Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Is it worth getting the Tamiya TRF417 v5 at this time (October 2013) >

Is it worth getting the Tamiya TRF417 v5 at this time (October 2013)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Is it worth getting the Tamiya TRF417 v5 at this time (October 2013)

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 04:23 AM
Tech Adept

Default Is it worth getting the Tamiya TRF417 v5 at this time (October 2013)

Hi guys,

I am new to RC car and I own a RTR car (with upgraded LiPo batts and brushless system) at the moment.

I have been playing with my RTR for about 3 months and I thought of building my first car through an assembly kit.

Assuming if I can get a new Tamiya TRF 417 v5 kit with a discount of about 17% off the retail price, is it worth buying it now as the new Tamiya TRF 418 will be out soon?

Thank you in advance.
Old 10-29-2013, 05:18 AM
Tech Regular

TRF417v5 is still and will be a very competitive car for a long time even after the 418 comes out, it comes down to if you want to have the newest kit or not.
Old 10-29-2013, 06:11 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

Do you plan to race? Cuz if its your first car kit a trf car may not be for you. They are not simple kits.
Old 10-29-2013, 06:46 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)

The 417V5 was my first Tamiya kit and was extremely pleased with it and still am. It's up to you if you are the type that needs the latest and greatest or you are ok with having a car that is one season old.
Old 10-29-2013, 07:04 AM
Tech Master

Yes, it's a fine car.
Old 10-29-2013, 07:28 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by ThePanda
Do you plan to race? Cuz if its your first car kit a trf car may not be for you. They are not simple kits.
Hi,