Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Street Jam SJF01 Formula 1. Niiiiiiiiice! >

Street Jam SJF01 Formula 1. Niiiiiiiiice!

Like Tree1Likes

Street Jam SJF01 Formula 1. Niiiiiiiiice!

Old 02-23-2015, 12:36 AM
  #361  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
well I think I've found the problem but not sure how to fix.

Why would I have almost 1 degree rear camber on right rear?. Bend standard axle maybe or hub carrier. The car has never been run so just bad luck? Spacers are the same both side, using the 2.0 axle holders.

I've ordered a carbon one anyway and hope that solves the issue, but by the process of elimination and and entire rebuild that's the only thing I can point to that isn't quite right.
If you had a bent axle when you spin the wheels one or both the wheels would wobble dramatically, it would be unrideable. If you remove the pinion and spin the axle assembly what does it look like ??
evochick is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:09 AM
  #362  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

to me the axle seems ok. I've rolled it along the setup board and it doesn't appear to have a wobble.

I rebuild the entire rear pod and checked a few other things and no matter what I do it sit's 'tweaked' on tires and the setup station.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:39 AM
  #363  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
to me the axle seems ok. I've rolled it along the setup board and it doesn't appear to have a wobble.

I rebuild the entire rear pod and checked a few other things and no matter what I do it sit's 'tweaked' on tires and the setup station.
if it doesn't wobble then its probably not bent then. If you had camber on one side then you would have had the opposite value on the other side if the axle was out. Which also doesn't make sense.

If all the front shims are equal and you haven't missed any can you do me a favour and wind the front springs nearly all the way in on the kingpin so there is almost no suspension travel but still make them equal. Then check the tweak chassis tweak. To me it still sounds like something is not right in the front end of the car.
evochick is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 04:03 AM
  #364  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default New ride



Everything went together smoothly - decided to keep the kit shocks as they feel OK. A very pleasant build - first tests will be later this week.
The Street Jam F120-14 Body Set fits snugly over the chassis - low but still adequate room for links, shocks and wiring.



Special thanks to Evochick for your splendid support!
Does anyone have a decent starting set up for carpet (medium/good grip, tight layout, 21.5 blinky & Ride R1)?

more pics ...




Last edited by InZane; 02-23-2015 at 11:30 AM.
InZane is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 12:34 PM
  #365  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

well I slept on it and after waking up it is what I thought. The chassis is tweaked at the front end.

i rebuilt the entire front end last night and just checking the height of the axles afterwards it was clear it couldn't be anything more.

guess I'll have to get another chassis in due course and for the time being stick to the exotek F1R2.

thanks everyone for your suggestions.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 01:24 PM
  #366  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Sigh, typical StreetJam quality, its a shame they are so hit and miss....
I would still be putting the chassis on the setup board to confirm its twisted.

InZane the body doesn't look bad at all.
evochick is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:29 PM
  #367  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i've order a new chassis and fingers crossed I get a decent one. If not, then I'll part it out.

Cheers
aussierevo is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:31 PM
  #368  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,098
Default

are you sure you didn't screw in the kingpins different amounts left and right?
JayL is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:47 PM
  #369  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

it's the chassis. you can see the twist when laid flat on the setup board. The left hand side sits up just enough to annoy.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 02-24-2015, 12:21 AM
  #370  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by evochick View Post
InZane the body doesn't look bad at all.
If you mount it really low the rear wing will get clean air.


Last edited by InZane; 02-24-2015 at 12:41 AM.
InZane is offline  
Old 03-01-2015, 06:36 AM
  #371  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 7
Default Got this recently

I have gotten this kit recently. I have a question about the reaer wing. I noticed that there are three levels of holes you can insert the wing, what are the differences that the different wing height make toward the car's performance?
arekpowalan is offline  
Old 03-01-2015, 09:12 AM
  #372  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,753
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by arekpowalan View Post
I have gotten this kit recently. I have a question about the reaer wing. I noticed that there are three levels of holes you can insert the wing, what are the differences that the different wing height make toward the car's performance?
Rear downforce, the higher the wing the more efficient the wing should be.

In my testing however when running running hard plastic wings I haven't encountered a noticeable difference between the settings
mtveten is offline  
Old 03-02-2015, 05:05 AM
  #373  
Tech Apprentice
 
CFRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 81
Default

Test and tune sesión yesterday went great , now really flying, changed to tamiya front w exotec upper
arms ,1200 weight shock oil,(4 hole v2 shocks)yellow springs,black front springs,7°caster,2°camber,
4mm ride height, tamiya soft rear,hard front, best lap 12.04. Then changed the rear upper link to the stock
Position and even the 1/12 guys coudn't belive the results, 11.6s average with fast lap of 11.42, that's w
Practice trackstar motor,not geared right to the track.(undergeared).
CFRacing is offline  
Old 03-02-2015, 10:17 AM
  #374  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,098
Default

Where did you have the rear upper link before you changed it to 'stock' position?
JayL is offline  
Old 03-02-2015, 03:52 PM
  #375  
Tech Apprentice
 
CFRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 81
Default

it was above the rear mount like hara,s setup. now it rotates way better,we run carpet on foam tires,will try harder compound rear tires or springs to try to free up the rear a little bit more.
CFRacing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.