R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2005, 01:03 AM   #1
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default Reciever Capacitor

Alright, I was pondering about putting on a reciever capacitor to help keep voltage at the reciever during high amp draws in mod sedan. How would I go about doing this? I was thinking that I should just be able to hook it up in the wire from the speed control to the reciever. Correct me if I am wrong.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:54 AM   #2
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

You should just be able to put it on a regular plug for the reciever and hook it up to positive and negative.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:18 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Thumbs up



will it be like this?
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:25 AM   #4
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

steve

i use a novak cap...i will show it to you on friday or sat...i use one with my spektrum......
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:15 AM   #5
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Thanks for the replies guys.
Randy- That is what I was pretty sure I was going to do.
Matt- Thats exactly what I was going to use lol
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:21 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing


will it be like this?
Is this Kumpol?
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:45 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Stephan you goof ball, you run for novak!!!
just tell Charlie to get you one.LOL
Mo
Mo Denton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:51 PM   #8
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Got it to work out lol, i had an extra one laying around lol
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 07:18 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

The one Spektrum is coming out with next month is 4700uf 10volts

I bought a cap last night at my local electronics store for $5.10
it's 4700uf and 16volts. They didnt have the 10v one but the guy there said it would be fine.

I am no electronics guru can anyone confirm if the 16v 4700cap will be fine for me to use?
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 08:16 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
The one Spektrum is coming out with next month is 4700uf 10volts

I bought a cap last night at my local electronics store for $5.10
it's 4700uf and 16volts. They didnt have the 10v one but the guy there said it would be fine.

I am no electronics guru can anyone confirm if the 16v 4700cap will be fine for me to use?
The working voltages of capís indicates its maximum it can take. Ideally if you can get a 10volt would be good (more accurate to the voltage in the circuit); however its performance difference to a 16volt would be virtually zero.
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 08:31 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad
The working voltages of capís indicates its maximum it can take. Ideally if you can get a 10volt would be good (more accurate to the voltage in the circuit); however its performance difference to a 16volt would be virtually zero.
Sweet thanks !!
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:03 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

With the increase auxiliary options required from receivers these days (personal transponders, fans, etc) it seems a waste to use up one of these plugs on a filtering cap. Wouldn't it be better if it was hard wired to the pos+ neg- of the Speedie plug to the receiver? Then it's a permanent part of the speedie (where the voltage spikes/problems are created) not matter what receiver you plug it to.
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:27 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

2-bad,

Say if i use my Novak GTX which already has the power cap (4700uf 10v) installed on speedo.

Am I being redundant in adding this cap to this receiver or will they serve 2 different purposes?

All I am trying to prevent is having to use a receiver pack.
With my quantum 1, it kept shutting down my spektrum reciever cause as I understand it the BEC voltage the Quantum 1 is set at is too high keep the spektrum reciever running when the voltage spikes/dips below the required amount to operate it.

so what you are saying is if i add this cap then I would have 2 caps on the GTX, the one that comes with it soldered to the battery/motor leads and then one soldered to the receiver plug leads
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:47 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
2-bad,

Say if i use my Novak GTX which already has the power cap (4700uf 10v) installed on speedo.

Am I being redundant in adding this cap to this receiver or will they serve 2 different purposes?

All I am trying to prevent is having to use a receiver pack.
With my quantum 1, it kept shutting down my spektrum reciever cause as I understand it the BEC voltage the Quantum 1 is set at is too high keep the spektrum reciever running when the voltage spikes/dips below the required amount to operate it.

so what you are saying is if i add this cap then I would have 2 caps on the GTX, the one that comes with it soldered to the battery/motor leads and then one soldered to the receiver plug leads
Erock.... The cap on the receiver plug is a filter for the voltages spike (under voltage protection), the one on the speedie motors is for motor spikes (to add punch). All this is good to add to your electrics...

I'm sorry if I confused the issue.... I was just thinking that it would be neater if the "voltage protection cap" was hard wired instead of using up a receiver slot to filter it from.
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:49 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

2-bad
Got it, that is what I thought.

Thanks.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR XR3i Radio Reciever, Hitec Universal Reciever, AMB rc Personal Transponder Erc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 07-13-2008 01:12 PM
Hitec 625MG servos $20 Futaba PCM reciever $30 Novak reciever $20 kreidel R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-30-2007 01:43 PM
Capacitor surrealmaterial Electric On-Road 8 02-28-2007 02:09 AM
Help with capacitor please Montrealer Electric On-Road 22 01-18-2007 03:59 PM
HRS Reciever, Air. Reciever, Kinwald Radio Bag, Hakko Soldering Station, XXX-4 Parts Biscuit R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 08-25-2006 11:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net