Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
No Brake Novak Edge 2s >

No Brake Novak Edge 2s

No Brake Novak Edge 2s

Reply

Old 12-15-2013, 05:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default No Brake Novak Edge 2s

Hey guys, Im having problems with my esc on my f104 with a 21.5 turn thunder power bl motor. I am not getting any kind of braking, I do have reverse but there is a delay. When i do go on reverse there is no delay when i go forward. Almost sounds like the wires are backwards but they are not and my tx isnt reversed either. I am runnning a futababa 4pls with a r2104gf rx Please help! Thanks in advance!
jmracer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:09 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't have any experience with the Novak Edge but have you tried changing the brake settings to increase brake strength? My Speed Passion speed controllers were the same and seemed to have no brakes until I used the program card to increase the brake strength. I think the delay in going into reverse is normal because I experience the same thing with my Tekin RS Gen 2. But if you're racing you won't ever be needing reverse anyways since reverse is not allowed during a race.
jdawg81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 06:45 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 2,147
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

two things, try everything in the brake settings (including recalibrating to your radio) and make sure you are using a capacitor they included or another one, as I've had issues with brakes when not running one. Trying the capacitor first would probably be the best idea.
oceanhighz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:42 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
Dread Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: OC/RC Raceway
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I have an Edge in my F104 and a 21.5.
It used to have brakes, but it all went away last couple times it was run.
Did resets and menu checks, but brakes weren't fixed.

I liked it's small size, and didn't think it gave up any speed, but after a couple months and then the brakes went out, I'll be putting in a different ESC.
Dread Pirate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

problem solved! Ran the capacitor! Thank you guys!!!
jmracer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service