R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2001, 05:10 PM   #241
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

Ithink Watts is meaningless unless qouted as output.
Otherwise it can simply be power dissapation, it is capable of using 131.6W, but how much is converted to rotational power and how much is turned into heat?

Mine.....

rpm 27.4731
131..6W
Torque 180Nmm

Less RPM mut a bit more torque.... but less power dissapation....
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2001, 05:45 PM   #242
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 15
Default

Guys, this is a real long thread and I realize this question must have been asked earlier but- what in your opinion is the best ECS for stock racing? Any input would be appreciated!
Doc Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2001, 05:59 PM   #243
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

ESC.... I am a LRP fan.... but I do have restricted budget....but I heard good things about M.Tronics..... bounus is that it is water proof.... I always worrk when I run on damp track with my LRPs... but the two F1 series I have had 100% reliability and funny the lower version gave more punch, but the top version I have F1 digital PRO is much more drivable.....
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2001, 06:19 PM   #244
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the reply!
Doc Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2001, 09:44 PM   #245
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doc Martin
Guys, this is a real long thread and I realize this question must have been asked earlier but- what in your opinion is the best ECS for stock racing? Any input would be appreciated!
LRP Quantum Competition
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2001, 09:50 PM   #246
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 112
Default

I am about to get my comm skimmed on my Reedy Rage R and I was wondering what brushes and springs to fit to get the best out of the motor.

Best ESC for stock. IMO I've had my Novak Cyclone 2 for about 2 years since they came out and I have not had a problem. It has a setting for stock racing that feels just right to me. Plenty of punch and smooth acceleration. If you want to go mod racing there are 2 settings for that also but I don't usualy mess with it. If your racing outdoors in the UK (usually wet) you can seal it pretty easy.
Yorkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 10:47 AM   #247
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yorkie
I am about to get my comm skimmed on my Reedy Rage R and I was wondering what brushes and springs to fit to get the best out of the motor.

Best ESC for stock. IMO I've had my Novak Cyclone 2 for about 2 years since they came out and I have not had a problem.
Reedy 767's, use the original springs, bend about 10 degrees more tension into the positive spring.

Are you sure you've had a Cyclone 2 for 2 years? I thought they came out less than a year ago.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 10:56 AM   #248
Tech Adept
 
JOHNNY RACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: inSANe DIEGO, CA
Posts: 109
Default

thanks guys. my numbers are close to wolfeman09's. are those good, bad, below or above average? is there such a thing as a 90% efficient stock motor? 180+ torque? power above 140?
JOHNNY RACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 12:34 PM   #249
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 112
Default

No, sorry, not the Cyclone 2 but the Cyclone TC. Still going strong and I like too much to experiment with anything else.

Yorkie
Yorkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 02:23 PM   #250
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to WHITESTER
Default What is the difference between Cleaning com, and Cutting?

I would like to know the difference between cutting a com, and cleaning a com with a com stick. I understand that with cutting you actually cut the copper off. And then you have a nice clean com. But with cleaning the com with a com stick, you can have a clean com also. So can someone please help a rookie out? Thanks!
WHITESTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 02:45 PM   #251
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

There will come a point and time when the cleaning stick will not get all of the burned areas off of the com. Thus you will need to cut it. You will also need to cut the com if for some reason your com is out of round thus producing brush bounce. You can tell by the amount of arcing the motor has and by placing a small wrench on the brush and running the motor. If it is way out of round you will either see or feel the tool going up and down. Hope this helps.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 08:29 PM   #252
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default New Stock Motor?

Hi, just want some opinion.....

I got a P2K Pro.... it is nice but I got the feeling that it is a bit over tuned and not too much torque.... I am thinking an alternative stock motor....

So far the manufacturers I have on my list:

BRM
GM3
LRP

Any ideas?

Thanks
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 08:40 PM   #253
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Wink

The P2K is just about the torquest stock motor there is, if you don't think it has enought torque, you must have it geared wrong.
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 08:46 PM   #254
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

Thanks Speedo for the reply.... I have been experimenting with my gear ratios.... mayby I am doing something wrong!!! It seems that when I get good punch I lose too much top end.... maybe I want too much... human nature!!!

I will try again this weekend and see what happens!
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2001, 12:47 AM   #255
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for all the replies guys!
Doc Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
19T Motor Forum Korey Harbke Electric On-Road 550 04-11-2009 08:27 AM
Stock motor sale !!!!CO27,P2k Pro, Monsters stock Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 36 06-27-2006 06:26 AM
Mod Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 58 11-28-2003 12:58 AM
Stock Motor Forum JLMG1971 Electric On-Road 2 10-22-2002 03:07 AM
Stock Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 62 09-14-2001 12:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net