R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2007, 04:06 AM   #2686
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH
if ever i go BL its because its such a pain to waste a good motor just for setting up or practicing.
Since I recopper my coms I don't have this problem. With the new copper on the com the motor gains about 2 to 3 amps.

Here is a picture how a com looks when the process is finished. Just need to clean up the com and cut it.
Attached Thumbnails
STOCK motor forum-recopper_com.jpg  
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 04:59 AM   #2687
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

@Moony
is that on the old burnt out motor ?? coz those winds look really dodgey & this could be the reason why you are pulling 2-3 amps more then norm !!
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 05:00 AM   #2688
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

And i as expecting you (moony) to be using the fuzzy brush comm thingy for some reason
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 05:06 AM   #2689
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
@Moony
is that on the old burnt out motor ?? coz those winds look really dodgey & this could be the reason why you are pulling 2-3 amps more then norm !!
I use a nail polish (black) to protect the arm from not getting covered by the copper. This is a electrolyze method. The picture was one of my try that I did but I will try and get some new photos and you will see the difference. I have done about 100 arms now and all the arms that I have done have increase in amps and more rpms.

This is not a sleeve process like teambr00d sells.

Ronald
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 05:12 AM   #2690
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
And i as expecting you (moony) to be using the fuzzy brush comm thingy for some reason
no fuzzy brush comm. pure electrolyze. I even tried it with silver. The motor had alot of rpms but the silver did not last long. After every pack I had to recut the com but the motor ran like a 19T.
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 07:29 AM   #2691
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

@,moony
thanks for a nice reply
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 08:40 AM   #2692
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooony
no fuzzy brush comm. pure electrolyze. I even tried it with silver. The motor had alot of rpms but the silver did not last long. After every pack I had to recut the com but the motor ran like a 19T.
where do you get this from?
stephen hilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 08:48 AM   #2693
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen hilton
where do you get this from?
I found some information on internet and then I started to experiment. I have been trying for about 2 years now and each time it gets better. I did a stock motor this weekend. It took about 48 hours to go from 7.20 to 8.20 size. In the picture above was one of the first ones I did and the copper was very rough and needs a lot of cutting to be smooth. I can get it now very smooth.
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 08:49 AM   #2694
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

@stephen
would this make the comm illegal to use & bring some unwanted attention from scrupulous other racers ,if you can use different hardness of copper & all
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 08:56 AM   #2695
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

@MR JOLLY

in Italy they use this method a lot. you can find many sites in Italy that talk about this. Of course you can't use the silver but it something I did personally just to see what the result would be. For me the silver does not work as well as copper.

Oh by the way, to place silver on a com cost twice as what a new motor would cost you.
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 09:08 AM   #2696
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

Here some reading on this:

BBC ELECTROLYSIS

This will help you start.
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 09:41 AM   #2697
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mooney, how free of porosity do the comms turn out? Your photo of a raw, unmachined comm makes it look very porous.

Also, how do you machine it afterwards. It looks so rough that it might snag on a toolbit.

What voltage and current do you suggest for the process?
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 09:54 AM   #2698
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooony
Here some reading on this:

BBC ELECTROLYSIS

This will help you start.
Shit man now i`m really brain dead
think i`ll stick with gardening
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:23 AM   #2699
Tech Adept
 
mooony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Default

@Iceracer

I use about 0,2 - 0,5 V. The main factor is Amp that makes the difference. the right amount of amp is about 0.05 A. if you use to much V and A the result will be like in the picture. You can still cut the raw arm in a lathe without a problem. just have sharp bit. the results I am having now in raw are very smooth with very sharp edges between the com plates.

The more amp you use the harder the copper is on the com and it will look like in the picture.
mooony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:07 AM   #2700
Tech Adept
 
FastFat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 122
Send a message via MSN to FastFat
Default

moony-
Do you do this for others, ie I send you a few of my older arms?
FastFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
19T Motor Forum Korey Harbke Electric On-Road 550 04-11-2009 08:27 AM
Stock motor sale !!!!CO27,P2k Pro, Monsters stock Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 36 06-27-2006 06:26 AM
Mod Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 58 11-28-2003 12:58 AM
Stock Motor Forum JLMG1971 Electric On-Road 2 10-22-2002 03:07 AM
Stock Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 62 09-14-2001 12:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net