R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2005, 06:06 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default Braking Problem (Twister2 and Helios)

Hi

I have just started using a twister 2 with my helios and yesterday when running my T1FK05 for first time it seemed like I had no brakes. I had the abs setting on my radio switched on with settings 98 , 5, 33 but no braking at all. I am running the locked front spool.

I am wondering if there is a setting on my speedo twistr2 that I need to set or could there be a setting on my helios that is not working?

Hope someone can help

Thanks
Scott
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 06:18 AM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
brandbrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Hi

try to do the start setup on the Twister with ABS OFF. That should help.
brandbrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 06:30 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Acutts,
Did you attach the supplied diode to the motor. I forgot to with my VFS-2000, and it blew the brakes.

Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 06:56 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster
Acutts,
Did you attach the supplied diode to the motor. I forgot to with my VFS-2000, and it blew the brakes.

Crashmaster
Oh dear

When I set car up I had a motor with that supplied diode in then I switched and connected another that had a std diode and I switched car on it smoked the diode immediately so I turned off and changed motor....! Could this be the end of the speedo .....??? I will be well pissed if it is ... the car ran fine except that the brake function didn't seem to work but I am not very sure of settings so how can I tell.
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 07:16 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

I found the speedo just had no brakes what so ever when I blew the power board. The only thing causing it to slow was tranny drag/ motor braking. If they have gone, u can get it fixed from your local centre, its what i did (cost around 50).
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 07:30 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster
I found the speedo just had no brakes what so ever when I blew the power board. The only thing causing it to slow was tranny drag/ motor braking. If they have gone, u can get it fixed from your local centre, its what i did (cost around 50).
Crashmaster
Bleak

What a muppet I am ... I will try reset tonight if that doesn't work I will send it in .... does it take long?
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 08:59 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
brandbrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Hi,

I've send in one off my ESCs and they repaired it within 3 weeks. Pretty fast if you ask me. But try to set it up new. Best thing for test is to switch your Helios to a different model memory.
brandbrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 09:03 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

It didn't take mine long for the repair. I sent mine to helger (uk importer for KO), but I'm not sure where you would send yours as it is imported by mirage, but is still a KO at heart.

Cheers
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 09:23 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
brandbrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default

The Ko guys do repair all off the VFS-1 (Corally, tamiya,rayspeed...)
brandbrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 10:27 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

I am sitting with the car on the race table now and it is very difficult to see if the brake is working or not. I am worried it could just be a setting on the radio. Does anyone know what setting should be used on the ABS function on the helios?

Width 33
Pos B 5
Cycle 98
Delay 0
Duty - || +

Those are my settings ???

Thanks I guess if I can't see the difference between braking and letting the car motor brake then the brakes prob are not working???
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 11:56 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
brandbrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Normally you will see the difference between braking and motor bracking. If you brake the motor should stopp at once. Motorbracking will keep the wheels turning for a little while. Try to switch to another model on the helios then set up the speedo again. The new model memory will not have abs
brandbrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI sprint 2 braking problem Rufus2000 Electric On-Road 8 09-08-2009 03:20 AM
Problem with Mamba braking or something? Paul Whalen Electric Off-Road 19 02-08-2008 06:21 AM
Helios Problem Glowster21 Electric On-Road 19 07-26-2006 04:51 PM
HB cyclone, Pro-Trak,Twister2.1,Helios...4sale!!! redd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-12-2006 11:02 AM
ko helios problem sedanaddict Nitro On-Road 6 04-11-2005 06:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net