Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 06-27-2006, 11:53 AM
  #1186  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by og_capone
New to brushless scene and was wondering if the GTB system works with the stock SS4300 motor. My friends and I are pondering the thought of running this system for our winter indoor season to try to keep costs down. I am assuming that it should be okay, we aren't speed demons, but I'm reading a lot of post about thermal issues. Should we be concerned? Or could this be a bullet proof, fun class option?

The old novak system had thermaling issues. The GTB is built to handle the current of the 4.5 and 5.5 motors so i doubt that it will overheat with the ss4300. Unless you have it wildly overgeared. It should be a good class, probably a little faster than stock and zero motor maintenance.
ATXPro4 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 06:07 PM
  #1187  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

I run the 4300 motor in a pan oval class. I've thermalled once. I've known others who have thermalled a couple times. I was wondering if the motor actually loses anything everytime it thermals.
rcgen is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 06:18 PM
  #1188  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've heard someone say that after 6 thermals you should change the rotor, I don't know how true this is.
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 07:47 PM
  #1189  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
tony2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it shouldnt do any damage as the thermal shutdown is designed so that it stops the unit from overheating... so what would be the point of it shutting down but still doing damage?
tony2 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:27 PM
  #1190  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,078
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen
I run the 4300 motor in a pan oval class. I've thermalled once. I've known others who have thermalled a couple times. I was wondering if the motor actually loses anything everytime it thermals.
every time that you thermal the rotor (magnet) will get weaker
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:39 PM
  #1191  
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Just keep an eye on your motor temp to prevent harm to your rotor. Per Charlie @ Novak, you do not want the motor to exceed the 160-165 deg F range after a run. When you thermal, the motor temp is in the 175 plus deg range.
Nexus Racing is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:43 PM
  #1192  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony2
it shouldnt do any damage as the thermal shutdown is designed so that it stops the unit from overheating... so what would be the point of it shutting down but still doing damage?
Thats true
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 03:08 AM
  #1193  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

So by replacing the rotor, it should be back to its better or close to its optimum strength?
rcgen is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 05:27 AM
  #1194  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,078
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen
So by replacing the rotor, it should be back to its better or close to its optimum strength?
yes
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:32 PM
  #1195  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Hi All,

I am looking for a reasonably priced Novak SS ESC and 4300 motor.

I thought some of you guys may have upgraded to the GTB and have an older version you are no longer using.

At my track we have a 19t class. The 4300 is allowed - loses some on the long straight but makes up for it in the twisties.

Help !!
bbking9 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 06:07 AM
  #1196  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bbking9
Hi All,

I am looking for a reasonably priced Novak SS ESC and 4300 motor.

I thought some of you guys may have upgraded to the GTB and have an older version you are no longer using.

At my track we have a 19t class. The 4300 is allowed - loses some on the long straight but makes up for it in the twisties.

Help !!
We tried combining them at our track. The 19Ts were much faster all the way around. About 1.5 seconds per lap on a ~14 second lap. And that was geared way high to the point of risking thermaling it.
or8ital is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:03 AM
  #1197  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

the 5800 is about dead even with a real hot 19 turn.thats what we have been running at out local track.
protc3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:04 AM
  #1198  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,279
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I put the updated rotor and endbell in my 5800 and it made it have a TON of torque and less top end. In fact, the torque was so high my diffs couldn't handle it. The improved endbell works great in the 4300, but I'm not sold on it in the 5800 when racing with 19T.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:05 AM
  #1199  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,279
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

And yea, the 4300 even at its best is firmly between stock and 19T. If you look at the results from last year's Novak race where they had a 4300 class full of factory drivers, you can verify this. Faster than stock, slower than 19T. In all honesty, it's a really nice compromise between the two.

I still think the 5800 is a bit faster than 19T, but it's pretty close.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:50 PM
  #1200  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
STEALTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manila & California
Posts: 3,019
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Since the LRP Sphere was brought up... I would like to share my experience with it and LRP. One MAJOR & SERIOUS problem the original Sphere has is that it does NOT come with a Capacitor..... something LRP even mentions it RECOMMENDS on their User Guide!!! To make matters worse, the Capacitor they recommended (part of their "Cooling Set" including a Fan - Part # 82500) was not avavilable for purchase even months after their original Sphere was released!?! At another thread it was mentioned that a Capacitor was not needed for all applications and that most likely it was needed for Touring Car racing.... and not Off-Road. Talk about B.S. - My first and original Sphere didn't last 3 laps in my Original BJ4 on it's first ever run! The settings were fine and I was NOT overgeared which is why I couldn't understand what had happened?! After sending it back to Associated they told me the Fetts blew. I asked how that happened... but unfortunately they could not explain what caused it?! To Associated's credit they replaced the entire ESC and Motor. Kudos to them for that. Problem was they (or LRP actually) still could not supply me with the "needed" Capacitor that LRP recommened because LRP still didn't have them available!? I decided to install my new LRP Sphere and 3* Motor on my Associated T4. It ran perfectly and the throttle was very smooth.... I won races with it but the only problem was that after running about 6-7 minutes during practice it would shutdown?! Again, I asked why at various online threads where reps of LRP often posted. They couldn't give me a clear answer and basically couldn't give me a solution either. Again, I was NOT overgeared. Neither the ESC nor the Motor were very hot after 6-7 minutes so it is unlikely that a thermal shutdown was the problem. Finally maybe two months later some LRP "Cooling Sets" were trickling into the States. I managed to score one from Tower (who had them in very short supply at the time) and installed the Cap to my ESC. Low and behold problem solved!!!!!

Now tell me... After spending about $260 for the Sphere and Neo-One combo... how much fun would it be to later learn (on your own after a lot of trial and error) that you got to spend another $20 for a NEEDED "Cooling Set" just to run your brand new ESC and Motor properly and as "Recommended" by the manufacturer?!? Couldn't they at the very least release the "Cooling Set" at the same time the ESC and Motor were released to the public since again they themselves RECOMMEND it?! Here is a better idea... how about including the Capacitor and the Fan with the ESC to help avoid potential problems?! If Novak could end up doing it why couldn't LRP?! In the end I guess LRP did learn something when they decided to release the "Sphere Competition" with it's own Capacitor!

I own 4 Novak GTBs and now One Sphere. Never had a problem with any of the Novak GTBs. Customer Service wise NOVAK is also 2nd to none. Charlie is simply AWESOME! I am sure you can figure out which Brushless System I would strongly recommend!

STEALTH is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.