R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2005, 11:26 AM   #2026
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hyena boy
who makes the "f" brush?

has anyone found a good set up for the new epic handout motor? i got them at cleveland but i was not there too talk to other racers. the only thing i have found is they get hot.
The "F" brush will run a little hotter,you gotta gear down a few teeth with it,but it will fly when you hit the gear.Make sure you break it in good and file those edges down a tick,I've been running a fiberglass com stick over the face also to help with the mold release problem.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:36 AM   #2027
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Comm Size

I hear someone say they will take a new motor and cut the comm down to a specific size.

Does anyone else do this? If so, why and what size? Also what what does this do to the life of the comm?

Thanks
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:40 AM   #2028
Tech Master
 
nmt6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1,292
Send a message via AIM to nmt6789
Default

I've heard that people just skim the comm with a new motor...........
nmt6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:45 AM   #2029
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If the motors from Trinity then yes ill put a light skim on it as they can be out of round from the factory. Just a very light one though.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:47 AM   #2030
Tech Regular
 
Losi Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to Losi Will
Default Re: Comm Size

Quote:
Originally posted by StewartFan20
I hear someone say they will take a new motor and cut the comm down to a specific size.

Does anyone else do this? If so, why and what size? Also what what does this do to the life of the comm?

Thanks
Cutting the comm down to .275" from new will remove some of the armature's rotating weight and let it spool up slightly faster. I wouldn't bother with it unless you feel like replacing armatures every weekend.
Losi Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 12:03 PM   #2031
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Comm Size

Quote:
Originally posted by Losi Will
Cutting the comm down to .275" from new will remove some of the armature's rotating weight and let it spool up slightly faster. I wouldn't bother with it unless you feel like replacing armatures every weekend.

Thanks. And that answers my next question....What does it do to the life of the arm?

Thanks again. I am new to this electric motor stuff and still learning.
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 12:12 PM   #2032
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Comm Size

Quote:
Originally posted by Losi Will
Cutting the comm down to .275" from new will remove some of the armature's rotating weight and let it spool up slightly faster. I wouldn't bother with it unless you feel like replacing armatures every weekend.
Rotating weight? how much does .015" of copper weigh? There's a different reason for doing that but I don't think weight is the real reason...someone else can give you the real reason. I think it has to do with brush wrap around the comm.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 12:45 PM   #2033
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

Smaller comms give more torque because the brush can come into contact with more copper. So the 3 comm segments are in contact with the brushes 100% of the time. You get more power, but lose efficiency because the comm shorts out a fraction of the time. I believe. this is correct.
.270 is the smallest you should cut your comm to.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 01:01 PM   #2034
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So, once the comm is below .270, the arm should be replaced?
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 01:15 PM   #2035
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

My favorite Monster right now is still screaming at .265" Cut it till you can't anymore is my thinking.

Blake
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 01:25 PM   #2036
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default p2k2

ya thats wat i did with my p2k2 and man was it hauling!!
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:06 PM   #2037
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Hey,i run p2k2 in my tc3, I dont know what tooth spur gear i have, and im not to sure what pinion i should run, right now i have a 24 tooth in it. i have Fusion 1.183 packs to back me up.


here is a pic of my track general weekly layout, would you consider this a speed track, or a torque track what motor would you recommend /pinion,spur,brushes and springs. lol i ask alot!


Here is a pic of the motor/spur
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:10 PM   #2038
Tech Regular
 
Lost Aggresiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Don't hold me to it, but I believe that every 0.010" off the comm is supposed to be like advancing the timing by a degree or so. Or something to that extent.
Lost Aggresiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:20 PM   #2039
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BSchorr
Hey,i run p2k2 in my tc3, I dont know what tooth spur gear i have, and im not to sure what pinion i should run, right now i have a 24 tooth in it. i have Fusion 1.183 packs to back me up.


here is a pic of my track general weekly layout, would you consider this a speed track, or a torque track what motor would you recommend /pinion,spur,brushes and springs. lol i ask alot!
Kinda hard to gear your motor if you don't know what your spur is, isn't it?
Figure out how many teeth are on the spur, it should say on it. With that motor and track, you'll probably want a final ratio of about 6.8.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:31 PM   #2040
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default 2cents

bschorr-looks like u would want more torque than rpm. the track looks little on the technical side. but looks like youre running the right motor for torque. but u can also may want to try a monster stock. my 2cents
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
19T Motor Forum Korey Harbke Electric On-Road 550 04-11-2009 08:27 AM
Stock motor sale !!!!CO27,P2k Pro, Monsters stock Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 36 06-27-2006 06:26 AM
Mod Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 58 11-28-2003 12:58 AM
Stock Motor Forum JLMG1971 Electric On-Road 2 10-22-2002 03:07 AM
Stock Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 62 09-14-2001 12:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net