Softer Throttle

Old 06-20-2013, 01:54 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default Softer Throttle

Can someone help me please.

I am looking to make the initial throttle response a little softer. At the moment it is just a touch too aggressive for me. Is the best way to do this on the speedo or the transmitter. I will admit to being slightly confused with the number of options on the transmitter whereas the speedo is looking easier.

I am using a SANWA Exzes X transmitter and a Tekin RS Pro speedo.

Any advise would be useful.

Thank you.
oldtimeracer is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 01:59 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Curve in the radio. I would suggest getting used to it instead.
B00t13g is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 03:09 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,010
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Try a -10 to -50 on the Expo on the throttle.
BullFrog is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 07:16 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BullFrog
Try a -10 to -50 on the Expo on the throttle.
OR set ESC to 90% throttle limiting.
Mr RCTech is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 07:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
SlideMasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 175
Default

but a Tekin is soft on the bottom end anyways, but yes use the current limiter and it will reduce the punch on the bottom end and make it even 'softer'
SlideMasteR is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 07:38 AM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default

Ok "just get used to it" ummmmm not sure about that but there you go.

OK maybe a bit more specific and that will get the right sort of answer. On the speedo I can set Throttle Minimum, Neutral Width or Throttle Curve. On the transmitter I can set Expo or ARC.

So will they all do the same thing or is it a mix of all of them.

Do not want to go too mad as I am sure setting all these will eventually mean the car wont go at all.

Just needing a bit of plain language interpretation of these so I know what to do.

Thanks for the help though, I was heading towards Expo. I thought Current Limiter affected the entire power spread rather than just initial response?

Thanks guys.
oldtimeracer is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 08:21 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,006
Default

Use a bit of negative expo, start with 10-15% and increase it until you get comfortable with the car. What expo does is that it lowers the sensitivity or the throttle or steering around neutral range, thus making the car easier to driver, more forgiving for the finger, less nervous etc.
UrabusDenis is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 09:23 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

Originally Posted by oldtimeracer
Ok "just get used to it" ummmmm not sure about that but there you go.

OK maybe a bit more specific and that will get the right sort of answer. On the speedo I can set Throttle Minimum, Neutral Width or Throttle Curve. On the transmitter I can set Expo or ARC.

So will they all do the same thing or is it a mix of all of them.

Do not want to go too mad as I am sure setting all these will eventually mean the car wont go at all.

Just needing a bit of plain language interpretation of these so I know what to do.

Thanks for the help though, I was heading towards Expo. I thought Current Limiter affected the entire power spread rather than just initial response?

Thanks guys.
i would start with throttle minimum and neutral width if you can widen the neutral point this will help,then make sure all your trims and end points are set to there max and neutrals and reset your throttle and brake positions to the speedo,see how that goes and then maybe set the throttle curve,let us know how you get on
chasingthepack is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 10:28 AM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,279
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Get an LRP.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 11:00 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I actually prefer a Tekin for softer bottom in blinky 13.5

Lrp is sweeetness for mod though
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 11:23 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me
Get an LRP.
LOL!
Mr RCTech is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 02:20 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,412
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The problem with changing expo to soften the bottom is that the throttle will ramp even faster from midrange to the top making it that more touchy. I'd be tempted to do it with the esc or the motor.
asc6000 is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 03:21 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,160
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oldtimeracer
Ok "just get used to it" ummmmm not sure about that but there you go.

OK maybe a bit more specific and that will get the right sort of answer. On the speedo I can set Throttle Minimum, Neutral Width or Throttle Curve. On the transmitter I can set Expo or ARC.

So will they all do the same thing or is it a mix of all of them.

Do not want to go too mad as I am sure setting all these will eventually mean the car wont go at all.

Just needing a bit of plain language interpretation of these so I know what to do.

Thanks for the help though, I was heading towards Expo. I thought Current Limiter affected the entire power spread rather than just initial response?

Thanks guys.
Current limiter only effects the bottom end. It will not effect the top end.
Odin544 is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 04:09 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What motor and gear ratio?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 05:20 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544
Current limiter only effects the bottom end. It will not effect the top end.
Ding ding...We have a WINNER!

BEST ANSWER AWARD!!
Mr RCTech is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.