R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2006, 10:09 PM   #796
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

can someone pls give me some tips on cleaning my velociti 5.5?

it has been mentioned you can open them and clean them out? is this recommended or a no no?

just want it kept in good working order. It's now had about 13 runs on it.
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 10:12 PM   #797
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I would try cleaning it with motor spray and oiling the bearings probably after 20+ runs
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 10:22 PM   #798
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,200
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James
can someone pls give me some tips on cleaning my velociti 5.5?

it has been mentioned you can open them and clean them out? is this recommended or a no no?

just want it kept in good working order. It's now had about 13 runs on it.
do not use motor spray!! I was told by novak just to open it up and blow air in it and oil the bearings, I do mine about every 50 runs and once i take it apart is really not that dirty at all
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 10:35 PM   #799
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

opening instructions anyone? ea end, or the wire's end, or?

compressed air and light bearing oil.. right.
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 10:42 PM   #800
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,200
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James
opening instructions anyone? ea end, or the wire's end, or?

compressed air and light bearing oil.. right.
just take the 3 screws out of the front ,take the rotor out blow air in it re oil the bearing ,install rotor ,then take the back cover out and oil the bearing , reassemble and you are ready again
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 11:50 PM   #801
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

Can anyone tell me what's the weekness of the GTB system or anything that I would have to watch out? I just ordered mine and would like to know of any tips and tricks when setting and running it.

I will be running both the 6.5R and 27T brushed motor with the GTB
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:04 AM   #802
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

talking about gearing. How much would you gear a 4.5 system? Just got my system. Just want to make sure that it does not shut down. Thanks.
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:07 AM   #803
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro
talking about gearing. How much would you gear a 4.5 system? Just got my system. Just want to make sure that it does not shut down. Thanks.
totally depends on your track, really does. I'd start with 3 teeth smaller on your pinion to what you'd run a brushed motor, and go from there.
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:22 AM   #804
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I run stock and 19 turn. Have not tried racing mod. Are you talking about 3 teeth less than 7 turn brush motor? Just need a general range of how much I should gear my car at.
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:26 AM   #805
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

LOokinCO....

There's not too much to nitpick about the GTB.

Little things to look out for:

If running spectrum, be sure to install the optional capacitor or your system will likely shut-down under hard acceleration amp draw.

Be careful with your esc fan - i've killed mine many times over..They like to lose blades.

Be careful with the screws holding the fan in place - i killed those too. The heads just twisted right off!

That's about it... the GTB has alot of small wiring harnesses running off it. Just make sure they're all secure. Lots of problems start here. (I'm referring to the sensor harness in particular!)

Yellow Taro: I've always been confused with the manual suggestion of running x number of teeth lower than a regular motor.


Here's my general guide on ratio's.. (Caveat - this is SUPER GENERAL, and will differ strongly from track to track..)

GTB 5.5 run it in the high 8's to low 9's... FDR (I run mine at 8.7 for large tracks and 9.2 for med/tight tracks)

GTB 4.5 run it in the high 9's to mid 10's...FDR (Be careful running in the 9's, use for BIG tracks only. Use in the mid tens for med sized tracks, high tens for smaller tracks)

hope that helps.. just temp the Motor and esc to see how close you are to the max temp!
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:33 AM   #806
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

So is it a MUST to get the optional capacitor if I am using the GTB with Spektrum? I was using it with the GTX and I had no problems what so ever.

Is the optional capacitor from Novak or from Spektrum?
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:36 AM   #807
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I don't run spectrum myself so i can't say, but it seems alot of ppl have issues when they switch to the GTB.

The Cap is from Spectrum, plugs into the spare RX channel.

I recall reading someone had issues swapping from GTX to GTB? but if you have the spare then better safe than sorry. But just be aware... maybe someone else can comment on their own experience...
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:57 AM   #808
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I don't know about the 6.5, but I've run the 4300 and 5800 a LOT with my Spektrum (no cap) without any issues.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 02:11 AM   #809
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yesterday at the Inter club mine shut down three times but it's the first time it's done it. I think if you are just a little bit hard on the throttle on a fairly high grip track it will do it. If running a spektrum you should run a cap just in case.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 02:41 AM   #810
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

Do I have to run the spektrum cap?

Can i just run a 50v 4700uF cap like this one? http://www.thesourcecc.com/estore/Pr...roduct=2729016
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net