Community
Wiki Posts
Search

When to retire rubber tires on carpet?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2014, 10:39 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default When to retire rubber tires on carpet?

I am new to TC racing and I was wondering how do you know when a tire has lost its edge or is no longer worth running anymore--specifically talking about rubber tire on carpet. This is assuming it still looks "ok". I can't tell if the tire goes away or the car caught a tweak. Is it just something that comes with time and experience or is there something in particular to look for?
Old 03-13-2014, 11:05 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Originally Posted by d16dcoe45
I am new to TC racing and I was wondering how do you know when a tire has lost its edge or is no longer worth running anymore--specifically talking about rubber tire on carpet. This is assuming it still looks "ok". I can't tell if the tire goes away or the car caught a tweak. Is it just something that comes with time and experience or is there something in particular to look for?
I don't know what tires you run but I run carpet mostly all the time. I use sorex 28 and they do wear but still able to maintain grip. You can tell after each race day by all the deposits dumped into the body. If you're a consistent driver you can tell that the tires have began to lose their edge. Car will push at the apex, lose rear end etc. It also depends on how serious you are for that couple of tenth and if you're willing to spend the money. I club race mainly and I'll change sets after a month or so of weekly racing. I also flip L and R not Front and back. I do have quite a few sets only because of multiple cars.
Old 03-13-2014, 11:23 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)