Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 02-20-2006, 07:41 PM
  #676  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

Marcos did you ever thermal your GTB at the last Superior race? If you did, did you happen to checked the temperature? I need to know how far I can push it before it shuts down. Oh, if you find another 4.5 I'll be glad to get it from you. My LHS's distributor won't have it till mid March
rcgen is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 07:51 PM
  #677  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,099
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen
Marcos did you ever thermal your GTB at the last Superior race? If you did, did you happen to checked the temperature? I need to know how far I can push it before it shuts down. Oh, if you find another 4.5 I'll be glad to get it from you. My LHS's distributor won't have it till mid March
once
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 07:51 PM
  #678  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,099
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen
Marcos did you ever thermal your GTB at the last Superior race? If you did, did you happen to checked the temperature? I need to know how far I can push it before it shuts down. Oh, if you find another 4.5 I'll be glad to get it from you. My LHS's distributor won't have it till mid March
I thermal once in a qualifier not because of the gear ratio but because a front cvd broke and it was making the drivetrain bind!!! I ran a 8.76 ratio with no problem but at the state race I ran a 8.30 to keep up and it thermal with 20 seconds to go, the temp was around 185 or so
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:09 PM
  #679  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Just so y'all know, www.rcboyz.com has the 4.5 in stock, I just got mine, holy cow, I almost cried only they were tears of joy!!!
thebrad is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:47 AM
  #680  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Hello all. Has anybody tried the 4.5 with the sphere competition? Do the "sensor" wires/plugs work? thanx
billtc3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:44 AM
  #681  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 257
Default

I've asked this question before, but got no response, so here it is again, hopefully Charlie will pick up this time...

Does anyone know if there is a shorter wiring loom for the GTB? I run mine in a T2 and only need about 3" max and while I'm happy to shorten the motor wires, the harness is a different animal.

Also, if it's not possible to get a shorter version, could I wind the harness "around" the shortend motor wires to keep it neat and tidy?

Dave
TraceRacing is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:56 AM
  #682  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Originally Posted by TraceRacing
I've asked this question before, but got no response, so here it is again, hopefully Charlie will pick up this time
well, i have the sphere and a friend of mine has the 4.5. we'll probably meet at the track in a week or two and i'll do the test myself. i wish i knew sooner though
billtc3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:39 AM
  #683  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Mate....

mail Charlie yourself... Maybe you'll get a more direct answer than you'll get from a bunch of end-users on a forum. I don't see any problem with wrapping it around the motor wires though. Nothing that wouldn't be beneficial. In general, wrapping the wires will only reduce the amount of interference pick-up.


I "folded" my wires into a length around 4cm long and slipped a piece of heat-shrink over it to keep it tidy and tucked away. I'm not sure whether actually shrinking the tubing around the wires would be great though. Probably too much of an acute bend.

I didn't spot the sensor harness being sold as an accessory on Novak's site.
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 05:14 AM
  #684  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
semore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I also don't think they sell a shorter wires harnes. Becuase the are hard wired in the motor. In my T4 I ran the wiring arond the far side of the shock tower to there was not flopping around.
semore is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:02 PM
  #685  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Default Brushless setup

I just put a GTB and 4300 in my 1/12 scale, because my local carpet roadcourse track is going to allow them to run with stock, until we have enough for our own class.

Does anyone know what program is best?
Are there any advanced settings that need to be changed?
What rollout should I run, if I normally run 1.75 with a monster?
r1sportbike is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:42 AM
  #686  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by billtc3
Hello all. Has anybody tried the 4.5 with the sphere competition? Do the "sensor" wires/plugs work? thanx
It works just fine. All the sensor connections are standardized.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:38 PM
  #687  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Anybody have a ballpark on the ideal rollout for the 4300? I'm racing sedan, foam tires, ozite carpet, small technical track.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:33 AM
  #688  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Originally Posted by AdrianM
It works just fine. All the sensor connections are standardized.
thank you for your reply
billtc3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:55 AM
  #689  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

WooooOo...

A friend has just come back from HK with a 4.5R. Going to give it a run on friday so we'll get a side-by -side compario with a 5.5R.
We'll have enough space to completely wind out the motors. Perfect flat concrete for at least a hundred meters in every direction. Baby smooth.. lovely.

Can't wait... too bad they rna out of the 4.5R motors in HK.. just the bundle with the GTB around atm...
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:46 AM
  #690  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 89
Default

are the brushless motors louder than brushed motors?
signal21 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.