work properly if its mounted on metal or carbon.

Tried a couple packs on the local track yesterday. Super happy with it so far! Very smooth and powerful.
Looks great. I'm still debating buying one. Your rc4 should work I. Carbon and metal.
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:55 PM   #32
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorents View Post
Thanks!

I considered taking them off but found them useful for transponder mounting The RC4 transponder wont work properly if its mounted on metal or carbon.

Tried a couple packs on the local track yesterday. Super happy with it so far! Very smooth and powerful.
You should put it inside the receiver box...you don't need to mount it on anything, just inside that receiver box and it works fine.

And yes, remove those side plate...they looks ugly, and this is not a buggy afterall...LOL
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:30 AM   #33
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Ok, I get it. RC4 in the receiver box and away with the guards
Lorents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 01:29 AM   #34
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Agree... looks much better, saves a few grams and you are right about the RC4 in the rx box. Thanks for the tip!

Attached Thumbnails
Speed Power E801GT-20140522_081519.jpg  
Lorents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 01:44 AM   #35
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

First failure...



Motor seized and the end cap popped. Have never experienced anything like that before... It was not hot and it is rated for 6S.

The good news is that the car is holding up well
Attached Thumbnails
Speed Power E801GT-20140523_080447.jpg   Speed Power E801GT-20140523_080259.jpg  
Lorents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 02:24 PM   #36
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorents View Post
First failure...

Motor seized and the end cap popped. Have never experienced anything like that before... It was not hot and it is rated for 6S.

The good news is that the car is holding up well
woah...looks like the set screws or whatever backed out or something. Weird...what motor was that?

We made it out to the track this past weekend with our E801GTs. We ran the cars box stock with the exception of Alpha tires and Serpent shock springs. They were a blast to run in the mix of GT nitro and 1/10 nitro cars.

We did take some video and will try to get it online after downloading the footage.
Attached Thumbnails
Speed Power E801GT-img_20140525_123324901.jpg   Speed Power E801GT-img_20140525_123330336.jpg  
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:58 PM   #37
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Some basic fixed video I took with my MotoX smartphone sitting on the drivers stand. I have some better video using a head mounted cam that follows the cars. Uploading that later this week and will post.

Having some fun on the track with e801GTs. This video might have been our first run of the day running all stock setup with Alpha Soft tires. They're a blast to drive on this big track.


white/orange and blue/yellowish cars using Blaze 2450kv motors.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:23 PM   #38
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Speed Power E801GT and E801B part 1.: http://youtu.be/6FjhTj-JkYM
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway

Last edited by Nexus; 06-18-2014 at 06:57 PM.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:46 PM   #39
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

How do Sweep GT tires hold up when running on a GT-e car? I read all over that they don't hold up under the high torque and accel of an e car, compared to a nitro GT. But I would like to try some Sweep treaded GT tires for my local track. The track is an old parking lot with worn out asphalt, and is (probably) too dusty for slicks.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:59 PM   #40
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth_RT View Post
How do Sweep GT tires hold up when running on a GT-e car? I read all over that they don't hold up under the high torque and accel of an e car, compared to a nitro GT. But I would like to try some Sweep treaded GT tires for my local track. The track is an old parking lot with worn out asphalt, and is (probably) too dusty for slicks.
I think a year ago or so there was a bad run of Sweeps. That changed or went back to normal after the inventory cycled through. I ran Alphas, but the other E801GT car was running older treaded Sweeps I think. They held up fine from what I could see in our pits.

We had 2450kv motors so plenty of power/torque being put down. I'll see if I can get Solara to post specifically what tires he ran.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:59 AM   #41
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,580
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Officially lurking on this thread.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 11:10 AM   #42
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Officially lurking on this thread.
I have better video of the e801GT on the track, but I've been busy and haven't editted/loaded it up yet.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 04:47 AM   #43
Tech Apprentice
 
NiteCap2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Irving TX
Posts: 58
Default

Hello Guys, I'm wondering if that Motor Mount limits the size pinion that can be used on this Kit. it looks a lot like the motor mount i took from a RedCat RC to build a conversion. thanks
NiteCap2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:42 AM   #44
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiteCap2k View Post
Hello Guys, I'm wondering if that Motor Mount limits the size pinion that can be used on this Kit. it looks a lot like the motor mount i took from a RedCat RC to build a conversion. thanks
What size pinion you looking to run? For the most part I know last summer we ran 2450kvs, 2200, and a 1900kv with no gearing issues.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:11 AM   #45
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiteCap2k View Post
Hello Guys, I'm wondering if that Motor Mount limits the size pinion that can be used on this Kit. it looks a lot like the motor mount i took from a RedCat RC to build a conversion. thanks
Unless you need to mount a 30T pinion........I have tried to mount a 25T pinion on that motor plate and I can still rotate the motor and mount something bigger...but honestly, running 4S powered 2750kv motor I don't think you really want to mount something that big in pinion.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net