Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 07-02-2006, 08:53 AM
  #1201  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Stealth ...
Still racing on my orginal Sphere...

But I`m on my second Neo ...

The first one ? after 900 run`s , I had to replace it ..
Still racing on my second Neo , its has over 4 month`s worth of racing on it and still going strong...


No fan`s needed yet...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:41 AM
  #1202  
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

I've been having some trouble setting up my GTB with my stock brushed motor. After completing the one touch setup step the car goes haywire. It goes into a constant forward motion and both throttle and brake input cause acceleration.

If I perform the change motor type step and skip the one touch setup It seems to work fine. Is the one touch setup for brushless motors only?
SlamMan is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:58 AM
  #1203  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Default

Slam, when you do the one touch setup, the speedo automatically goes to profile 1 which is brushless mode. Do the one touch setup first with no motor attatched. Then change it to brushed mode and you should be fine. Also, make sure your throttle endpoints are set to 100 and your exponential (curve on a Helios) is set at 0 when you do the one touch. But, if you did the one touch setup with a brushed motor attatched, you probably fried the speedo.

Tony
RcCzarOfOld is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:16 AM
  #1204  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone tell me which of the sensor wires is the temp thermal sensor wire (GTB 4,5 system)? Cause i'm getting increasingly annoyed at it...thermaling at a stupid 75 celcius (around 160 fahrenheit). Although it was a 92 degree fahrenheit day, the thing kept thermaling at a 9,7 gearing and with 4 fans connected. Some people were running 9,0 and had no problems. The thing is stupid fast, can hang on with the best factory brush guys we have in my country.

I know this will void warranty yadda yadda, but I'd rather buy a new motor once in a while than loosing A-main heats due to a stupid thermal.
Jan Larsen is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:34 AM
  #1205  
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Thanks, Tony. I'll try that.

You suggest setting enpoints to 100 and that makes sense to me.

The GTB instructions quoted below suggest the following.

Set ELECTRONIC TRIGGER THROW ADJUSTMENT to 70% throttle and
30% brake throw (or 7:3) for Forward & Brake only Profiles,
Is that the same thing you were refering to? Do you know why they suggest that and what the advantage would be doing it one way over the other?
SlamMan is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 09:03 AM
  #1206  
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 461
Default

Originally Posted by Jan Larsen
Can anyone tell me which of the sensor wires is the temp thermal sensor wire (GTB 4,5 system)? Cause i'm getting increasingly annoyed at it...thermaling at a stupid 75 celcius (around 160 fahrenheit). Although it was a 92 degree fahrenheit day, the thing kept thermaling at a 9,7 gearing and with 4 fans connected. Some people were running 9,0 and had no problems. The thing is stupid fast, can hang on with the best factory brush guys we have in my country.

I know this will void warranty yadda yadda, but I'd rather buy a new motor once in a while than loosing A-main heats due to a stupid thermal.
How big is the track?
According to Charlie@Novak the 4.5 motor likes a lot of rpm so maybe you can try to gear something like 10.5. I used to gear around 8.6 but have noticed that when I gear around 10 that my laptimes are only 1 tenth slower, this on a big track. Plus that the motor is much cooler...
Holmenkollen is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 09:06 AM
  #1207  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,060
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jan Larsen
Can anyone tell me which of the sensor wires is the temp thermal sensor wire (GTB 4,5 system)? Cause i'm getting increasingly annoyed at it...thermaling at a stupid 75 celcius (around 160 fahrenheit). Although it was a 92 degree fahrenheit day, the thing kept thermaling at a 9,7 gearing and with 4 fans connected. Some people were running 9,0 and had no problems. The thing is stupid fast, can hang on with the best factory brush guys we have in my country.

I know this will void warranty yadda yadda, but I'd rather buy a new motor once in a while than loosing A-main heats due to a stupid thermal.
its the blue wire
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 09:23 AM
  #1208  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Holmenkollen
How big is the track?
According to Charlie@Novak the 4.5 motor likes a lot of rpm so maybe you can try to gear something like 10.5. I used to gear around 8.6 but have noticed that when I gear around 10 that my laptimes are only 1 tenth slower, this on a big track. Plus that the motor is much cooler...
Track is quite narrow, but fairly long and with a good size straight. 9,3/4 would be the optimum gearing, but then it thermals after about 2 mins.

Can't go lower than 10.1, car simply do not allow smaller pinions (10.1 = 16T) (unless I dremel the motor mounting holes).

Gonna confirm it's the blue wire (thx Marcos) with Charlie@Novak, then cut it. Will mount a big fan I have lying on my table together with the two coolcanfans I'm using now to the motor to keep it as cool as possible, but at least it wont thermal. That'll total the fan count to 5; 1 big and two smaller ones for the motor and two smaller ones for the speedo. Sounds like a hurricane when booting it up, but who cares
Jan Larsen is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:17 AM
  #1209  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,060
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jan Larsen
Track is quite narrow, but fairly long and with a good size straight. 9,3/4 would be the optimum gearing, but then it thermals after about 2 mins.

Can't go lower than 10.1, car simply do not allow smaller pinions (10.1 = 16T) (unless I dremel the motor mounting holes).

Gonna confirm it's the blue wire (thx Marcos) with Charlie@Novak, then cut it. Will mount a big fan I have lying on my table together with the two coolcanfans I'm using now to the motor to keep it as cool as possible, but at least it wont thermal. That'll total the fan count to 5; 1 big and two smaller ones for the motor and two smaller ones for the speedo. Sounds like a hurricane when booting it up, but who cares
if you are running the MI2 EC you can run a 120 spur ,its very close to bottom out but I ran mine like that in asphalt for 5 months with no problems i ran a 120/20 for a 10.8 fdr and no thermal issues, you might want to plug the fan directly into the battery pack and will push out more air,
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:18 AM
  #1210  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,060
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jan Larsen
Track is quite narrow, but fairly long and with a good size straight. 9,3/4 would be the optimum gearing, but then it thermals after about 2 mins.

Can't go lower than 10.1, car simply do not allow smaller pinions (10.1 = 16T) (unless I dremel the motor mounting holes).

Gonna confirm it's the blue wire (thx Marcos) with Charlie@Novak, then cut it. Will mount a big fan I have lying on my table together with the two coolcanfans I'm using now to the motor to keep it as cool as possible, but at least it wont thermal. That'll total the fan count to 5; 1 big and two smaller ones for the motor and two smaller ones for the speedo. Sounds like a hurricane when booting it up, but who cares
you dont have to cut the wire just unplug it from the module
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:21 AM
  #1211  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,960
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I still have to mount mine in the car for this weekends race. I still need to have a pic of the thing mounted in a MI2EC if anyone cares to post it. Weylin....way to fail....LOL
STLNLST is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:37 AM
  #1212  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,060
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST
I still have to mount mine in the car for this weekends race. I still need to have a pic of the thing mounted in a MI2EC if anyone cares to post it. Weylin....way to fail....LOL
here is my old EC with the 4.5, (the receiver is on its side along the center belt)

Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 11:56 AM
  #1213  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,960
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
here is my old EC with the 4.5, (the receiver is on its side along the center belt)


Thanks for the pic. Would you happen to have one from the other side??? Just want to see how much room I'll be working with.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:17 PM
  #1214  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,060
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

here are 2 that i found that i took with my camera phone, I dont have the car anymore but hopefully these will help you


Marcos.J is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:45 PM
  #1215  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,960
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the pics. If you were going to run a brushed motor would you have enough room or do you need to mount the speedo forward a little more???
STLNLST is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.