R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-22-2013, 11:55 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Is there any reason to buy a Sakura Zero S, instead of an XI Sport?

I'm completely new to touring cars, and onroad RC. I am really starting to focus on RC as a hobby, even though I have had many many hobby grade RC's over the past 20 years. My RC skill level is very high.

I am looking to get a taste of onroad TC, and want to buy a pair of chassis for me and my dad, who is retired, and is the only RC buddy I have.

We race our offroad RC's a lot, and we always have 2 of the exact same rc vehicles, and they are always set up exactly the same, as I maintain them all myself. So we kind of do a form of "spec racing", as our RC's are always exactly the same in every way, so it's always just about the racing and competition, not so much about tuning and tweaking. Any RC upgrades happen to both vehicles, not just one.

If our RC's race like crap, it's ok, because both of ours are the same, and we still have crazy fun.

With our offroad RC's, we never race a track, just grass or dirt with orange corner cones, or a dried baseball diamond with cones. Just impromptu bash racing, and it works really well for us.

We would like to take our impromptu racing to the asphalt and parking lots with a pair of TC's.

I really like the look and price of the 3Racing sport line of TC kits. I love building kit RC's, and love the precision of belt driven carbon fiber TC's, but buying a pair of T4's or TCXX's or TC6.1's is not really an option for our entry level racing shenanigans.

I want a pair of TC's that would fit our needs, by driving halfway decent right out of the box. The Sakura Zero S, and XI Sport, both seem like they would be perfect for us. They both look great out of the box, with plenty of carbon fiber and aluminum upgrades for the future, and cheap replacement parts.

How do I choose between buying a pair of Zero S's or a pair of XI Sport's?