R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2005, 06:57 AM   #76
Tech Fanatic
 
nsxshogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 847
Send a message via AIM to nsxshogun
Default

So the Bug booster works as one of the newer transponders? I want one just tell me where to sign up.
nsxshogun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 07:01 AM   #77
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsxshogun
So the Bug booster works as one of the newer transponders? I want one just tell me where to sign up.
No. but it keeps your personal transponder working when you pull the trigger.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 06:39 PM   #78
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I heard there is a way to clone the AMBrc detection loop, is that possible? Anybody knows how to do it? Because we have 2 different tracks in our club and is a pain in the ass to change the loop from one track to the other (133 bucks isn't cheap) any suggestions??
elchoclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 08:40 PM   #79
Tech Addict
 
Tubaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The actual loop, you just need some wire (16 gauge works great) and a resistor to go in the middle of the loop. Unfortunately I can't remember the resistor type, but should be able to look on your current loop or search for it via google.

Now the yellow part with the black box at the end can't be duplicated as far as I know.

Paul
__________________
www.wyomingrc.com | www.wyomingmodelerspark.com
Tubaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:49 AM   #80
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

The resistor is 470 Ohms if I remember correctly. I've heard that the loop works fine without it, but haven't tried it. I'm not sure how to duplicate the black box at the end of the Coax cable. It can't be complicated. It uses no outside power.

Hey, Terry. Is MRT thinking about selling timing loops?!? I'd buy one.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 07:30 AM   #81
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

I've been using my home-made loop for 2 racing weekends so far. It works great. I have 18 gauge wire with 470ohm resister. I don't use anything to split the loop like the AMB black box but it works this way too.
I also use douple shield 50ohm coax cable.
onroaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 11:50 AM   #82
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onroaddude
I've been using my home-made loop for 2 racing weekends so far. It works great. I have 18 gauge wire with 470ohm resister. I don't use anything to split the loop like the AMB black box but it works this way too.
I also use douple shield 50ohm coax cable.
Thanks for all the info! I will start cutting & splicing wires ASAP hehehe, anyway just a tough, I was checking the specs for the loop in the AMB homepage and it says they use 75 ohm wire, is there any reason of why you use the 50 ohm one, or there is no significant diference between the 50 ohm and the 75 ohm?
elchoclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:11 PM   #83
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,985
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Where is the best place to buy a personal transponder from
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 02:15 PM   #84
Tech Addict
 
Tubaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Not really sure who has them in stock at the moment.

I went through allstar hobbies last time I needed one.

currently only place I see them is on ebay.

Paul
__________________
www.wyomingrc.com | www.wyomingmodelerspark.com
Tubaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 05:25 PM   #85
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elchoclo
Thanks for all the info! I will start cutting & splicing wires ASAP hehehe, anyway just a tough, I was checking the specs for the loop in the AMB homepage and it says they use 75 ohm wire, is there any reason of why you use the 50 ohm one, or there is no significant diference between the 50 ohm and the 75 ohm?
Both works. I just happen to have a longer 50 ohm cable.
onroaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 05:25 PM   #86
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceAce701
Where is the best place to buy a personal transponder from
check www.nexusracing.net
onroaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 05:27 PM   #87
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andsetinn
The resistor is 470 Ohms if I remember correctly. I've heard that the loop works fine without it, but haven't tried it. I'm not sure how to duplicate the black box at the end of the Coax cable. It can't be complicated. It uses no outside power.

Hey, Terry. Is MRT thinking about selling timing loops?!? I'd buy one.
Hi andsetinn, no we're not selling timing loops people seem to make their own, but we do sell a power supply (for the UK market) for the AMB system.
Terry_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
#!! clone baja5b 520$ !! peter04 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-03-2008 11:00 PM
pro z clone kuuipo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-02-2006 11:25 PM
Replacement Airtronics 94758 replacement case rcguy2477 Electric On-Road 1 02-25-2005 05:46 PM
Midwest Tri-Clone 17driver Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 35 12-14-2004 11:14 AM
Midwest Tri Clone 17driver Oval, Larger Scales and More 7 03-16-2004 03:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net