R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2005, 01:29 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default ESC choices

Hi,
I'm interested in replacing my lrp sports esc for a new esc. I'm either thinking about the ko vsf-1, lrp comp2, or the novak gtx. I don't know what features each one has nor do i know what they do. I'm a big newbie when it comes to speed controllers.

Thanks,
Axel
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:07 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,129
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The vfs-1 you can program with a setting adaptor or a computer, the vfs 2000 is just as good just a little bigger and a few less setting options but still is very good

Charles
__________________
DXR | CML Distribution | Paint by Turnip Paint | TKRgraphics.com
Charles Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:13 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

What else can you adj. on the vfs-1 besides throttle and breaking...well i mean what are the specifics of these adj.?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:14 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default novak GTX

go with novak you cant go wrong with there customer service.. the NOVAK family of speedos are allways on top....
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:27 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Never really understood the adj. of an esc...does it just control how much throttle and breaking you want?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:29 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: fast track hobbies
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to adootindotin
Default

get the NOVAK, it has all the adjustments you need and more, it's reliable and the factory support is great
adootindotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:33 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Not to mention it's cheaper than the vfs-1 and lrp comp2, but i'm a huge ko fan, but i'll probably just need the novak anyways.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:36 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone hear this: When using the LRP Q2 and a digital Ko servo and PT the Spektrum won't work??

Just something to think about if it's true....

KE
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:38 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Eldaddio Fozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.K Bradford
Posts: 13
Default

LRP QC2 they are awesome, or a maybe you should think about a Keyence they are little more expensive but are worth it. I use both of these speedos are they are the business
Eldaddio Fozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 02:41 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

The Keyence esc is really a high end esc that i probably don't need yet. The vfs-1 though has alot of features that i can program.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 04:32 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
Anyone hear this: When using the LRP Q2 and a digital Ko servo and PT the Spektrum won't work??

Just something to think about if it's true....

KE
Not exactly, but kind of.

Lemmie 'splain it to you...

-The QC2 doesn't output the same level of voltage other speedos do.
-The spektrum receiver requires more voltage than 'standard' receivers do.
Therefore......
-The spektrum receiver doesn't receive the voltage it needs when trying to power itself and other voltage demanding parts, like a high-end servo.
Therefore......
glitching may ensue.

THE FIX? Get the 4700 capacitor. It owns all. See the spektrum thread for more info.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 04:50 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Novak ESC's are good. I like Keyance personally. I've been running them for about 6 months now. I ran Novaks before then. If it's adjustability and reliability you need, Keyance is the way to go IMO. Plus, Schumacher USA is the importer here in the Sates for them and it'd be hard to beat the sevice Adrian, PW, and Troy give if for some reason you do ever have a problem.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 05:06 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

if i have to buy another esc, that would be the novak GTB especially bushless are getting popular nowadays. run either brush or brushless
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 08:51 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
Anyone hear this: When using the LRP Q2 and a digital Ko servo and PT the Spektrum won't work??

Just something to think about if it's true....

KE
I am one of the people that had this incompatibility problem with these three components which made me switch back to an Airtronics 94357 servo to resolve that problem. The 4700 cap didn't resolve anything in my case.

Spektrum has now updated both of the boards in my original receiver; so, I am not sure if that issue remains. Will test it to find out sometime.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 08:54 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRX-S Bill
I am one of the people that had this incompatibility problem with these three components which made me switch back to an Airtronics 94357 servo to resolve that problem. The 4700 cap didn't resolve anything in my case.

Spektrum has now updated both of the boards in my original receiver; so, I am not sure if that issue remains. Will test it to find out sometime.

Bill
RBlove, had this same problem, sucks I like the KO servos!

Thanks a lot for the reply!

Kevin
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/8th Choices... hmm BlueStreak362 Electric Off-Road 20 11-14-2006 11:59 PM
New To R/C...Bad choices? zracer196 Electric On-Road 51 03-17-2004 12:48 PM
choices choices choices donthaveaclue Rookie Zone 4 11-27-2003 07:08 PM
choices choices choices donthaveaclue Nitro On-Road 11 11-26-2003 03:30 AM
choices choices choices donthaveaclue Monster Trucks 1 11-25-2003 07:05 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net