R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2005, 09:06 PM   #1
4ou
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blanchard, OK
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Comm lathe??

This might be a stupid question but what do alot of you do when it comes to turning your comm? Reason i ask is i dont have access to a lathe so i was wondering if using some fine sand paper would give me close to the same results as a lathe would? What is everyones opinion on that?
4ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 09:12 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Hyperform Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,195
Default

I've heard of some people using a dremel and sandpaper. Please don't do it, not the hot setup. If your local hobby shop or a local racer can't hook you up, mail them to me with return postage and I will cut them for free.
__________________
Hyperform Racing
www.Hyperform-Racing.com
[email protected]
(978) 416-2572
Hyperform Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:04 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Don't do it, you could really wreck your motor.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:08 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

that is the dumbest idea ever! dont do it. you will never have a round arm. you'll be better off not cutting the comm at all. someone should have a lathe at the track.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 05:13 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
BrentL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

you'd be better off never cutting the comm then using an dremel
BrentL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 05:22 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

VERY BAD IDEA. This will end up costing you another $30 for a new motor, when you could use that money to save up for a lathe. Right now i'm trying to find what lathe to get. I found a $100 one at sheldonshobbies.com. It is made from Team Cobra.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 08:50 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yea, like the others said, have a hobby shop or someone at the track do it for you until your able to purchase a "decent" lathe of your own.......if you want your motors to last as long as possible and run at their peak, there's pretty much no way around it...good luck
__________________
1/8 Scale: Tekno EB-48.2... Tekin RX-8 GEN-2 W/2050kv... Airtronix M11-X Radio... HiTec HS-7954SH Servo...

1/10 Scale: Associated B-5(rear motor)...Tekin RSX Gen-2 W/8.5t... Savox SC-1258-TG Servo
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 02:52 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Like everyone else said.

If you need a lathe and can do highschool electronics, 3racing has a lathe for less than $100 USD. (That's a pretty good price IMO) Any troubles building/using the lathe, PM me, or ask someone at the track for help.

Good Luck!
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 06:31 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

i use the 3racing lathe...does its job for me.

you have to solder your own wires to the motor and switch (and you need to get your own slave motor but their cheap as chips)....soldering to the switch is fairly fiddley because the switch is right in the middle of this block type thing...i just clip straight onto the motor.

reason being if you apply to much heat to the switch, it will melt and even the button get stuck in or the 2 contacts come together and make the switch useless.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 08:49 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Well said Raving Monkey,

I infact had to remove the switch to solder it. I used a old 540 motor that came stock w/ TL-01s. Attached 4x1.2V cells to it, and it worked like a beauty.

$100 USD for a lathe that does the job as good as any HUDY I have seen and paid to use?

Its all good.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:13 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

how did you get the switch out?

i was sat there for ages trying to figure out how to get it out.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 06:25 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Lol, I can't remember anymore, it was a year ago, and only did it once.

(I know I can remove the switch because my switch was broken and I bought my own and replaced the switch) so I know it was removable.

The only thing I can recall is something to do with removing 3mm hex screws...

I will have to take a look at my lathe and tell u.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
Hudy comm lathe and Fantom comm lathe ACEDEAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2007 11:27 AM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Trade EXTREME COMM LATHE(Hudy)for MUCH MORE COMM LATHE JoeyE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-07-2006 09:49 AM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net