R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2005, 11:54 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Meeker, CO
Posts: 658
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Question about the LRP Quantum 2

Should I use a capacitor with this? If so which one? Im used to running older Novak TCs so Im curious. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Team Durango DETC410 / SpeedPassion / Fantom Racing / Aston Martin Racing
SpeedySST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 03:03 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
tony2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

are you talking about motor caps? or power caps? yes for the motor caps, as with all speedys, as for the power caps, you get them with the worlds option kit, it basically gives you more punch at the expense of run time, only a small amount, if u dont have any problems with dumping, go for it, i use them and the do help.
__________________
Anthony Campbell

Ryper Hobbies l AKA | AE
tony2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 10:55 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Meeker, CO
Posts: 658
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yeah I was talking about the power capacitor. Guess I need to pick up the worlds kit since Im only running stock. thanks for the info.

M. Rutkowski
__________________
Team Durango DETC410 / SpeedPassion / Fantom Racing / Aston Martin Racing
SpeedySST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 12:33 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedySST
Yeah I was talking about the power capacitor. Guess I need to pick up the worlds kit since Im only running stock. thanks for the info.

M. Rutkowski
Yeah, go with the World's kit. It's a little expensive but it comes with 2 Cap's and a heat sink...oh yeah...and a lot of stickers! You will never need to buy another Cap, and since it comes with 1 very large and one small cap, you can play with them to see which size is better for your application! You will definately notice a difference with the large cap in stock!
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 11:22 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Just buy a loose capacitor, the Worlds kit is way too much expensive.
2 caps and a heatsink for $20?
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 11:23 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Myker*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bay Farm Island
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to Myker*
Default

i paid 30 for my worlds kit.
__________________
Tamiya Racing Factory
Myker* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 11:50 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: High on the Hill
Posts: 6
Default

test
KingDingaling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 10:53 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Capacitors

Does anyone know the capacities of the large and small capacitors that come in the Quantum World's Kit? Not listed on the Associated website. Thanks.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 02:31 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
jc510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Does any one have a good stock settings for the Q2? I have 2 sitting in my pit box, and feel my KO vfs is lacking. I'd like to really try the Q2 before I spend more
jc510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 07:57 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jc510
Does any one have a good stock settings for the Q2? I have 2 sitting in my pit box, and feel my KO vfs is lacking. I'd like to really try the Q2 before I spend more
You need to meet up with Matt Francis at Speedworld. He is a master at them.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 10:20 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

I can't help either, so far i've heard a couple guys on hear saying that the Q2 blows up (hehe that would be fun to see, driving and then boom). I'm currently using a LRP F1 Pro Reverse and, for 100.00 that thing is a piece of crap. The power switch just fell off and I tried contacting LRP but no replies. Do Caps help that much?
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 02:06 AM   #12
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes that worlds kit is overpriced. Also if you just race stock you donīt need the small cap or the heatsink so you just are paying for things you donīt need. Go for a 16V Low resistance cap but you canīt use anything cheap from an electronic store. It just doesnīt work. If you can get the powercaps from GM-Racing these are the best on the market. The one from Novak also isnīt that bad.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quantum Micro speed control question decalhead Electric On-Road 1 01-29-2006 07:00 PM
Quantum Reverse Wiring Question rinkrat99 Electric On-Road 1 05-14-2005 02:30 PM
LRP Quantum Super Sport Power question... Altrodesigns Electric On-Road 0 02-13-2005 02:39 PM
A quick question about the Quantum comp 2.... Mabuchi540 Electric On-Road 5 12-03-2004 11:08 AM
Quantum Question. R C king Electric On-Road 3 05-11-2003 11:55 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net