R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2005, 06:39 AM   #76
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Cool Another way to look at it.

All of the guys around me run 1/12th. Spintech said they would have one for 4 cells out by the end of the year.

The locals loved what the Spintech did for my batteries but didn't have many options.

We got the Trinity unit in and Bingo. The LHS now has a demand product to offer these customers.

It works great. Has more features and is cheaper.

Without this competition, limited products at higher prices are the norm.

When Spintech decides Trinity made some nice and desirable improvements, are you going to knock them when they duplicate the setup and display?

Tradedress could get very nasty!
TEX
__________________
www.indyrcworld.net
Indy RC World 2.0 - Garland, TX
T&T RC Cars - Plano, TX
(972) 271-4844
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:07 PM   #77
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 197
Default

OK guys. I Got it just yesterday and I would like to ask a few questions

I am dischargeing two old Hurricane 3300 4 cell and A new pro match 3300 4 cell pack. I discharged them them on a integey 30 amp discahrge box then i used the Dyna Pulse. The Batteries took about 1-2 hours to discharge and the MAh was. (Please don't laugh) 850 mah-1500 mah. Is this right? what am I doing wrong? what can I do to make this better? Any suggestions? Thank you very much!

-Lee
Leester-111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:28 PM   #78
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Just a wild guess (my Dyna Pulse hasn't come in yet)...

Is there a chance you had it set on 6 cells and not on 4? If that was the case, it might cut the discharge off early (at the 5.4v point, instead of 3.6v)..?
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:38 PM   #79
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod M
that's not the point,

Trinity basically ripped off the design from Spintec,

Innovation is what drives the industry forward, Trinity is ripping off others ideas to line their pockets,

I now understand why so many despise Trinity
as i understand it, trinity did not design/develope this product. they simply are the US distributor and had their name stamped on the units they are moving (as they do with other products).

if people couldn't improve on products we'd still be using charge cords or tether cars.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 10:00 PM   #80
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfrahm
Just a wild guess (my Dyna Pulse hasn't come in yet)...

Is there a chance you had it set on 6 cells and not on 4? If that was the case, it might cut the discharge off early (at the 5.4v point, instead of 3.6v)..?
Nope I was on 4 cell all the way. Any other suggestions?
Leester-111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 11:17 PM   #81
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Well if you discharged them first on your 30 amp discharger and then used the Dyna Pulse... as you said... of course you wont get a high Mah number. You must discharge a fully charged pack to get accurate numbers... this will take 6 or 7 hours to discharge. Lee, ask Sobottka he has been using his for a while and says it has had good results for him.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 02:58 AM   #82
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

does a clicking sound come from ther batts when discharging with the DYNA pulse?
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 05:13 AM   #83
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoman
Well if you discharged them first on your 30 amp discharger and then used the Dyna Pulse... as you said... of course you wont get a high Mah number. You must discharge a fully charged pack to get accurate numbers... this will take 6 or 7 hours to discharge. Lee, ask Sobottka he has been using his for a while and says it has had good results for him.
6-7 hours ....

My Spintech never took more the 3-4 hours for a fully charger 3700GP ...

Maybe there is something wrong in your discharger ...

e_lm_70

PS: Which type of number do you get out of the Dyna after a full discharge from a fully charged pack ??? Are the capacity number correct ??? My Spintech just report sensfull number (still quite optimistich BTW) for GP cells ... but for NiCd it report incredible huge numbers ... like 4800mAh capacity from a 2400 NiCd fully charged !
e_lm_70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 06:52 AM   #84
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 547
Default

The DynaPulse does take 6-7 hours for a charged 3700 pack.

Other than that, it works great.

Also, the 'optimistic' numbers for run time/volts make me feel better also...
barrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 07:16 AM   #85
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Red face Try this.

When you use these types of dischargers and you want to put some stock in the numbers, make sure you do it the same way and record your numbers.

Ie: Run 5min in same format with same type of motor. Come off the track and put this on the battery. If you use a different format (stock vs. mod) just record it. Eventually you will get enough data!
Now you will know what your battery will putout voltage wise, resistance and how much run time you had left.

Where this comes in handy (since the numbers could be questionable) is when you compare your packs.

After several cycles (as long as you record your findings) you can see the packs getting better and better.

I have found the packs do take more charge, are stronger out of the corners and some of my practice packs have even become race packs again.

I have also found when the resistance numbers become erradic, thay my joints had become questionable. Resolder and all is good and the pack is back on track.

The other way is to do it full charged to bechmark your packs. I also take my packs (undischarged after a run) to work with me the next day and use the discharger all day long.

Hope this helps.
TEX
__________________
www.indyrcworld.net
Indy RC World 2.0 - Garland, TX
T&T RC Cars - Plano, TX
(972) 271-4844
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 07:17 AM   #86
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: HKG
Posts: 638
Default

Packing inside said 3800 full battery discharge time about 7-8 Hours

We onsale now !
HKRCMODEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 08:06 AM   #87
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: HKG
Posts: 638
Default

BM also stop have delay time wait but DYNA Pulse no delay time !
HKRCMODEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:58 PM   #88
Tech Master
 
Leester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wrong Planet
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwayman
does a clicking sound come from ther batts when discharging with the DYNA pulse?
Yep! No problem with that
Leester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 01:06 PM   #89
Tech Master
 
Leester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wrong Planet
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tex1
When you use these types of dischargers and you want to put some stock in the numbers, make sure you do it the same way and record your numbers.

Ie: Run 5min in same format with same type of motor. Come off the track and put this on the battery. If you use a different format (stock vs. mod) just record it. Eventually you will get enough data!
Now you will know what your battery will putout voltage wise, resistance and how much run time you had left.

Where this comes in handy (since the numbers could be questionable) is when you compare your packs.

After several cycles (as long as you record your findings) you can see the packs getting better and better.

I have found the packs do take more charge, are stronger out of the corners and some of my practice packs have even become race packs again.

I have also found when the resistance numbers become erradic, thay my joints had become questionable. Resolder and all is good and the pack is back on track.

The other way is to do it full charged to bechmark your packs. I also take my packs (undischarged after a run) to work with me the next day and use the discharger all day long.

Hope this helps.
TEX
Thanks Tex! But I stil have a few more questions.

I plan to use this on my not so good packs when I am practicing after a run. I have only one Dyna Pulse but what should I do after my second pack is done and my first pack is still on the Dnya pulse?

Also how often should I discharge my packs on the Dyna Pulse when they are fully charged? Any suggestions? Thank you!

-Lee
Leester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 05:10 PM   #90
Tech Elite
 
cornerspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwayman
does a clicking sound come from ther batts when discharging with the DYNA pulse?
YES, there is a clicking sound from the pack.
__________________
Donny Vinkemulder
TLR Driver
TLR 8ight 3.0 - NovarossiUSA - Spektrum DX3R Pro - Losi Nitrotane VP 30% - Losi Lipo Batteries - Proline Tires - DE Racing - EKD Paint
--- Special thanks to: Dyno, Adam, Todd, and Kevin. Horizon Hobby
cornerspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Dyna-Pulse like new MUDVAYNE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-29-2006 08:39 PM
WTB TRINITY DIGI PULSE OR DYNA PULSE, MUCH MORE CTX-D zrchobbies R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 10-01-2006 09:12 PM
NIP Dyna Pulse f/s Formula1fan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-07-2006 09:40 AM
Dyna Pulse BritRacer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-27-2005 12:31 AM
Trinity Dyna Pulse: Help The Fog Electric On-Road 10 12-15-2005 03:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net