Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF418

Old 01-26-2014, 12:23 PM
  #556  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

They are referring to the 20t pulleys on the shaft. (replacing the 19t ones from the 417)
Qatmix is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 01:30 PM
  #557  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

Finally finished my build and review, managed to get a really good set-up for carpet 17.5 blinky as well

http://www.thercracer.com/2014/01/ta...nd-review.html
Qatmix is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 03:52 PM
  #558  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (78)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,252
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Tamiya USA is listing the 42270 TRF418 as discontinued? LOL ahhhhhh come again?

http://www.tamiyausa.com/items/radio...ssis-kit-42270
Raman is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 07:14 PM
  #559  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
xrayaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Raman View Post
Tamiya USA is listing the 42270 TRF418 as discontinued? LOL ahhhhhh come again?

http://www.tamiyausa.com/items/radio...ssis-kit-42270
I'm sure that's just their way of saying they're out of stock and on backorder. The car isn't discontinued lol. Can't be
xrayaustin is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 09:28 PM
  #560  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (78)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,252
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xrayaustin View Post
I'm sure that's just their way of saying they're out of stock and on backorder. The car isn't discontinued lol. Can't be
I'm frequent Tamiya's site.. usually when something is out of stock it says out of stock. Most likely its an error of some sort.. unless the initial kits with the extra parts have a different part number and the standard kits will have another..

In any case, I will be buying this from the likes of Banzai or RCmart when they restock it.. after 10 long months of being a free agent (aka unemployed) I received a firm job offer. This will be my self congratulatory gift.. I feel its well deserved.
Raman is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 10:09 AM
  #561  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
xrayaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Raman View Post
I'm frequent Tamiya's site.. usually when something is out of stock it says out of stock. Most likely its an error of some sort.. unless the initial kits with the extra parts have a different part number and the standard kits will have another..

In any case, I will be buying this from the likes of Banzai or RCmart when they restock it.. after 10 long months of being a free agent (aka unemployed) I received a firm job offer. This will be my self congratulatory gift.. I feel its well deserved.
The kits without parts being a different part number is probably the most logical explanation. Didnt even thibk about that
xrayaustin is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 11:04 AM
  #562  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

Apart from the two types in the kit, are there any more roll bars that we can fit on the 418? the 417 ones do not fit.
Qatmix is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 11:07 AM
  #563  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Anyone got a source for a chassis kit in 450-550 range?
b20btec is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 12:25 PM
  #564  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

http://www.superiorhobbies.com/store...18+Chassis+Kit
Type in the code "rctech10" and get 10% off. It may even be the December kits with bonus parts, I don't know. This offer is good till the end of the month.
429racer is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 05:04 AM
  #565  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 429racer View Post
http://www.superiorhobbies.com/store...18+Chassis+Kit
Type in the code "rctech10" and get 10% off. It may even be the December kits with bonus parts, I don't know. This offer is good till the end of the month.
Thanks for posting this.
b20btec is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 06:25 AM
  #566  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Qatmix View Post
They are referring to the 20t pulleys on the shaft. (replacing the 19t ones from the 417)
Thanks, I had a feeling that was what they meant but the wording was suspicious. Why not call it a 20 tooth pulley? Perhaps lost in translation. LOL
c2tcardin is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 09:27 AM
  #567  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

because of work and schedule. I may have to get rid of my very new 418. text/call me 518-495-0703
noworries is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 08:31 AM
  #568  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How many degrees of steering throw are you guys getting? I'm currently set up with one degree of positive toe and I'm getting 14 degrees equal throw without touching the radio settings. I'm using a Savox steering servo.
c2tcardin is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 01:18 PM
  #569  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
xrayaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

Can somebody help me out here. I got the car finalized. I'm running a bls551 with the kit servo horn. I'm not getting equal throw both directions nor am I getting maximum throw available with dual rate and epa turned up. Do I need to offset the horn? Move the link to a different hole on the horn? Try a different horn completely? I'm confused
xrayaustin is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 02:19 PM
  #570  
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,085
Default

[QUOTE=xrayaustin;12955778]Can somebody help me out here. I got the car finalized. I'm running a bls551 with the kit servo horn. I'm not getting equal throw both directions nor am I getting maximum throw available with dual rate and epa turned up. Do I need to offset the horn? Move the link to a different hole on the horn? Try a different horn completely? I'm confused[/Qa

Taller servo horn helps/ or use top hole in servo saver
rosko is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.