Wiki Posts
Search

motor "dyno"

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 11:55 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 63 (98%+)
Default motor "dyno"

I am fairly new to EP touring sedan and I wanted to focus on 19 turn and stock this year...

question: what is the best way to analyize, manage & tune electric motors???

I have started to do some research on this, but I really want to hear from other racers...

I have seen products from: CE, Orion/Peak, Yokomo, etc.

"What do you all use????????"
Old 02-20-2005, 12:13 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

The best answer is "the track" Generally you can hear a good motor by ear. Pickup a good motor from a respected tuner. Ill pimp EA motors and team br00d here, both do excellent stock and 19T motors.
Old 02-20-2005, 12:23 PM
Tech Master

Originally posted by berger
The best answer is "the track" Generally you can hear a good motor by ear. Pickup a good motor from a respected tuner. Ill pimp EA motors and team br00d here, both do excellent stock and 19T motors.
thanks for the reply, but when "at the track" for some testing on springs and brushes, how do you "monitor" what changes were "good or bad"????

so before placing the motor on the track, you have a "head start" on working on a combination/starting point that is suseptible to the track conditions and type of performance you are lookin for on that particular day....
Old 02-20-2005, 01:02 PM
Tech Elite

If he's new to touring, then how's he going to know what a good motor sounds like.

The three main dyno's are the CE Turbodyno, Fantom Fast Facts, and Robotronics.

All three should be more than enough to get the most performance out of any motor. Don't waste your money on the Integy, Orion, Tekin, ect..dyno's. They arn't reliable and not very realistic to track performance.
Old 02-20-2005, 01:12 PM
Tech Master

Originally posted by Pro4Capece
If he's new to touring, then how's he going to know what a good motor sounds like.