R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2006, 09:32 PM   #1141
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

It's good to see some people who are willing to spend some time mounting their electronics instead of just putting the receiver up on the servo (or topdeck ). Nice mounting jobs guys. I'm going to put up some pictures hopefully tomorrow or thursday so you can see how i wired the brushed motor into the GTB.

As for the GTB studdering and stuff with the 4.5, I'm guessing it's only under acceleration? If so it's probably because it's drawing so many amps that there's not enough power for the rx to operate properly. You could try either running a receiver pack or putting one of those little rx caps (like the MuchMore ones) on your rx and see if that helps, I'm guessing it should.
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 02:43 AM   #1142
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default

hey guys i just got my gtb 4.5r and im having a problem i cant seem to get the reverse to work...i tried profile 2 and 5 the reverse doesnt work...any suggestion ...or am i doing something wrong...

what i did i hold the set butten until i get to the profile selection...then i set it to the profile i want....after that i hold the set button again to set it up...then the red and amber led becomes solid..i did everything what the manual said ...and still it doesnt work...help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
kidrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 04:37 AM   #1143
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ..... still far from heaven!
Posts: 1,407
Send a message via MSN to ickvanovs
Default

i bought a 5.5R
is there any thing i should avoid doing when installing?
any tips and trick?

(new to EP)
ickvanovs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 06:10 AM   #1144
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,980
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James
We had some issues at our local track/shop recently with a 4.5 system.. It just wouldnt work properly (glitching, stuttering, etc)...

radio gear is KO EX-10, 40Mhz...

we changed everything... changed to KO EX-1 Mars R 40mhz.. changed the 4.5 motor to another one, all sorts of things... same glitchy stuttering.

We spoke to HEI (the aust distributer for novak) and they said that the Novak 4.5R doesnt work with 40Mhz radio gear!

what the ?

I run a 5.5R system with my EX-10 helios 40Mhz system no problem, and also with DSM, no problem...

hrmmm very strange that just running the 4.5R with 40Mhz has these issues?

James
I have also had some weird problems with the GTB, ran for 2 full days then started having major glitching issues, tried moving everything around, no good, then moved receiver on top of servo, PT to the tront body mounts, and cap up in the air. Also put 2 ferrite rings on the motor wires, and 1 on the neg power wire. Ran it on Sunday without a problem. Only thing now the wiring looks very ugly.

Dont bother dealing with HEI they wont give you useful information. Charlie has told me that they have had some issues with 40 meg, i assume the noise generated by the extra load of the 4.5 causes more problems with 40 than other signals.

Try the above and see if you can get it working properly.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:27 AM   #1145
Tech Addict
 
rcdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Agusan del Norte
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

guys just a question, is it normal for 4.5 brushless to be a bit noisy during running than mod brushed motors? or is there a problem with it.
__________________
TeamXray, TeamAssociated, Esky, Tamiya
rcdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:37 AM   #1146
Tech Regular
 
Dan415ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stonehaven, Scotland
Posts: 386
Default

Mine is a lot quieter than a brushed motor - it's pretty much silent all I can here is tyre noise and maybe the transmission and the car whistling through the air at speed.....so I'd say something is mechanically up with either the motor or your car's transmission.

Dan
Dan415ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 08:23 AM   #1147
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James
We had some issues at our local track/shop recently with a 4.5 system.. It just wouldnt work properly (glitching, stuttering, etc)...

radio gear is KO EX-10, 40Mhz...

we changed everything... changed to KO EX-1 Mars R 40mhz.. changed the 4.5 motor to another one, all sorts of things... same glitchy stuttering.

We spoke to HEI (the aust distributer for novak) and they said that the Novak 4.5R doesnt work with 40Mhz radio gear!

what the ?

I run a 5.5R system with my EX-10 helios 40Mhz system no problem, and also with DSM, no problem...

hrmmm very strange that just running the 4.5R with 40Mhz has these issues?

James
Did you try adding a Cap to the receiver? Ive had to add a cap everytime ive used my GTB and 5.5r. Isnt a huge issue (unless i run out of places to put the cap!) Maybe Novak should add an additional cap to the reciever circuitry?? Ive used my system on 27mhz am, 27mhz fm and 40mhz fm and had to use a cap each time. thats in both a touring car 6 cell and a pan car 6 cell.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 08:29 AM   #1148
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe
I have also had some weird problems with the GTB, ran for 2 full days then started having major glitching issues, tried moving everything around, no good, then moved receiver on top of servo, PT to the tront body mounts, and cap up in the air. Also put 2 ferrite rings on the motor wires, and 1 on the neg power wire. Ran it on Sunday without a problem. Only thing now the wiring looks very ugly.

Dont bother dealing with HEI they wont give you useful information. Charlie has told me that they have had some issues with 40 meg, i assume the noise generated by the extra load of the 4.5 causes more problems with 40 than other signals.

Try the above and see if you can get it working properly.

Hey Brad, again chuck a cap into your reciever. I was lucky that i got two caps in a box with a second hand car, so i put on one of the caps with a set of spare servo leads, and it solved the problem totally. before the cap, i found that if i used the throttle up to about half throttle, the car was fine. as soon as i got heavy on the gas, the steering would lock and id have no response from the radio. I put the cap on, and i was slamming the gas on my 10 pan. Didnt have to move a thing. Ive read up a little on running caps. seems to be a big problem on the LRP brushless, so tried it and it totally worked for my car.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 08:31 AM   #1149
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan415ms
Mine is a lot quieter than a brushed motor - it's pretty much silent all I can here is tyre noise and maybe the transmission and the car whistling through the air at speed.....so I'd say something is mechanically up with either the motor or your car's transmission.

Dan
My 5.5r was very quiet when i bought it. now its getting noticably louder. Im guessing the bearings arent that good anymore as the motor still produces crazy power. im going to strip it, and thoroughly clean the bearings and put in some lite speed bearing oil. I think to say these motors are 0 maintenance isnt true, you still need to look after your bearings.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:48 AM   #1150
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kidrobot
hey guys i just got my gtb 4.5r and im having a problem i cant seem to get the reverse to work...i tried profile 2 and 5 the reverse doesnt work...any suggestion ...or am i doing something wrong...

what i did i hold the set butten until i get to the profile selection...then i set it to the profile i want....after that i hold the set button again to set it up...then the red and amber led becomes solid..i did everything what the manual said ...and still it doesnt work...help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

anybody???can u help me please....
kidrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 10:53 AM   #1151
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I've never tried putting the GTB into reverse so I cant help you out directly. But what I would do is call Novaks customer service line and talk to them directly, they're very helpful and will walk you through it to make sure you don't miss any steps .
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 11:57 AM   #1152
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Kidrobot:

What is happening is that everytime you do a one touch setup on the ESC, it returns the ESC to profile 1 (the default profile)

So, do this:

Do a one touch setup just to make sure that your radio settings are all fine.

Full end points, no exponential, etc.

Then, once you finish with the one touch setup, THEN change the profile to profile #2 or #5.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:03 PM   #1153
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Got some pics right now. Here's a close up of my 4.5 assembly.

Re glitching, I'm sure it's a case of positioning of electrics. I use 40Fm with a KO Vantage and Novak XXL receiver and have never experienced any such problems.

[IMG][/IMG]
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 04:02 PM   #1154
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
I think to say these motors are 0 maintenance isnt true, you still need to look after your bearings.
As you do all motors.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 06:58 PM   #1155
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 122
Default

The best way I have found to run brushless and brushed is soldering a battery bar to the neg tab of the brushed motor for more soldering room. If you do it that way your wires will reach both setups and its very clean.
Davenport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net