R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-11-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Motor question..

Hey guys i am new on here i recently got a e10 hpi car. i am really enjoying the car i and just wanting to upgrade the motor in it. I am very new to the RC world and dont know much.. i am really jsut wanting to make this car very fast with the minimum amount of work. i was just planning to upgrade the motor system to brushless first and go from there. i really am not trying to go crazy on price but i do want it to be very quick. i just dont know what motor would be best for what im looking for and do i need to just get a moter or do i need a motor and speed controler or will my stock one work with a new brushless motor. would it be bad if i jsut stuck a new motor in it? i am pretty sure it is a 540 can motor sizebut is that all i need to know when buying a motor? which motor would you guys recomend and if needed what speed controller too?

i was looking at a Trinity Speed Gems Amber 15.5T Brushless Motor 1/10 Motor 540 motor.. is this a good choice for the money? im not looking to spend much and i looked up my ESC and it said it worked with 15T or higher.. so id rather not spend the money to upgrade that unless i have to.. but i also want this car to be pretty fast.. thanks
tennisman93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:06 PM   #2
Tech Regular

someone will chime in and explain all the necessary info needed when it comes to mataching motors and ESC's, but I will tell you right now that if you put too much power into the e10 you're going to end up with a pile of little plastic pieces if you don't upgrade the drivetrain to handle a significantly more powerful brushless motor.
Ive seen/heard of people upgrading their motors on the e10 and keeping the stock drivetrain only to find out it can't handle as much power as most other RC cars because of its design/materials.
wareagle84 is offline   Reply With Quote