R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2005, 06:54 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default GMVIS COMMANDER battery Charger Questions

Hey .. I have just got one of these chargers.

Can anyone recommend what settings (amps & mili-volts) to use to charge GP 3300 & IB 3600 when using the "GMVIS Charge Process" ?

Thanks
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 05:01 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 400
Default

I don't know if the commander has the proper software to charge the newer NIMH cells. As far as I know the voltage cutoff is too high, and in the versions I have seen not adjustable. This means it will overcharge and damage these cells. You should call the horizon service center and see if there is an upgrade for this charger that will make your cutoff voltage adjustable/ selectable.
Jay Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 12:32 AM   #3
SBH
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to SBH
Default

Hi Mazmo

You change the cut-off voltage in the cycle menu. Set the cutoff to 20mv.
When You use the VIS charge, You should use 8Amps or 9Amps.
The charging method is special, so 8A VIS is equal to 5A "normal", 9A VIS is equal to 6A "normal".

The charger is built to charge all type of cells. If You don't have the newest edition of the software, You can buy a new chip with the 2005 software. Contact GM-Racing or Your dealer. www.gm-racing.de

I hope this helps You


Søren Boy Holst
Denmark
Team X-Ray -- Team GM-Racing
SBH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 05:14 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default GMVIS Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBH
Hi Mazmo

You change the cut-off voltage in the cycle menu. Set the cutoff to 20mv.
When You use the VIS charge, You should use 8Amps or 9Amps.
The charging method is special, so 8A VIS is equal to 5A "normal", 9A VIS is equal to 6A "normal".

The charger is built to charge all type of cells. If You don't have the newest edition of the software, You can buy a new chip with the 2005 software. Contact GM-Racing or Your dealer. www.gm-racing.de

I hope this helps You


Søren Boy Holst
Denmark
Team X-Ray -- Team GM-Racing

Hey SBH ... thatnks for that . I tried charging my 3600nimh at 7 amps using the GMVIS Process with 20mv cut off. The cells seemed to get very hot. Do you know what may have caused this ? Would appreciate your response.

Thanks mazmo
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 12:20 AM   #5
SBH
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to SBH
Default

Hi again
The cells gets hot with this type of charging
I use these settings when I use VIS charge
8-9A
55' celsius
Max 4600 mAh
12v
0,20mV

I hope this helps You


Søren
SBH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 07:53 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

If either of you know anyone who would like to buy a Commander please let me know. I have a commander with the most current updated cpu just got it two months ago so it will do Lipo's now. It is the newer version with the two outlets up front.

Thanks,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 03:52 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default GMVIS Commander for sale

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
If either of you know anyone who would like to buy a Commander please let me know. I have a commander with the most current updated cpu just got it two months ago so it will do Lipo's now. It is the newer version with the two outlets up front.

Thanks,
-Shookie <><
Hey Shookie,

I will ask around at the track . how much do you want for it ?

Mazmo
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 04:08 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBH
Hi again
The cells gets hot with this type of charging
I use these settings when I use VIS charge
8-9A
55' celsius
Max 4600 mAh
12v
0,20mV

I hope this helps You


Søren
Hi Soren,

Thanks for that. I tried the GMVIS Process at 8 amps on my GP3300 however the pak peaked at 2750 mah. Voltage was about 9.3.

The ending mah capacity seems low, the paks usually reach 3850 mah on peak charge. What capacity do your cells usually reach ?

Can you recommend how I can increase the capacity using the GMVIS Charge method ?

Would appreciate your assistance.

Regards

Mazmo
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 07:51 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I would like $165.00 shipped to the lower 48 states.
Thanks,
-Shookie <><
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazmo
Hey Shookie,

I will ask around at the track . how much do you want for it ?

Mazmo
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:17 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MOBILE.AL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nitro kid
Default

hey i just got one of them charegr but i do not have a power supply do you guy know where i can get a cheap one or can i get it to work with not it i need your help asps
nitro kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 10:26 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro kid
hey i just got one of them charegr but i do not have a power supply do you guy know where i can get a cheap one or can i get it to work with not it i need your help asps
go here
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
best for the $$$$$.
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2005, 07:52 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MOBILE.AL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nitro kid
Default

how do you use this charger i will be chargering 2000-3300-3800 want do my charger need to be set at
nitro kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2005, 05:38 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro kid
how do you use this charger i will be chargering 2000-3300-3800 want do my charger need to be set at

I have 3300 & 3600 - I use 20mv and charge at 6.0amp PEAKCHG or 7.0amps GMVISCHG.

I also set maximum capacity to 3800mah for the 3300 cells and 4200mah for the 3600 cells.

You might be able to set maximum capacity for your 3800 cells to about 4400mah.

Hope that helps
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2005, 06:43 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MOBILE.AL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nitro kid
Default

yes that help what about 2000 battery what do it need to be set at
nitro kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2005, 08:07 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro kid
yes that help what about 2000 battery what do it need to be set at

Well .... the operating instructions recommend be 20 to 30 mv for nicad batteries. 30mv should be OK.

I think you could PEAKCHG at 6.0amps or GMVISCHG at 7.0 to 7.5 amps

On GMVISCHG max capacity should reach 2500mah if the cells are in good condition, or about 2200mah on PEAKCHG.

Do yo have operating instuctions ? Let me know, I can email to you if you don't.

Hope that helps
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GMVIS Commander dual output DC charger coastaltony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-02-2007 01:18 PM
GM Commander GMVIS Charger Mr. Shookie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 07-25-2005 10:03 AM
GMVIS Commander charger help dirtgambler Electric On-Road 10 12-29-2004 04:43 PM
Help on GM Racing's Commander GMVIS Charger/Discharger Rob6rR Electric On-Road 2 10-15-2003 09:07 PM
Gmvis Commander Charger $1xx Ea chrisman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-18-2003 09:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net