R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2006, 10:06 PM   #1231
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Here's some info from Novak's site:

Crawler 18.5 (w/Crawler ESC)

This price list mentions the 13.5, but the link goes to the page for the 4300. I wonder if the 4300 is being replaced?

Actually, here's the info page for the 13.5.

Now, before anybody gets their panties twisted, all this info was found by simply searching for a few keywords on Google.
Super sleuth over here. Nice finds.

Interesting that Novak says the 13.5 is compatible with both the GTB and SS+, but no mention of the regular SS ESC. It's kind of a downer since most people who bought the 4300 system, myself included, wanted to do so in order to even the playing field. However, if this is not the case, I have no problem selling my 4300 system to get a GTB and this 13.5 if it does indeed meet approval.

This could be the final chapter for brushed (at least stock) motors if it does pan out like I hope it does.
emjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 10:11 PM   #1232
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I agree. It's another nail in the coffin of brushed motor racing. Good riddance.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 04:51 AM   #1233
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default Brakes

with regards to the GTB AND THE 4.5 VERSION
i am sure this must have been talked about before ! but i think most people and myself are having BIG problems with them with regards to brakes !!
even on full brakes it just is no where near enough !!!
any ideas on how to sort this or does it need an update to the software to fix !
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 05:38 AM   #1234
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,202
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
with regards to the GTB AND THE 4.5 VERSION
i am sure this must have been talked about before ! but i think most people and myself are having BIG problems with them with regards to brakes !!
even on full brakes it just is no where near enough !!!
any ideas on how to sort this or does it need an update to the software to fix !
i dont know how you guys are setting your GTB but mine has way too much brakes ,
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 05:42 AM   #1235
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

is your one not the original one ? as they came out with to much brakes and all of the new ones do not have enough . i have just set them as standard and with max brakes.
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 05:47 AM   #1236
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,202
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
is your one not the original one ? as they came out with to much brakes and all of the new ones do not have enough . i have just set them as standard and with max brakes.
mine is about 8 months old,
How are your radio settings?
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 06:07 AM   #1237
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Mine brakes harder if I turn my brake EPA down to 80%.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 09:14 AM   #1238
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jan Larsen
Default

I like the low brake setting, helps to stabilize the car with my driving style. I like to use a tiny amount of brake when entering a corner on low to medium grip surfaces, like asphalt
Jan Larsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 12:15 AM   #1239
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Anybody know if the 4300 that comes in the Losi RTR truck can be purchased separately? It appears to have the newer style solder tabs like the Velociti motors. I wonder if Novak will update the existing 4300 and 5800 soon?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 01:16 AM   #1240
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Anybody know if the 4300 that comes in the Losi RTR truck can be purchased separately? It appears to have the newer style solder tabs like the Velociti motors. I wonder if Novak will update the existing 4300 and 5800 soon?
AFAIK it is only available with the Losi RTR. Asides from the solder tabs, it also has black plastic endbells.
emjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 02:37 AM   #1241
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

In regards to the brakes being different on new to old units:

There have been NO hardware or software changes that will affect the braking performance of the GTB since it has been brought into production.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 06:14 AM   #1242
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

then why are we suffering with poor brakes then ! compare to the GTX the GTB has much softer brakes ! and on a big track is hard to stop , but is perfect with the GTX ?? any ideas what we are doing wrong

other have said the same thing............
gizmo360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 07:04 AM   #1243
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,202
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo360
then why are we suffering with poor brakes then ! compare to the GTX the GTB has much softer brakes ! and on a big track is hard to stop , but is perfect with the GTX ?? any ideas what we are doing wrong

other have said the same thing............
improper settings on your radio and esc?? I have plenty of brakes on mine and my other frien has one with no probllems at all, check your radio settings and your esc.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 10:08 AM   #1244
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evicerator
In regards to the brakes being different on new to old units:

There have been NO hardware or software changes that will affect the braking performance of the GTB since it has been brought into production.
I get to run mine for the first time today. I'll make sure that my radio settings are set correctly and I'll report back on how my day went. It's going to be a hot one today so I hope my gearing is correct and it doesn't thermal. Starting at 10.2. I want to go 10.5 but I can't get the gear mesh with a smaller pinion
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 02:11 AM   #1245
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

I haven't read all this thread but note that the main complaint with the brushless system seems to be a lack of brakes.

I am running a brushless 4.5 on 1 Yoke Bd, and a GTB (Brushless speedo) with Checkpoint 7 x 1 on the other. I also use a KO Vantage radio.

No matter what I do I can't get satisfactory brakes with the brushless. Run the GTB with a brushed motor and the brakes are fine. Run it brushless - no brakes worth talking about.

I don't want much drag brake - I don't like drag brake. I want straight forward mechanical brake when I pull the brake stick back. I can dial in as much drag brake as I like but that's not what I want.

Can anyone help with suggestions of speedo and radio settings. Thanks.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net