Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
3300 vs 3700/3800 Size >

3300 vs 3700/3800 Size

3300 vs 3700/3800 Size

Reply

Old 07-12-2005, 12:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Pinion King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 76
Default 3300 vs 3700/3800 Size

I brought a GP-3700 for my car (Tamiya Surikarn), and get home, build it go to drop it in the car, and realise that the cells are bigger. And in order to fit i must hack half the car apart, and i am not doing that.

Now my dad's got it (Tamiya TB-02)

Just wondering are the 3800's are smaller?? Or the same??

Thanx.....PK
Pinion King is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 01:00 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pinion King
I brought a GP-3700 for my car (Tamiya Surikarn), and get home, build it go to drop it in the car, and realise that the cells are bigger. And in order to fit i must hack half the car apart, and i am not doing that.

Now my dad's got it (Tamiya TB-02)

Just wondering are the 3800's are smaller?? Or the same??

Thanx.....PK
Same size I believe......
2-Bad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 05:15 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
mudpuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 115
Default

IB3600 = 43.2mm x 22.3mm
GP3300 = 43.2mm x 22.6mm
IB3800 = 43.2mm x 22.9mm
GP3700 = 43.2mm x 23mm
mudpuppy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 10:38 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

Does ROAR or IFMAR place limits on the dimensions of cells? Seems like this is an ongoing problem. A chassis manufacturer builds a chassis for certain cell sizes, then a battery manufacturer releases cells that are too big for them to fit in that chassis.
mwcet8k is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 10:59 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Yes, ROAR does have a limit and I don't know what it is but I do know that there is a discussion on the 3700's and 3800's because they don't meet ROAR's specs. You can look up the exacts on ROAR's website.
Chris Brown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:56 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
 
Baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 56
Default

Isn't more of a trend brought on by the power tool market for longer run times and more power? seems that batteries are getting bigger every time the come out with a new cell.
Baja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 02:11 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Brown
Yes, ROAR does have a limit and I don't know what it is but I do know that there is a discussion on the 3700's and 3800's because they don't meet ROAR's specs. You can look up the exacts on ROAR's website.
According to ROAR dimensions 43x23 none are legal....the diameter is the big difference witht he new cells and they are still below the legal limit
ChrisP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 02:29 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I wonder if they next generation 3700's and 3800's will get smaller. I remember the first batches of 3000's and 3300's being larger than the current ones we use by 1mm. My current 3300's fit into every R/C I own, buying just one of these 3700/3800 battery packs would mean modifying every one of my chassis, But then trying to use a 3300 again without it being loose..... thats the problem I have with them.
hobbipro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:52 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Pinion King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

Same problem as mine.

The GP3300's are a great fit, they don't move around, nothing.

To fit the 3700's i have to file down the battery slots in the chassis, file down the holders at either end.
Pinion King is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:36 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

do the 3700 / 3800's really fit inside your TB02 without modifications?
ford_racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:56 PM
  #11  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Pinion King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

Yep
Pinion King is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 12:27 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Originally Posted by mudpuppy
IB3600 = 43.2mm x 22.3mm
GP3300 = 43.2mm x 22.6mm
IB3800 = 43.2mm x 22.9mm
GP3700 = 43.2mm x 23mm


That explains why I had such a hard time squeezing my 3700s into Shrink tupe!!!Thought I know its more larger than the 3300s,but didn't know they were so much bigger...

That was great info.Thanks Dude...
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 01:29 AM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
 
DORIFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 4201...4202...4203mah and keeps going....
Posts: 59
Default

Anyone tried to fit the optional battery tray from a Yokomo BD that supposely are designed for 3800 sized batteries?
DORIFT is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service