R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2002, 06:59 PM   #16
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: toronto
Posts: 49
Default

We have it at our store for more than a week already.
packaging sucks though ugly yellow box.
Super38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 01:01 AM   #17
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: only in da Philippines
Posts: 197
Send a message via ICQ to kentot Send a message via Yahoo to kentot
Default

for those who has tried the new esc, please post more info thanks. i'm considering in getting one
kentot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 01:12 AM   #18
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ruf
What's scary is that my dealer cost for an American product is within dollars of the street price in HK. Plus I have no availability on the thing aside preorders.
ruf: actually the asia region especially those that source out their stocks thru japan get their "US made" stuff quite quickly -- sometimes even faster than the US market. strange i know, even the TC2/C2 came out sooner here than there in Houston ... Alfred & Abit Cruz were actually asking back then if they could get a couple thru me here in Manila. plus they do sometimes cost a tad cheaper.

__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/

Last edited by ROBORAT; 09-05-2002 at 01:32 AM.
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 05:57 AM   #19
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OSherman
kinda wierd that a "made in america" product is first sighted overseas.
Not really, the original TC3 was available in Hong Kong a few weeks before people reported buying it in the States....I guess planes are quicker than trains for delivery!!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 05:59 AM   #20
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spongebob
Is the case srewed together or did they get cheap and make it a Lego Block that pops open on impact.
They use the Lego blocks....but it looks tougher than your average LRP Lego!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 06:01 AM   #21
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super38
We have it at our store for more than a week already.
packaging sucks though ugly yellow box.
I would agree...the yellow looks crap....same goes for the sticker on the ESC!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 07:47 AM   #22
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Theres been a couple guys come on and say they have it, but nobody has come back to comment on performance.

Is the speedo eating them alive or something!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 10:31 AM   #23
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkseid
Theres been a couple guys come on and say they have it, but nobody has come back to comment on performance.

Is the speedo eating them alive or something!
Sorry, I run on Saturdays...so I'll let you know after that!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 06:11 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

My LHS just got 1 in today, I didn't buy it though, I already have 3 really good esc's. It isn't the translucent orange, normal Novak orange.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 08:36 PM   #25
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Todd Hodge posted on Trinity's page that they were having a problem with the translucent case and how it was not working out correctly when they pulled it from the mold, or something like that.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 11:31 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

sorry, not the ESC, but any word on their module for the M8??? The one that's in BK's radio. . .boy would that be nice!
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 11:36 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
Sigearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,815
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Boomer: I haven't seen that yet. What's so special about his module?
Sigearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 01:12 AM   #28
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 720
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The Novak module for the M8 does not use any crystal.
__________________
More racing and less typing!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 10:10 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

My GT-7 just arrived last night, and I went about installing it in my TC3. First of all there's is a sticker on the box that says the translucent orange was replaced with the original orange case, for whatever reason I dont know, but the traditional color is fine with me as long as it doesnt melt. Instead of 256 steps, with the cyclones, this GT-7 has 1300 steps!!!
The case is snapped together at all 4 corners, it should hold up rather well. The cap, and switch can be mounted on either side by simply sliding them on the case sides, you must make sure you push them on all the way or they will stop where the case seams are. They do hang down about 1mm past the bottom, but any double sided tape will make up the difference. The wires are 13-14 guage (no markings except, Novak) and are pre-installed!!!! and the cap is soldered on too!!!!! But can be replaced at any time. Set up is far different from my cyclones, in that in the radio set up sections, you must hold down the set up button first, then turn on the esc switch. To do the actual programming you turn on the esc then hit the set up button last. There are 7 profiles which will meet almost all needs, but #7 can be changed, and initial braking can be adjusted from 20% on up on all profiles.
After I managed to squeeze it on the chassis, I played with some set-ups and it seems silky smooth, I'll know more when I can go out to play with it.
But ..........Honestly, I wouldnt sell off your cyclones to run out to get a GT-7, unless your like me and have to try everything new out. I still love my cyclones, and atom (I have 4+ pit wizzard) and dont plan on replacing the rest anytime soon. I see this speedo being targeted more towards people who dont have a pit wizzard, or Millenium Pro, but want a high end programmable speedo from Novak. I really think the pit wizzard is alot easier to use, and quicker to make changes to the profiles. Trust me, no one will be able to remember how to program #7 profile without the instruction card, there are too many blinking lights, and sequences to go through. But for the money the GT-7 should give the $200 Keyence a run for its money!
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 10:55 AM   #30
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I'm glad they went with the solid orange case. I thought the clear case looked a little cheap anyways. Boy I can't wait to give it a try.
Zuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net