R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2014, 07:47 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just bought a shorter antenna. 100mm.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 04:38 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,763
Default

Fold the cable up and Shoe Goo to the side of the receiver case.

This one was Soe Goo'd onto the chassis, but my TC has it attached to the side of the receiver itself.
No interference at all in over a year of running it like this, including at large tracks used for 1/5 scale and 1/8 nitro etc.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 07:40 PM   #18
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canal Fulton, OH
Posts: 597
Send a message via AIM to JimmyMack12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
The total length of the wire is the antenna, not just the exposed tip. Has to do with the frequencies traveling down the wire being tuned to a specific length. I'll see if I can find a decent article on it.

Edit: Here ya go

http://www.rc-cam.com/ant_exp.htm

Long story short, antenna length directly affects wavelength. You may not notice it so much if your receiver can pick up a signal at 100ft and you're only driving 50ft away. But going farther away you'll notice the signal drop off really fast and lose control.
Which was exactly what I had said a year ago:

Posted 6/30/13:

Quote:
The length of the antenna is determined by what frequency range it needs. Longer antenna - lower frequencies (you'll see longer antennae with your older-style AM/FM radios with crystals). Shorter antenna - higher frequencies (2.4gHz).
JimmyMack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 07:47 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 2,004
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Wind the antenna in a loop and zip-tie it. Boom!
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:01 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,412
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

I'm just surprised that lots of you are willing to mess with the antenna that much. Why don't you just hide it and fold it nicely and save the hassle?
I picked up a trick to bend the antenna tube so it doesn't stick out of the car body. Then the hell broke up due to the glitch. I broke my 977, 747 and Eryx all of them. Since then, I don't mess with the antenna and keep it nice and straight in the tube. Why take your unnecessary time when you have an option to just keep it as it is?
__________________
Capricorn LAB C03, Capricorn LAB C803, Serpent Project 4X, Serpent Spyder SRX2, Mugen MTC-1
RCTarget, DeSotoRacing
snuvet75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 03:07 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snuvet75 View Post
I'm just surprised that lots of you are willing to mess with the antenna that much. Why don't you just hide it and fold it nicely and save the hassle?
I picked up a trick to bend the antenna tube so it doesn't stick out of the car body. Then the hell broke up due to the glitch. I broke my 977, 747 and Eryx all of them. Since then, I don't mess with the antenna and keep it nice and straight in the tube. Why take your unnecessary time when you have an option to just keep it as it is?
I put mine beside the receiver as it sticks through the top deck and kept getting in the way.
I never get glitching
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 01:25 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: France
Posts: 123
Default

I just opened the receiver and put the antenna in there. Now, there are only about 5cm of it that are visible.
Never had problems in a year of use. Clean solution, which also keeps any sort of warranty.
Awesoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 04:19 AM   #23
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
The total length of the wire is the antenna, not just the exposed tip. Has to do with the frequencies traveling down the wire being tuned to a specific length. I'll see if I can find a decent article on it.

Edit: Here ya go

http://www.rc-cam.com/ant_exp.htm

Long story short, antenna length directly affects wavelength. You may not notice it so much if your receiver can pick up a signal at 100ft and you're only driving 50ft away. But going farther away you'll notice the signal drop off really fast and lose control.
The link you referred to, was still in the 27 and 40 MHz period.
27MHz, is a wavelength of 11 Meter
40MHz, is a wavelength of 7.5 Meter

2.4GHz, is a wavelength of 0.125 Meter.

For best results it is technically allowed to have an antenne of 1/4 of the wave length, which gives us with our 2.4GHz stuff an antenne of 3.125 cm

And excuse me, but the actual antenne is only the exposed tip, the rest is coaxial cable!
So yes, technically seen, it is not a problem to cut the cable, as long as you leave the last 3.125 cm core of the coaxial cable blank!


I do suggest to mount the actual antenne (this 3 cm) as vertical as possible, because when mounted flat, it becomes direction sensitive, the receiver will see the worst signal, when the antenne points in a straight line to or from the transmitter. If this happens on a far corner on a bigger outdoor track, you will loose control.
__________________
Serpent

Last edited by M7H; 06-13-2014 at 04:30 AM.
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:20 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
I do suggest to mount the actual antenne (this 3 cm) as vertical as possible, because when mounted flat, it becomes direction sensitive, the receiver will see the worst signal, when the antenne points in a straight line to or from the transmitter. If this happens on a far corner on a bigger outdoor track, you will loose control.
I think what you mean is; 'If running Spektrum equipment you may well face glitching, no matter how small the track'
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:42 AM   #25
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I think what you mean is; 'If running Spektrum equipment you may well face glitching, no matter how small the track'
Especially when there are Sanwa's and Futaba's nearby....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 08:40 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Awesoman View Post
I just opened the receiver and put the antenna in there. Now, there are only about 5cm of it that are visible.
Never had problems in a year of use. Clean solution, which also keeps any sort of warranty.
RX471 receiver? Or other?
I'd like to give it a try because my antenna is about 20cm^^ (still under the body)
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 09:46 AM   #27
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: France
Posts: 123
Default

Hi G-Rem,
it was an RX451 receiver, not sure if it also works with a 471
Awesoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 10:15 AM   #28
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, I'll maybe try so
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 12:48 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: CaliforniaUSA
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have a problem my antenna tip got stuck in my antenna tube and broke the white inner part off please help its a 472 i loose my signal at 50 ft? Can someone help me repair this rx.
cbrking805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 02:35 PM   #30
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,290
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Strip the shield until the inner wire sticks out 31mm
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net