R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2006, 02:32 AM   #1246
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbull
I haven't read all this thread but note that the main complaint with the brushless system seems to be a lack of brakes.

I am running a brushless 4.5 on 1 Yoke Bd, and a GTB (Brushless speedo) with Checkpoint 7 x 1 on the other. I also use a KO Vantage radio.

No matter what I do I can't get satisfactory brakes with the brushless. Run the GTB with a brushed motor and the brakes are fine. Run it brushless - no brakes worth talking about.

I don't want much drag brake - I don't like drag brake. I want straight forward mechanical brake when I pull the brake stick back. I can dial in as much drag brake as I like but that's not what I want.

Can anyone help with suggestions of speedo and radio settings. Thanks.
It does seem that, overall, the brakes on the BL are not capable (yet) of being as crisp as the brakes on a brushed mod. Here are two suggestions I have for adapting:

1. Going straight from the throttle to the brakes does not seem to work well. If you let the car coast just a split second before touching the brakes, it seems to slow much better!
2. It seems like I can slow the car down a lot more effectively if I use only partial brake (not sure why). I, myself, leave my brake travel at 100%, but I only partially hit the brakes with my finger, depending on how much braking I need at a particular corner.

Hope this helps!
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 07:09 AM   #1247
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The brake issue seems to be motor related. I have seen this in both Novak and LRP systems. One motor will have great brakes and another new motor of the exact same brand and wind will have very soft brakes. I have no idea why this is the case but I have seen it several times already.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 07:16 AM   #1248
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

yes it is to do with the magnets and the rotar in the motor
you also find as the race goes on and the motor/magnets get hotter the brakes get weaker ! . the cooler you keep it the less bad it gets ! and its not as bad also i guess on a smaller track as their is less speed to take off and less heat !
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 06:02 PM   #1249
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

The brakes on my Nosram - 4 star are incredible...First time I ran it and applied the brakes from full speed, all 4 wheels locked up into a skid!

I have had to dial my brakes down to 50%epa, and neg 100% curve...
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 05:39 PM   #1250
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I ran into the same problem as everyone else so I'm looking for answers as well.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 09:02 PM   #1251
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld
Default

I was having the same issue with the brakes after doing the one touch set up. I had my endpoint set at 100 so I just bumped it up a bit and, Voila!, I had wicked brakes. Lock the tires and skid type brakes...
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 10:28 PM   #1252
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

If the radio is set up right 100% should be all you need right?
I'm going to install a heat sink and a fan on the motor and play with the settings for the next time out. I may try it for tis weekend or just wait until the next speedworld race. I'm not giving up that easy.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 04:58 AM   #1253
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Has anyone tried a brushless system in there 1/12 th car I plan to run 4-cell Modified Roacourse But Im not sure which one to get I need something close to a 8 or 9 turn any help would be greatly appreciated
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 07:27 AM   #1254
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noline
Has anyone tried a brushless system in there 1/12 th car I plan to run 4-cell Modified Roacourse But Im not sure which one to get I need something close to a 8 or 9 turn any help would be greatly appreciated
Maybe the 5.5 or the 6.5. The 4.5 seems to be up there with the 7turns in a sedan so in a 12th scale I'm thinking 6.5 (maybe)
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 08:51 AM   #1255
TMS
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mckinney, TX
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST
If the radio is set up right 100% should be all you need right?
When I programed my 5.5 system at 100% endpoints, the brakes were really soft. I then re-programmed the throws at max endpoints and the brakes came on strong.

Some radios will max out well over 100% on the endpoints. The M8 goes to 140% throttle/160% brake. The instructions for the GTB ask for max endpoints.

hope this helps.
TMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 01:13 PM   #1256
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMS
When I programed my 5.5 system at 100% endpoints, the brakes were really soft. I then re-programmed the throws at max endpoints and the brakes came on strong.

Some radios will max out well over 100% on the endpoints. The M8 goes to 140% throttle/160% brake. The instructions for the GTB ask for max endpoints.

hope this helps.
I have always set everything to 100. I will have to see how high the KO goes. There are guys here ready to sell their brushless equipment and I'm hoping to find out something that works to keep them from doing that. From last weeks testing the GTB thermals at 160. My big question is what can you do against this when the track is about 150??? A 10 degree window isn't much. A couple of guys have cut their wires to keep it from going into shut down but I was told this is a no, no so I will leave mine they way it is and try other methods. I'm going with a fan, motor heat sink, and different settings for the next time out.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 01:48 PM   #1257
Tech Adept
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST
I have always set everything to 100. I will have to see how high the KO goes. There are guys here ready to sell their brushless equipment and I'm hoping to find out something that works to keep them from doing that. From last weeks testing the GTB thermals at 160. My big question is what can you do against this when the track is about 150??? A 10 degree window isn't much. A couple of guys have cut their wires to keep it from going into shut down but I was told this is a no, no so I will leave mine they way it is and try other methods. I'm going with a fan, motor heat sink, and different settings for the next time out.
Track temp might be 150 but that doesn't have much to do with the temp your speedo is at the start of your run... unless you are leaving it sitting in the hot sun. Your "window" is considerably larger then 10 degrees.

Either way defeating the thermal circuit means you also take the risk of damaging your GTB if it overheats. Good luck man, that thing is stupid fast I hope you work out your issues.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 02:49 PM   #1258
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is interested in another replacement fan for the GTB, here's the link to the fan I just installed. Air displacement is awesome.... should be cooling a lot better then the standard one.

Its a sunon GM0503PEV1-8.N.GN ; -> flow [email protected] 5V: 2.31l/s or 4.9cu.ft/min (Highest I ever saw on a fan this size)

http://be.farnell.com/jsp/endecaSear...=9606262&N=401
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 03:10 PM   #1259
Tech Master
 
HVAC25000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Sounds great, now if only it were in America for us poor Americans...
HVAC25000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 04:01 PM   #1260
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertV
Track temp might be 150 but that doesn't have much to do with the temp your speedo is at the start of your run... unless you are leaving it sitting in the hot sun. Your "window" is considerably larger then 10 degrees.

Either way defeating the thermal circuit means you also take the risk of damaging your GTB if it overheats. Good luck man, that thing is stupid fast I hope you work out your issues.
I'm just curious to know how long you actually have before the speedp temp catches up with the track temp. You know how the weather gets out here. I will find out soon.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net