Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 08-24-2007, 04:37 PM
  #2566  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Xanavi_R34 View Post
Thank you sir...
No prob


Just watch those temps, Melting BL motors isnt fun lol
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:48 PM
  #2567  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Xanavi_R34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: TAMIYA WORLD
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
No prob


Just watch those temps, Melting BL motors isnt fun lol
lol Yeah, I will sure...
Xanavi_R34 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 11:14 AM
  #2568  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,080
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

just wanted to say that this last weekend i had an awesome time running touring car because i didnt have to tune a single motor thanks to the new Novak GTB brushless system and 10.5 motor. It was an absolute rocket from the get go and let me focus on car setup rather than how good my batteries were and tuning brushed motors

THANKS NOVAK you guys make awesome stuff!!!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 11:15 AM
  #2569  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

NOVAK rulez! Hey Charlie, Steve, ya out there?
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 03:54 AM
  #2570  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 110
Default GTB 4 cell in brushed mode

Has anyone had any experience running the GTB 4 cell in brushed mode? Over here in the UK we run 1/12th with 19T on Saturday and open (BL) on Sunday. To save me messing around changing electrics I figured I'd just run the GTB (most of the LRP/Nosram drivers do this). I know the wiring is a bit funky compared to the LRP system, but how does it perform? I know the GTB only has 1 profile in brushed mode.

Cheers

Stu
StuartC is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:10 AM
  #2571  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default What to buy? Regular GTB or 4 cell GTB?

ok guys I'm not sure what to do here. I'm getting a 1/12 scale and need an ESC. I've always wanted a GTB so this may be the time. For now it would be used in the 1/12 scale but could very easily be used for TC or offroad at some time. I doubt I would use anything more than a 13.5 in 6 cell applications. So does it really matter what ESC I get between the 4 cell and regular GTB since both will handle 4 or 6 cells?
padailey is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:40 AM
  #2572  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by padailey View Post
ok guys I'm not sure what to do here. I'm getting a 1/12 scale and need an ESC. I've always wanted a GTB so this may be the time. For now it would be used in the 1/12 scale but could very easily be used for TC or offroad at some time. I doubt I would use anything more than a 13.5 in 6 cell applications. So does it really matter what ESC I get between the 4 cell and regular GTB since both will handle 4 or 6 cells?
If you are going to do 6 cell in the future, just get the 6 cell GTB. 4 cell is designed, as you know for 1/12 scale and oval apps, but, the footprint is the same, but its height is smaller; if size is an issue. Certain specs like weight and wires are other mitigating factors BUT, if you can fit the 6 cell GTB in your 1/12 scale ride (I never owned a 1/12 scale, on their dimensions, clueless) and dont mind the weight and "bulkiness", get the 6 cell.
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 11:40 AM
  #2573  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 257
Default

As I understand it, the TC version is the same as the 4 cell version awith the addition of a fan on top of the esc.

My GTB fits in both my TC and my 12th...with the fan, but there is a weight penalty...
TraceRacing is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 11:55 AM
  #2574  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

That right there sounds like the deciding factor. Heres a thought, buy a refurbed 6 cell GTB and a new 4 cell GTB...a few sheckles to lay down, but, in the long run, pennies saved....who knows how long they will have the refurbed at 129.99 w/4 month warranty??
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 12:13 PM
  #2575  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Originally Posted by padailey View Post
.....I doubt I would use anything more than a 13.5 in 6 cell applications. So does it really matter what ESC I get between the 4 cell and regular GTB since both will handle 4 or 6 cells?
The 4-cell GTBs are not rated for 6-cell use----only 4 cell.
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 02:45 PM
  #2576  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

My regular GTB w/fan won't fit in my 12 scale. I have to run without a fan. I run stock and have the body slammed, so there isn't much heat to worry about.

BEn
sportpak is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 05:35 PM
  #2577  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
The 4-cell GTBs are not rated for 6-cell use----only 4 cell.
It states 4-6 cell on the box... is that incorrect or did I misread it?
padailey is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 05:55 PM
  #2578  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

The 4 cell speedo's are rated for 4 cell only but I have run them in brushed sedan stock and 19 turn on 6 cell without any problems.
Unregistered is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 07:10 PM
  #2579  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default Sintered Rotor

If you managed to thermal bl motor with a sintered rotor, is the sintered rotor still good or does it deminish in strength like the old bonded rotor?
rcgen is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 07:14 PM
  #2580  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen View Post
If you managed to thermal bl motor with a sintered rotor, is the sintered rotor still good or does it deminish in strength like the old bonded rotor?
Its still good

The sintered will take much more heat then the bonded

But keep thermaling (like alot) wont be good for your motor
BlackedOutREVO is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.