Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 04-23-2006, 08:03 PM
  #916  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Can anyone give me any feedback on cutting the blue sensor wir eon their GTB unit?

I've read about guys doing so, at the Novak race and was wondering if there's any difference in operation?

Has anyone damaged their motors in this way?

Is there any difference in ESC operating temp? or motor speed?
for one you will void the warranty but it will keep it from shutting down you probably could ruin both the speed control and the motor,a few weeks back another racer disconnected the sensor wire but it was on the lrp motor and it ran fine (with no shutdown) I put an extra fan on mine and drop a pinion to a final drive of 11.07 and the car came of the track at 161 degrees after a 5 minute main, the car still had a lot of pull at the end of the straight.The track temperature was 145 degrees
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:04 PM
  #917  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Can anyone give me any feedback on cutting the blue sensor wir eon their GTB unit?

I've read about guys doing so, at the Novak race and was wondering if there's any difference in operation?

Has anyone damaged their motors in this way?

Is there any difference in ESC operating temp? or motor speed?
you dont have to cut it you can just slide it out with a very small screwdriver
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:08 PM
  #918  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Marcos...

Just a theoretical really, i don't plan on voiding my warranty!! LoL.
And i haven't experienced any thermal problems for a long long time. (Yep - it was all me and my ineptitute. I won''t blame the product!)
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:14 PM
  #919  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Im sure that Steve can explain it better than I can, by the way my sensor wire is untouched
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:07 PM
  #920  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,990
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

In the rules arent all the sensor wires meant to be intact? otherwise it is no different to a sensorless motor which is illegal under the ROAR and IFMAR rules?
Besercoe is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:28 PM
  #921  
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by Besercoe
In the rules arent all the sensor wires meant to be intact? otherwise it is no different to a sensorless motor which is illegal under the ROAR and IFMAR rules?
The sensor they are referring to is the temperature sensor, not the sensor that "knows the rotor position." By disconnecting the blue wire, you would essentially be removing the thermal shutdown feature.
I think that more people have trouble thermalling the 4300 and 5800 systems than any of the mod systems. I have heard that every time you add a tooth on the pinion with these motors, your lap times will increase...but if you keep overgearing more and more, you will create way too much heat and send the ESC into thermal shutdown.
There isn't as much "need" to overgear the mod systems.
Nexus Racing is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:43 AM
  #922  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So the sensor issue is open to interpretation?

I would assume the rules require that the sensor harness is fully connector and operational. Has anyone heard anything about the 3.5 motor?
I don't forsee myself using anything faster than the 4.5 really. But it's interesting that Novak are going into the 3.5 as well.
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:54 PM
  #923  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
aaronb73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just want to clarify something I noticed during my race yesterday. A friend and I both run a GTB / 5.5 in our lazer zx-5s. Same gearing, layout, etc as one another. On the track's 125 ft or so straight he's catching up and passing me easily by the halfway point.

My car is pretty fast, hasn't thermalled on me or anything but there seems to be a big difference in performance. I had been running a GTX with a 10 double checkpoint prior to the brushless and the performance was about equal between cars.

Is this a sign of something faulty in my speed control? I am planning to swap the GTX back in and do some futher testing.
aaronb73 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:15 PM
  #924  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

is his car dialed for more forward bite?

is your radio gear set to full th/bk highpoint and programmed with the GTB like that?

still a few factors worth looking at.

swap your electronics with ea other and see if it's still the same, it will determine if it's the elec's or the car/radio gear setup..

James
James is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 08:35 AM
  #925  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hello all i just bought a gtb system with the 4.5 i will be putting it in my fk05 for parking lot racing just wondering how to gear it. The track size is 150x40 and wide open no tight spots also will be running lipo battery if that makes a difference thanks any help will be very helpful dont want to burn up new system
miamifanatic is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 09:45 AM
  #926  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,068
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by miamifanatic
hello all i just bought a gtb system with the 4.5 i will be putting it in my fk05 for parking lot racing just wondering how to gear it. The track size is 150x40 and wide open no tight spots also will be running lipo battery if that makes a difference thanks any help will be very helpful dont want to burn up new system
I would start around a 10.0 FDR and go from there
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 09:56 AM
  #927  
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 34
Default

whats another good brushless esc out there?? is gtb the best for far??let me know thanks
kidrobot is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:30 AM
  #928  
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

LRP Sphere Competition is another good brushed / brushless esc.
lookinco is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:47 AM
  #929  
Tech Initiate
 
kidrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 34
Default

how come the lrp cost more than the gtb? which is better between these two brushless system?

Last edited by kidrobot; 04-25-2006 at 11:33 AM.
kidrobot is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:06 PM
  #930  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
STEALTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manila & California
Posts: 3,019
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone on here used their GTB Brushless System with an Orion-Kokam Platinum Li-Po battery pack!?! If so could you share some comments, observations, tips, recommendations, etc.? Just wondering if both are perfectly compatible.

Thanks!
STEALTH is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.