R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-25-2014, 08:33 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default New to electric onroad, not a what is best thread. Please read!

So I am looking to build a blinky 17.5 touring car to run max once a month to break up the monotony of offroad 2wd buggy.

I am not looking for a what is best scenario, this is going to be something just for fun. I am wanting to know out of the budget cars (sub 250$ chassis kits) what would be recommended. Tunability and durability are the main concerns. I see VBC has a couple, as well as 3racing.

HW JuStock esc, with revtech maxzilla rpm will be electronics, but what about a servo? I see alot of people run the smaller servos, is that because of space reasoning?

I am new to electric on road, car will be run on asphalt with rubber tires.

Thank you,
Brandon
3404 NE 37 PL.
Wildwood, FL 34785
Captcha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 08:50 AM   #2
Tech Elite

R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy

You'll be able to start finding TC6.1 WC kits for very cheap soon, as the TC6.2 gets into more people's hands. It's an excellent platform.
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 08:53 AM   #3
Tech Master

I also saw that AMains has the Yokomo BD-7 RS kit for 239.99, also states that it is upgradable to the 2014 BD-7 specs. Not something I would want to do, but I do like you can start off entry level and work it into a pro kit.

I have been looking at the AE cars, my thing is I really want to try and stay new as much as possible, I have bought used in the past, and more times than not you get someone elses nightmare.
3404 NE 37 PL.
Wildwood, FL 34785
Old 02-25-2014, 08:53 AM   #4
Tech Adept