R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default HPI chassis ID help please

I got this in a trade and I'm not sure what it is, except it says HPI on it.
Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
HPI chassis ID help please-img_2319.jpg  
tperazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

HPI RS4 Pro 3
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:26 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,304
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

That is the HPI Pro3 chassis
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:28 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tperazzo View Post
I got this in a trade and I'm not sure what it is, except it says HPI on it.
Thanks in advance.
This is a HPI Pro 3. Not one of the better electric chassis cars. Chassis has a lot of flex in it if you don't get the woven graphite upper chasis brace. This helps to stiffen the car to eliminate a lot of the flex.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:43 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys! that was fast.

Which one would you keep for unorganized parking lot fun?

Xray t1R
Tamiya TA05v2
HPI Pro 3
or
I think the last one is an HPI rally car. Ride height is really high.
Attached Thumbnails
HPI chassis ID help please-img_2321.jpg  
tperazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:47 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,304
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

The Xray is the nicest of the lot and would be my #1 selection, but it uses a saddle battery pack which isn't my thing. I've run the TA-05V2 and found it to be an excellent car and this would be my #2 choice. The Pro3 and the RS4 Rally are 3rd and 4th.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 12:08 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,066
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

It you use the tamiya and want to run hardcase lipo you might have to grind down the sides of the battery tray to get the batteries to sit flat in the chassis.
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 02:39 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The HPI RS4 Pro3 might make a good un-prepped parking lot car since it does have a lot of chassis flex. I own one and have been meaning to set it up as a VTA car (25.5 motor).

If you run a 2s lipo in the Pro3, you will either need a shorty hard-case lipo or a soft case. Not very many 2s lipos will fit in the Pro3 because they are too long. Regular round-cell NICAD/NIHM batteries in a side by side configuration (OOOOOO) will fit fine. Stick pack NICAD/NIHM batteries also are too long to fit.

The Pro3 also lacks droop screws, so you would have to adjust droop with internal shock limiters or by adjusting the lower shock ends.

If you are looking for an aftermarket graphite deck, Penguin RC makes/made one for the Pro3. (http://www.penguinrc.com/products/hpi/p3010.html).
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 03:02 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I believe the T1r can be set up for inline battery placement. You can use an inexpensive shorty pack to make balancing easier. I would! The V2 is a realy nice car too. it's only drawbacks are that the motor hangs out pretty far and it's a bit of a porker.
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net