R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 01-03-2007, 01:34 PM   #2521
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)

Hey guys, sorry i am new to this motor stuff,
So when you's say motor is pulling certain amps at 2.0volts is that on the bench out of car with no load on motor?

I have a ICE charger which i think i can play with this feature to see how my motor stacks up in the amps department.

thanks.....
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 02:41 PM   #2522
Tech Elite

Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell

i have a ICE machine aswell
get around 8.0-9.5a @2.0v less amps bigger pinion then lots of amps

lots of amps means motor will/can get hotter into the 5 min run thus go slower at the end
trial & error to find what works with you

no-load it is done under
(yes!! we know the motor will change as soon as you put in the car under load ) but you just live with it & learn quickley what to do & not what to do

Dynos with on-load capability cost alot lot lot of dosh

HTH
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 02:42 PM   #2523
Tech Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123
Hey guys, sorry i am new to this motor stuff,
So when you's say motor is pulling certain amps at 2.0volts is that on the bench out of car with no load on motor?

I have a ICE charger which i think i can play with this feature to see how my motor stacks up in the amps department..
Most of the time this is out of the car with a fan on the motor to give it some load.

I have run a couple of motors on a friends Turbo 35 and my ICE and they are pretty close on the amp draw readings. My Super IQ reads almost an amp low.
haagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 02:48 PM   #2524
Tech Elite

Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell

@haagar
do you run fan on motor all the time when on the motor run in machines