Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 12-13-2008, 02:51 PM
  #2671  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

WHAT IS THE BEST NOVAK SETUP FOR THE WORLD GT CLASS 17.5? 2.4 RADIO. THANKS
PUDDIN is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:10 PM
  #2672  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Default

I have a GTB Prog and Velociti 5.5 motor. What kind of gearing do you guys recommend? Size pinion and should I change my stock 48p/86t spur?


Thanks!
Danteazy is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 11:56 AM
  #2673  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
CockyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Singapore RaceCraft Race Complex
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default ESCs Advice Needed

Heys Guys,

Need ur help to clarify something. Does different ESCs produce different perfomance (revs or speed or torque) on the same motor (e.g. 23 Turn stock motor)? Someone told me it does. Is it true? Appreciate your expert advice.

Cheers
CockyDuck is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 06:04 PM
  #2674  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

any one know were the 10.5 and the 13.5 have there timing set at?
light is offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 11:31 AM
  #2675  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default Is this normal ?

I use novak gtb brushless esc with novak 3.5R sintered rotor.

Number of use: only 5 races including today, with very little practice time.

My car is tamiya 415msx using FDR 11.52 ( I race in tropical climate, so 11.52 fdr is already the limit if I want to keep the esc and motor below 80C / 175F after 5 minute run ).

Here is the problem :

On race #4, I bought 3 set of Hi Speed Energy Lipo 4000Mah 35C
It was awesome to feel lipo power and brushless. The car went balistic during the race. I was a happy man on race #4.

A month later, On race #5, I still use the same car, fdr, lipo, motor, esc, etc. The problem become noticeable during final 1,2,3. How come my car lost the punch and acceleration ? ..... I feel the punch and acceleration were not the same compare to last month race ........ and worst, my friends also told me " why your car is slow today ? "

So what's happen in here ?

I'm thinking to replace the rotor as my first try

2nd question, adding one more power capacitor pcb board like the one already installed in gtb, is this beneficial ? or over dosage ?
asw7576 is offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 12:52 PM
  #2676  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

First check the drive train to see if a bearing did not just lock up on you or something did not bind up. Then see if you can barrow a battery from a fellow racer to see if it is not your batteries before you stat getting into deep with the electronics of the car.
CarlosG. is offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 01:03 PM
  #2677  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Bearings is fine..... The car can roll freely.

I am suspecting the loss of magnetism due to 80C/175F operation most of the time ?
asw7576 is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 03:47 PM
  #2678  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 3,470
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Dont' have time to search through here ( off to dinner with wifey) , but does Novak make any "spec" motors ( 13.5, 17.5, 21.5) with the sensor wire coming out of the side , similar to the Ballistic series?


Thanks!
K.Copeland is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:12 PM
  #2679  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (103)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,437
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Cap ? I dont know much about caps but can the gtb cap work ok on the havok with a 8.5,my buddys wires came off the cap and he cant find one local and i have one from the gtb
20 SMOKE is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 01:58 AM
  #2680  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

...check to make sure you didn't hurt the ROTOR - and/or make sure the rotors MAGNET didn't get loose on the shaft!
SWTour is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 02:36 PM
  #2681  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (103)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,437
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
Cap ? I dont know much about caps but can the gtb cap work ok on the havok with a 8.5,my buddys wires came off the cap and he cant find one local and i have one from the gtb
anyone on using a oversized cap
20 SMOKE is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:08 PM
  #2682  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,054
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
anyone on using a oversized cap
Use a Novak Replacement Cap. You will not gain anything by using an oversized cap.
kn7671 is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:34 PM
  #2683  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (103)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,437
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

not trying to gain anything,there is no place to get a replacement for the havok but i have one from the gtb that i was going to put on for him and wanted to make sure it all good.i know what a cap does but didnt want to go over board by using the old gtb one,just trying to help out a friend
20 SMOKE is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 02:24 AM
  #2684  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Anyone use double trans cap in their GTB ?





Is it good idea to run double ?
asw7576 is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 06:59 AM
  #2685  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Just getting back into 1/10th scale and have a GTB brushless w/Velociti 5.5 and wanted to know what's the new/fastest Novak motor I can run with this older system?
tr1kstanc3 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.