R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-16-2013, 09:48 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default New to VTA, need help/advise

Bought a TC 6.0 set up as a TC. Schuur 17.5[sensored] in it now. My grandson and I want to run VTA. ROAR track. Looks like I need a 21.5 motor. Got legal HPI wheels and tires, seems everyone has a back order on 68 camaro bodies. Need your help on motor and esc selection. I'm new to this, and want something competitive we can use for a while. Schuur seems to be rated highly, read a bunch of stuff in these forums. Need your suggestions.Thanks guys.
greg32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:42 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)

Are you on a budget or is cost not really an issue. If on a budget the hobbywing justock is great and alot of people like the novak line of spec stuff. Depends on if you want a computer programable esc or not. I like being able to use a pc to program my esc's so I know what they are set at thats why I run hobbywing. If looking to spend a little more cash the tekin rs2 is a great choice. Small footprint and infintly programable. As for motors I run novak because I run USVTA and I like the rebuildable design. But others will tell you what is the "best" (fastest) motor. If your new that doesnt matter. Novak has rtr combos that are pretty good so doea tekin and hw. All three are reliable with good customer support. I prefer Tekin and HobbyWing because of tunablity over the Novak.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)

I run the Hobbywing Justock ESC and it's been fast, reliable, bullet proof and is reasonably priced. Great value.

I run a Hobbyking 21.5 motor and it's been very fast and reliable as well. I tried a Tekin 21.5 but I didn't find it any faster, just more expensive.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote