R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2014, 04:43 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Questions?? Tamiya M-05 Stopping

Greetings.

I have a two-year-old Tamiya M-05 kit with a new set of NiMH batteries.

When it ran it went fine, until after a while the car would accelerate, then suddenly stop as it got to higher speeds.

This kept happening, and at increasingly lower speeds it stopped.

So I thought the battery was empty, as it had been running for a while.

Then I charged it. As soon as the battery was full, I ran it again.

After a few metres, the same problem appeared.

Why is this? How can it be solved?

Many thanks,

arvt
arvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 05:03 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default

Sounds like it could be low voltage protection in the speedo.

You don't say which speedo you're using but if it has a low voltage cut off you can disable it for use with Ni-MH because they aren't as sensitive as Li-Po in that regard.
cyclonetog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 05:13 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

is it geared correctly,is the esc /motor getting hot ?
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 05:45 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default Tamiya M-05 Stopping

Thanks for your replies.

Sorry for not being specific. I have very little experience with Tamiya and other kits like these in general.

I believe this is the speedo:

It is made by Tamiya and says this:

"PET SPEED CONTROLLER
EU-104BK"

How do you disable the speedo?

I am not aware of the motor getting hot but didn't have a look last time I ran it. The battery, however, does not even warm up.
arvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 06:36 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Are you sure the battery is fully charged? NiMH batteries can "false peak" early in the charge cycle, if the battery is still cool when the charge finishes, it isn't charged. What kind of charger are you using? Check the voltage of the pack when it is charged, it should be over 8V.

Check that the car is actually rolling freely when the motor is not installed, if a part is binding up it will cause problems.

I assume you are still using the kit supplied motor. The ESC is not designed to run motors that are much faster.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 06:50 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
SuperFastSnail's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default Radio range check

Recheck your battery again, on a full charge it should be higher then 8 volts like what the above post said. You also need to perform a range test of your radio. Have someone hold the car or put it on a stand, walk away from it while you periodically check the range. When your radio is low on battery or if it is having issues send and receiving signals, your car will stall just like what you mentioned.
__________________
JU KE

Sponsor by Makita Li-Ion Brushless Power Tools. Eat the power!

Selling something but no pictures, goodbye.
SuperFastSnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 05:20 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Are you sure the battery is fully charged? NiMH batteries can "false peak" early in the charge cycle, if the battery is still cool when the charge finishes, it isn't charged. What kind of charger are you using? Check the voltage of the pack when it is charged, it should be over 8V.

Check that the car is actually rolling freely when the motor is not installed, if a part is binding up it will cause problems.

I assume you are still using the kit supplied motor. The ESC is not designed to run motors that are much faster.
Thanks for your reply.

I am pretty sure that it was charged. The charge took a usual amount of time and the charger beeped to indicate it was done. I will however try again and see if that works. The charger can be set to 1, 2 or 4 amps - I used 2 when charging.

Tomorrow I will try and see how the wheels are without the motor. One thing I know is that the problem happens a lot less when the wheels roll freely, without the car being on the ground.

I am using a kit supplied motor. What is an ESC?
arvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 05:27 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFastSnail View Post
Recheck your battery again, on a full charge it should be higher then 8 volts like what the above post said. You also need to perform a range test of your radio. Have someone hold the car or put it on a stand, walk away from it while you periodically check the range. When your radio is low on battery or if it is having issues send and receiving signals, your car will stall just like what you mentioned.
OK, thanks a lot. The problem however occurs even when the remote control is right next to the car, so is range an issue? I do not have a voltmeter at home, so testing the voltage cannot be done soon. I will try the other things and get back to you.
arvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:46 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

If you have ran i for 2 years straight and haven't done anything to the motor i would say the motor is worn out. Brushes and commutator are probably done. Try a new silver can motor
Justin33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:50 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
oldnwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Check the connector between the ESC and the battery. If you are still using the standard connector they are known for bad connections and causing the exact problem you describe. Change to a Deans plug.
oldnwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:05 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks a lot for all the advice. I will try resetting the speed controller and see if that helps before replacing parts.
arvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:55 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a Castle Sidewinder v2? My brother's v2 ESC was doing that from day 1 and I researched it to be a bad ESC. It ran fine when the car was off of the ground, but once you set it down it became jittery and twitching and would only move forward at half throttle.

I didn't feel like paying the $45 to fix it so it's just sitting around in the house.. I might just sell that dang thing..

Anyway, it could be your ESC.
hkbruin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net