Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 07-05-2006, 10:06 PM
  #1231  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me
Here's some info from Novak's site:

Crawler 18.5 (w/Crawler ESC)

This price list mentions the 13.5, but the link goes to the page for the 4300. I wonder if the 4300 is being replaced?

Actually, here's the info page for the 13.5.

Now, before anybody gets their panties twisted, all this info was found by simply searching for a few keywords on Google.
Super sleuth over here. Nice finds.

Interesting that Novak says the 13.5 is compatible with both the GTB and SS+, but no mention of the regular SS ESC. It's kind of a downer since most people who bought the 4300 system, myself included, wanted to do so in order to even the playing field. However, if this is not the case, I have no problem selling my 4300 system to get a GTB and this 13.5 if it does indeed meet approval.

This could be the final chapter for brushed (at least stock) motors if it does pan out like I hope it does.
emjay is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:11 PM
  #1232  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I agree. It's another nail in the coffin of brushed motor racing. Good riddance.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 04:51 AM
  #1233  
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default Brakes

with regards to the GTB AND THE 4.5 VERSION
i am sure this must have been talked about before ! but i think most people and myself are having BIG problems with them with regards to brakes !!
even on full brakes it just is no where near enough !!!
any ideas on how to sort this or does it need an update to the software to fix !
gizmo360 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 05:38 AM
  #1234  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gizmo360
with regards to the GTB AND THE 4.5 VERSION
i am sure this must have been talked about before ! but i think most people and myself are having BIG problems with them with regards to brakes !!
even on full brakes it just is no where near enough !!!
any ideas on how to sort this or does it need an update to the software to fix !
i dont know how you guys are setting your GTB but mine has way too much brakes ,
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 05:42 AM
  #1235  
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

is your one not the original one ? as they came out with to much brakes and all of the new ones do not have enough . i have just set them as standard and with max brakes.
gizmo360 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 05:47 AM
  #1236  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gizmo360
is your one not the original one ? as they came out with to much brakes and all of the new ones do not have enough . i have just set them as standard and with max brakes.
mine is about 8 months old,
How are your radio settings?
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 06:07 AM
  #1237  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Mine brakes harder if I turn my brake EPA down to 80%.
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 09:14 AM
  #1238  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I like the low brake setting, helps to stabilize the car with my driving style. I like to use a tiny amount of brake when entering a corner on low to medium grip surfaces, like asphalt
Jan Larsen is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 12:15 AM
  #1239  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Anybody know if the 4300 that comes in the Losi RTR truck can be purchased separately? It appears to have the newer style solder tabs like the Velociti motors. I wonder if Novak will update the existing 4300 and 5800 soon?
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 01:16 AM
  #1240  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me
Anybody know if the 4300 that comes in the Losi RTR truck can be purchased separately? It appears to have the newer style solder tabs like the Velociti motors. I wonder if Novak will update the existing 4300 and 5800 soon?
AFAIK it is only available with the Losi RTR. Asides from the solder tabs, it also has black plastic endbells.
emjay is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:37 AM
  #1241  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

In regards to the brakes being different on new to old units:

There have been NO hardware or software changes that will affect the braking performance of the GTB since it has been brought into production.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 06:14 AM
  #1242  
Tech Initiate
 
gizmo360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 35
Default

then why are we suffering with poor brakes then ! compare to the GTX the GTB has much softer brakes ! and on a big track is hard to stop , but is perfect with the GTX ?? any ideas what we are doing wrong

other have said the same thing............
gizmo360 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:04 AM
  #1243  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gizmo360
then why are we suffering with poor brakes then ! compare to the GTX the GTB has much softer brakes ! and on a big track is hard to stop , but is perfect with the GTX ?? any ideas what we are doing wrong

other have said the same thing............
improper settings on your radio and esc?? I have plenty of brakes on mine and my other frien has one with no probllems at all, check your radio settings and your esc.
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:08 AM
  #1244  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,461
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Evicerator
In regards to the brakes being different on new to old units:

There have been NO hardware or software changes that will affect the braking performance of the GTB since it has been brought into production.
I get to run mine for the first time today. I'll make sure that my radio settings are set correctly and I'll report back on how my day went. It's going to be a hot one today so I hope my gearing is correct and it doesn't thermal. Starting at 10.2. I want to go 10.5 but I can't get the gear mesh with a smaller pinion
STLNLST is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 02:11 AM
  #1245  
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

I haven't read all this thread but note that the main complaint with the brushless system seems to be a lack of brakes.

I am running a brushless 4.5 on 1 Yoke Bd, and a GTB (Brushless speedo) with Checkpoint 7 x 1 on the other. I also use a KO Vantage radio.

No matter what I do I can't get satisfactory brakes with the brushless. Run the GTB with a brushed motor and the brakes are fine. Run it brushless - no brakes worth talking about.

I don't want much drag brake - I don't like drag brake. I want straight forward mechanical brake when I pull the brake stick back. I can dial in as much drag brake as I like but that's not what I want.

Can anyone help with suggestions of speedo and radio settings. Thanks.
johnbull is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.