Tamiya TB04 Pro

Reply

Old 07-04-2014, 11:14 AM
  #676  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 315
Default

Pics like that make me happy I bought the kit, thanks!

Hugo
HugoW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 07:58 PM
  #677  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Sith Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 1,405
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TB03Racer09 View Post




I've thrown away the sprues already and can't find anything on my chassis, but from this picture I think you will all agree that it is cfrp chassis. However the suspension parts are all normal plastic

Didn't run into any problems in the build, the hex head screws are awesome. Now its time to find a battery
Spec sheet does say FRP, so I would hope it was included

http://www.tamiyausa.com/items/radio...ssis-kit-84382

Are they oil gear diffs front AND rear or just rear?
Sith Lord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 08:50 PM
  #678  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Both front and rear have oil-filled gear diffs. The rear I'm using the oil Tamiya included in the kit, the front I'm using 100k oil for a semi spool effect.
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 09:03 PM
  #679  
RAL
Tech Elite
iTrader: (61)
 
RAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,319
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

I would heavily suggest using this stuff for the front diff.

http://www.teamgravityrc.com/store1/...29&id=26632441
RAL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:18 PM
  #680  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used 100k because that's what I had on hand (I use it on my rc8.2e). It makes me wonder why anyone will use a spool diff when there are these super thick oil available
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:25 PM
  #681  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 315
Default

Originally Posted by Sith Lord View Post
Spec sheet does say FRP...
Yes, it does. But that doesn't clear CARBON fibre or GLASS fibre. The original is glass, the new one is carbon. The part in the Pro II manual is the glass part number.

Hugo
HugoW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:28 PM
  #682  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thought I might share some pictures. Car is ready to race, needs body, battery and tires







TB03Racer09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:39 PM
  #683  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 315
Default

Nice. What is the purpose of the black sleeves on the wiring?

Cheers,

Hugo
HugoW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 10:47 PM
  #684  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Sith Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 1,405
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HugoW View Post
Yes, it does. But that doesn't clear CARBON fibre or GLASS fibre. The original is glass, the new one is carbon. The part in the Pro II manual is the glass part number.

Hugo
Ahhh, gotcha
Sith Lord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 11:28 PM
  #685  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HugoW View Post
Nice. What is the purpose of the black sleeves on the wiring?

Cheers,

Hugo
They have no real purpose other than looks. The esc I'm using (hobbywing justock) has presoldered wires and the solder the factory use cannot be removed with a soldering iron. I decided that its easier for me to just put this black sleeve than drill out the old solder and solder black wires on.

I took the car for a quick drive outside. Although it's noiser than the ta06, the sound is actually nice (not screechy) and it seemed to get quieter as everything started to settle in.
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 09:01 AM
  #686  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (59)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,405
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Did they update the motor mount or is the exotek one still necessary to get the fdr down?
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 09:16 PM
  #687  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Raman View Post
Did they update the motor mount or is the exotek one still necessary to get the fdr down?
You still need the exotek mount
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:57 AM
  #688  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,545
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I'm sure this has been asked before but i'm new to this car and i see in the instructions, it has two gears. I wanted to know if there was a spool for this car?
DOTMAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:27 AM
  #689  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,886
Default

Originally Posted by TB03Racer09 View Post
You still need the exotek mount
Looks like Tamiya will be releasing their own motor mount soon.
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 01:10 PM
  #690  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (59)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,405
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Regarding the dampers:

Are they touring dampers with lower profile threaded section and shock cap? Or are they the M chassis damper bodies?
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service