R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2005, 02:54 AM   #136
Tech Regular
 
beer_drinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Would my warranty become void if I was to solder a male Deans plug onto my Dyna Pulse to replace the alligator clips?
beer_drinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 10:09 PM   #137
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta
Posts: 32
Default

hey everyone. i have a question regarding the numbers i get from my dynapulse. what should i be getting for milliOhms on a IB3800 pack? i don't have alot of experience with batteries and am curious.

i have 2 right now and wish i had another, they definately have improved my old 3300 packs that i have cycled.
grabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 12:37 AM   #138
Tech Regular
 
beer_drinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I bought a new dyna pulse from my LHS and tested it with a GP3300 pack, and I had the same problem as before (discharger not cutting off at 5.1v and bringing pack down to 0.0v) so obviously the problem is not with the discharger, but with my packs. Can anyone please give me a reason why they would not work, keeping in mind that they charge and run properly. I am really really confused

Last edited by beer_drinker; 11-19-2005 at 03:50 AM.
beer_drinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 10:00 AM   #139
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default dyna pulse

Hey guys..........is it my imagination or does the dynapulse take a long time to do a set of cells after a run?

Are people buying multiple units?
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 02:17 AM   #140
Tech Regular
 
BiggAlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 392
Default

WHAT HE SAID ... TTT
BiggAlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 02:25 AM   #141
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007
Hey guys..........is it my imagination or does the dynapulse take a long time to do a set of cells after a run?

Are people buying multiple units?

Yup...I suggest at least two. However look at it the right way. These are conditioning dischargers...

If you need to dump your packs, you really should have another means available.
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 04:31 AM   #142
Tech Elite
 
jamescam's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007
Hey guys..........is it my imagination or does the dynapulse take a long time to do a set of cells after a run?

Are people buying multiple units?
Yes it takes a very long time to discharge cells on the dynapulse but you shouldn't be using it as your regular discharger but more as a conditioner. Here is my routine, I currently race every other weekend...

Race Week/Day Routine
1. Equalize pack to .9v a cell on my Novak Smart Tray
2. Charge at 6 Amps
3. Race
4. Discharge on my 030 until the lights go out
5. Put the pack away

Off Week Routine
1. Equalize pack to .9v a cell on my Novak Smart Tray
2. Charge at 6 Amps
3. Discharge on my DynaPulse (takes up to 6 hrs.)
4. Record numbers and put the pack away

This routine does 2 things for me... A. By recording the numbers I know which packs are my practice, qualifying, and main packs. B. This routine provides a noticeable difference in punch while sacrificing a small amount of runtime (still way over 5 mins).
jamescam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 04:57 PM   #143
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I have about 23 cycles on my Dyna Pulse and it quit discharging. It turns on and will start up and display the data as normal, but the battery does not start to click and the voltage never goes down like normal. The unit does not get warm. It definitely does not discharge. Anyone else have the same type of defect?
__________________
Chuck
www.ridgewaybodies.com
https://www.facebook.com/ridgewaybodiesRC/?ref=hl
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 05:33 PM   #144
Tech Master
 
Steve Bahnatka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Steve Bahnatka
Default

ridgewaybodies,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Phillips
If you are having trouble call and ask for Sean Powers. He will get you a R.A. number and we will replace it no problem..


Thanks
chad
__________________
SMC-/-JACO-/-PARMA-/-TEKIN-/-CRI
Steve Bahnatka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 11:55 AM   #145
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Sean Powers is no longer with Trinity. I've called 3 days in a row to speak with someone to get an RMA number and each time they either say the guy is busy and will call me back. I have yet to hear from him!! I just called now and I was told to call back at 5:30!

If anyone from Trinity reads this, can you please get in contact with me.
__________________
Chuck
www.ridgewaybodies.com
https://www.facebook.com/ridgewaybodiesRC/?ref=hl
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:10 PM   #146
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamescam
Yes it takes a very long time to discharge cells on the dynapulse but you shouldn't be using it as your regular discharger but more as a conditioner. Here is my routine, I currently race every other weekend...

Race Week/Day Routine
1. Equalize pack to .9v a cell on my Novak Smart Tray
2. Charge at 6 Amps
3. Race
4. Discharge on my 030 until the lights go out
5. Put the pack away

Off Week Routine
1. Equalize pack to .9v a cell on my Novak Smart Tray
2. Charge at 6 Amps
3. Discharge on my DynaPulse (takes up to 6 hrs.)
4. Record numbers and put the pack away

This routine does 2 things for me... A. By recording the numbers I know which packs are my practice, qualifying, and main packs. B. This routine provides a noticeable difference in punch while sacrificing a small amount of runtime (still way over 5 mins).
Ok I am little bit confused here.

I just bought a used DynaPulse, I also have a MuchMore ZeroV tray.

I was told to run my packs till drained, let cool. Put on DynaPulse then leave on MuchMore ZeroV tray.

Is this OK to do?
natskiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:41 PM   #147
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natskiboy
Ok I am little bit confused here.

I just bought a used DynaPulse, I also have a MuchMore ZeroV tray.

I was told to run my packs till drained, let cool. Put on DynaPulse then leave on MuchMore ZeroV tray.

Is this OK to do?
Depends on the packs. I always dead short my 3300's, so I would Dynapulse them, then drop them in a Trinity Absolute Zero tray, drop them to zero, then dead short them. IB's don't like to be discharged that deep, so I just Dynapulse 'em and put 'em away. I then tray my IB's on a Trinity Realtime 2 tray, to equalize them before charging.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:50 PM   #148
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I have GP3300 SP2 packs.

Now what is dead shorting. From what I can tell here, I should be able to get away with just running the pack till drained and then just use DynaPulse.

What is dead shorting?
natskiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:16 PM   #149
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natskiboy
I have GP3300 SP2 packs.

Now what is dead shorting. From what I can tell here, I should be able to get away with just running the pack till drained and then just use DynaPulse.

What is dead shorting?
Dead shorting is a process used by some racers to increase voltage output and reduce IR in packs. It involves discharging your cells individually down to zero, and then placing a jumper across the positive and negative ends of the pack to short it out. If you're unfamiliar with the procedure, and the inherent risks involved, I would shy away from deadshorting your packs. Dynapulsing then storing is a nice safe method of maintaining your cells.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 07:03 PM   #150
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgewaybodies
Sean Powers is no longer with Trinity. I've called 3 days in a row to speak with someone to get an RMA number and each time they either say the guy is busy and will call me back. I have yet to hear from him!! I just called now and I was told to call back at 5:30!

If anyone from Trinity reads this, can you please get in contact with me.
Well, I called back at 5:30 and was told Dave Graboski was on the other line and that he would call back. Surprise, surprise, no call.

Is Trinity always this difficult to deal with? I just need a simple RMA number, not a complicated matter!
__________________
Chuck
www.ridgewaybodies.com
https://www.facebook.com/ridgewaybodiesRC/?ref=hl
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Dyna-Pulse like new MUDVAYNE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-29-2006 08:39 PM
WTB TRINITY DIGI PULSE OR DYNA PULSE, MUCH MORE CTX-D zrchobbies R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 10-01-2006 09:12 PM
NIP Dyna Pulse f/s Formula1fan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-07-2006 09:40 AM
Dyna Pulse BritRacer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-27-2005 12:31 AM
Trinity Dyna Pulse: Help The Fog Electric On-Road 10 12-15-2005 03:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net