R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2006, 08:03 PM   #916
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,190
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Can anyone give me any feedback on cutting the blue sensor wir eon their GTB unit?

I've read about guys doing so, at the Novak race and was wondering if there's any difference in operation?

Has anyone damaged their motors in this way?

Is there any difference in ESC operating temp? or motor speed?
for one you will void the warranty but it will keep it from shutting down you probably could ruin both the speed control and the motor,a few weeks back another racer disconnected the sensor wire but it was on the lrp motor and it ran fine (with no shutdown) I put an extra fan on mine and drop a pinion to a final drive of 11.07 and the car came of the track at 161 degrees after a 5 minute main, the car still had a lot of pull at the end of the straight.The track temperature was 145 degrees
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 08:04 PM   #917
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,190
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Can anyone give me any feedback on cutting the blue sensor wir eon their GTB unit?

I've read about guys doing so, at the Novak race and was wondering if there's any difference in operation?

Has anyone damaged their motors in this way?

Is there any difference in ESC operating temp? or motor speed?
you dont have to cut it you can just slide it out with a very small screwdriver
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 08:08 PM   #918
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Marcos...

Just a theoretical really, i don't plan on voiding my warranty!! LoL.
And i haven't experienced any thermal problems for a long long time. (Yep - it was all me and my ineptitute. I won''t blame the product!)
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 08:14 PM   #919
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,190
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Im sure that Steve can explain it better than I can, by the way my sensor wire is untouched
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 10:07 PM   #920
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

In the rules arent all the sensor wires meant to be intact? otherwise it is no different to a sensorless motor which is illegal under the ROAR and IFMAR rules?
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 10:28 PM   #921
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe
In the rules arent all the sensor wires meant to be intact? otherwise it is no different to a sensorless motor which is illegal under the ROAR and IFMAR rules?
The sensor they are referring to is the temperature sensor, not the sensor that "knows the rotor position." By disconnecting the blue wire, you would essentially be removing the thermal shutdown feature.
I think that more people have trouble thermalling the 4300 and 5800 systems than any of the mod systems. I have heard that every time you add a tooth on the pinion with these motors, your lap times will increase...but if you keep overgearing more and more, you will create way too much heat and send the ESC into thermal shutdown.
There isn't as much "need" to overgear the mod systems.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 12:43 AM   #922
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So the sensor issue is open to interpretation?

I would assume the rules require that the sensor harness is fully connector and operational. Has anyone heard anything about the 3.5 motor?
I don't forsee myself using anything faster than the 4.5 really. But it's interesting that Novak are going into the 3.5 as well.
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 12:54 PM   #923
Tech Regular
 
aaronb73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just want to clarify something I noticed during my race yesterday. A friend and I both run a GTB / 5.5 in our lazer zx-5s. Same gearing, layout, etc as one another. On the track's 125 ft or so straight he's catching up and passing me easily by the halfway point.

My car is pretty fast, hasn't thermalled on me or anything but there seems to be a big difference in performance. I had been running a GTX with a 10 double checkpoint prior to the brushless and the performance was about equal between cars.

Is this a sign of something faulty in my speed control? I am planning to swap the GTX back in and do some futher testing.
aaronb73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 06:15 PM   #924
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

is his car dialed for more forward bite?

is your radio gear set to full th/bk highpoint and programmed with the GTB like that?

still a few factors worth looking at.

swap your electronics with ea other and see if it's still the same, it will determine if it's the elec's or the car/radio gear setup..

James
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 08:35 AM   #925
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hello all i just bought a gtb system with the 4.5 i will be putting it in my fk05 for parking lot racing just wondering how to gear it. The track size is 150x40 and wide open no tight spots also will be running lipo battery if that makes a difference thanks any help will be very helpful dont want to burn up new system
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 09:45 AM   #926
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,190
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miamifanatic
hello all i just bought a gtb system with the 4.5 i will be putting it in my fk05 for parking lot racing just wondering how to gear it. The track size is 150x40 and wide open no tight spots also will be running lipo battery if that makes a difference thanks any help will be very helpful dont want to burn up new system
I would start around a 10.0 FDR and go from there
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 09:56 AM   #927
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default

whats another good brushless esc out there?? is gtb the best for far??let me know thanks
kidrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:30 AM   #928
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

LRP Sphere Competition is another good brushed / brushless esc.
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:47 AM   #929
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default

how come the lrp cost more than the gtb? which is better between these two brushless system?

Last edited by kidrobot; 04-25-2006 at 11:33 AM.
kidrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 12:06 PM   #930
Tech Elite
 
STEALTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manila & California
Posts: 3,019
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone on here used their GTB Brushless System with an Orion-Kokam Platinum Li-Po battery pack!?! If so could you share some comments, observations, tips, recommendations, etc.? Just wondering if both are perfectly compatible.

Thanks!
STEALTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net