R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2013, 12:47 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS Spec issues

Well I have a brand a new Tekin RS Spec and 25.5 motor I am going to run in my local ROAR VTA class. Well I hooked it up and it cogs at the low end when there is any strain on the motor. IE if I hold the wheels and slowly pull trigger the motor shakes, but will not spin. The lights on the ESC come on like they are supposed to, nothing unusual. Its not the sensor wire, I have tried 3.

I have also flashed it with a hot-wire (it says ESC may not have software compatible with the hot wire). I have played with the neutral width, min throttle, and still have issues. Also on the data logging, it shows -7.22 on the throttle graph at the times when it is presenting the problem. throttle after the issue works great. In fact, I have never seen my tires balloon like this, and the batter only has 7.6 volts on it, and the max throttle that the graph shows is 85%. (is this a problem as well?)

I have never had any issues with Tekin stuff prior to this, and I really like their products. Could someone please give me some insight?

Thanks

Bronson
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Did you try the ESC with a different motor? I've installed a few motors that had bad sensor boards right out of the package, and demonstrated symptoms like those you're describing.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I did not as I do not have another motor. Is there a way to tell if sensor board is bad by looking at it?
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:14 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

I haven't found a way to tell if the board's bad based on its appearance... I wonder if any of the forum members know of a "proper" testing method...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:23 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Remove the Hotwire. Connect it normally. Calibrate your TX to ESC, your instruction will tell you. RS will chime at slow beep and speed up, depress the trigger to full throttle til chimes double its time, release the chimes will slow down then to braking position and chime will speed up again. relesase trigger the ESC will stop chiming LED 4 should toggle from LED 3 to 1. Learn about the LED's first. then mess with the Hotwire. Hotwire opens up hidden files of boost and turbo.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

The radio is calibrated correctly and get recalibrated every time the hot wire is disconnected. Also this is the spec version so there is no timing and boost.
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 02:34 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

You got to redo recal. Its not suppose to loss the recal everytime you disconnect the Hotwire. Must listen to the chimes while Calibration. Instruction do not say that. You must hold the trigger till the chimes double up in speed for it to read. If chimes don't change, its doesnt calibrate correctly.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:19 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I know what your talking about with the beeps. This is not the first Tekin ESC I have owned. I dont think its a calibration issue. It also doesnt lose calibration, but whenever you make a change, it should be recaled
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:05 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Have you re calibrated your radio? I know KO Propo America recommends recalibrating radio every now and then
idbdoug
__________________
www.serpentamerica.com
www.r1wurks.com
www.falconsekido.com
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:23 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

What Version you running?
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:25 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I updated it today. So whatever version that is.
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:12 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Either 213 or 224 version. Check your TX EPA. EPA should be 100% no higher. Redo the calibration. If calibration is bad LED's 1,2 and 3 will be on flashing. What manfacture your TX?
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 06:07 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Does the RS Spec have the same sensor check feature as the regular RS?

When the ESC is on, you should see three if the LEDs light up faintly in sequence as you turn the motor. If they're not lighting up in sequence, then it's a bad sensor wire or a bad sensor board.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M02Mfukyyr8

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 07:03 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lee County,Fl
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How are you connecting it to the motor is there bullets?
__________________
Dustin Brant - Fort Myers Fl
On-road T4'13, T3R, F104v2, x12'14, T3 Nitro
Offroad Desc210r, Desc410r, Dex210, Revo
Fladust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 07:16 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Well watched the video and did the test. It would appear that my motor and sensor wire are good. So I guess I will email Tekin support now. Thanks for the help.
__________________
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net