Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 12-12-2005, 03:31 AM
  #511  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I've had a few minor issues running a ss5800 with a JR xs-3.
But it was quickly rectified by checking my antenna length and making sure the aerial staying up in the antenna tube.


I got a distinct dead spot (about 15-20m away). throttle delayed by a second and some small steering deflections. But just mainly the throttle hesitation.

I've heard other ppl with issues with JR recievers and the 5.5R
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:18 PM
  #512  
Tech Rookie
 
RHuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca.
Posts: 3
Default

I'm building a RC10 FT TC4 with a SS+ 5800 Brushless. My Spur gear is a 100T 64P instead of the factory 72T 48P spur gear. Now the directions say use a 25T 48P Pinion with a 12-Turn Modified so I'm thinking that a 35T 64P Pinion with the 100T 64P Spur would just about be the same gearing. Am I close?

Rick
RHuckster is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 04:44 PM
  #513  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Exclamation smoking!

A little advice to all who have brushless speed controllers,I wrecked my car today (schumacher mi-2) and hit the controller case,which split and caused the pin connectors inside the case to rip free from the lower board and cause a spectactular melt down. It burned like phosphorous untill I could get the battery leads cut (soldered battery).The moral of this story is try to position the speed controller in a area where it CANNOT get hit during a crash and this will not happen to you.
IRISH is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 04:46 PM
  #514  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,080
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IRISH
A little advice to all who have brushless speed controllers,I wrecked my car today (schumacher mi-2) and hit the controller case,which split and caused the pin connectors inside the case to rip free from the lower board and cause a spectactular melt down. It burned like phosphorous untill I could get the battery leads cut (soldered battery).The moral of this story is try to position the speed controller in a area where it CANNOT get hit during a crash and this will not happen to you.
ouch Tim, where you at the track!
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 04:48 PM
  #515  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,080
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IRISH
A little advice to all who have brushless speed controllers,I wrecked my car today (schumacher mi-2) and hit the controller case,which split and caused the pin connectors inside the case to rip free from the lower board and cause a spectactular melt down. It burned like phosphorous untill I could get the battery leads cut (soldered battery).The moral of this story is try to position the speed controller in a area where it CANNOT get hit during a crash and this will not happen to you.

Here is mine with the GTB
(sorry for the bad pic is from my camera phone)


Marcos.J is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 08:30 PM
  #516  
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Default

To whoever asked. The Neo 3-Star is equivalent to the Novak 6.5. The Neo 4-Star should be competitive with the Novak 5.5.

I see that on the Neo 1-Star, there are numbers on the can beside the wire tabs. Would anyone by chance know what these are for?
Team Duratrax is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 08:33 PM
  #517  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
GordonFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reality
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Note to LRP:
Just fricken name 'em by the wind. 5.5, 7.5 etc. Jeez.
GordonFreeman is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:44 PM
  #518  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Novak SPortsman settings

For those who have used the Novak in its "Sportsman" setting, how close is it to a 27t motor?
Bluey_74 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:37 PM
  #519  
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Default

Originally Posted by Bluey_74
For those who have used the Novak in its "Sportsman" setting, how close is it to a 27t motor?
It doesn't actually limit the amperage supplyed to the motor. It only limits the RPM's at the end of the motor curve. Bottom end power would be the same, but limited to 24000RPM's. You can actually feel the motor staggering everytime it hits 24000RPM's. It's not very consistant and It would be better using the SS4300 motor instead, but then again it is equal to a 19t, not a stock.

Think of it this way. If you were running a a marathon bare naked and someone was behind you whipping your a** you would tend to leap forward a little then ease up to your original pace.
Team Duratrax is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:44 PM
  #520  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 851
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bluey_74
For those who have used the Novak in its "Sportsman" setting, how close is it to a 27t motor?

Rather than setting the ESC on a limited setting, wouldnt it work the same if you adjust your radio setting so that instead of having 100% forward movement on the throttle you set it to 50%, 60% or 70%, etc....?
vadn1 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:00 PM
  #521  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Team duratrax, and vadn1,
Thanx 4 your input, i was only thinking of it as a practice tool for stock racing, saving all that motor maintenence, but your points are valid and definately noted!!
Thankx again!
Bluey_74 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:01 PM
  #522  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The limited mode as others have said, only limits max rpm.

Otherwise, it's not really comparable to a stock motor at all! Actually, it's not really even equal to a 19t.
The ss5800 has some pretty mumbo rip. It will accelerate like a mod motor then top out at the limited rpm. Some ppl think a 19t in good tune is faster than a 5800 in limited mode but i haven't seen it.

So.. in conclusion:
5800 in limited mode - MUCH faster than a stocker
On par with a 19t but has more acceleration and torque

Hope that helps!
(i loved mine so much i bought a GTB!)
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 07:50 AM
  #523  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,785
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IRISH
A little advice to all who have brushless speed controllers,I wrecked my car today (schumacher mi-2) and hit the controller case,which split and caused the pin connectors inside the case to rip free from the lower board and cause a spectactular melt down. It burned like phosphorous untill I could get the battery leads cut (soldered battery).The moral of this story is try to position the speed controller in a area where it CANNOT get hit during a crash and this will not happen to you.
PICS PICS PICS PICS!
axle182 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:14 AM
  #524  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Default WHO LET THE SMOKE OUT !!!

Originally Posted by axle182
PICS PICS PICS PICS!
HERES A FEW.
Attached Thumbnails New Novak Brusless System-pc140040.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-pc140041.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-pc140042.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-pc140043.jpg  
IRISH is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:20 AM
  #525  
Shop Owner
iTrader: (28)
 
FTTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Nice Tim!!! I think its because it was in a SCHUMACHER!!! Just Kidding
FTTim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.