R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-12-2014, 12:04 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default New Guy - Big Project

Hey guys, my name is Tyler and I just joined the forum. I am an engineering student at Virginia Tech and I am practically designing an RC car from the ground up. Obviously, I won't be designing the motor/servo so I need some advice from you guys. I really don't know a whole lot about this stuff. I want this to be a car 1/10th scale for the road. I want it to be pretty fast. This is what I am thinking so far...

A 4.5T KV Rating geared around 11.0:1.

I am having difficulties in what servo I want to purchase or what is good. I appreciate any advice you guys have to give whether it is in the setup or anything else, and look forward to learning!

P.S. I do have a budget so I am not looking to spend a ton.
tyler94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:46 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler94 View Post
Hey guys, my name is Tyler and I just joined the forum. I am an engineering student at Virginia Tech and I am practically designing an RC car from the ground up. Obviously, I won't be designing the motor/servo so I need some advice from you guys. I really don't know a whole lot about this stuff. I want this to be a car 1/10th scale for the road. I want it to be pretty fast. This is what I am thinking so far...

A 4.5T KV Rating geared around 11.0:1.

I am having difficulties in what servo I want to purchase or what is good. I appreciate any advice you guys have to give whether it is in the setup or anything else, and look forward to learning!

P.S. I do have a budget so I am not looking to spend a ton.