R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2007, 07:03 PM   #2326
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=K_King;3419141]Thanks Steve! I didnt realize that the blue and red at the same time meant brushed. Im good to go now.

thats a nice clean install too! nice job with the fan blowing across the GTB!
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 06:05 AM   #2327
Tech Initiate
 
trf junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Hi guys,

This brushless motor/esc is all new to me. If someone can point me in the right direction as to what I need to change / get to run brushless.
I currently race 27 turn stock , car trf mre, volac esc and spectrum pro receiver/ futaba control.

please if someone has a mo, what is the proper brand to go for and what motor is equivalent to 27 turn if it exist.

What do I need to change in my setup besides the esc?.

thanks in advance, I appreciate it
trf junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:03 AM   #2328
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf junkie View Post
Hi guys,

This brushless motor/esc is all new to me. If someone can point me in the right direction as to what I need to change / get to run brushless.
I currently race 27 turn stock , car trf mre, volac esc and spectrum pro receiver/ futaba control.

please if someone has a mo, what is the proper brand to go for and what motor is equivalent to 27 turn if it exist.

What do I need to change in my setup besides the esc?.

thanks in advance, I appreciate it
you could go a novak GTB esc, with a 13.5 motor. check out www.teamnovak.com for more info on both!

Using the Spektrum DSM, you could go for the DSM optimized GTB esc... (info also on Novak web site)

Cheers
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:14 AM   #2329
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
you could go a novak GTB esc, with a 13.5 motor. check out www.teamnovak.com for more info on both!
I've just done this, got to use a brushed setup for club racing and going to use the brushless for fun.

It's a bit of a tight squeeze in my Mi3 especiall that rather hugh power cap! which I've just tie wrapped to the motor wires for now

Works great and isn't too bad to switch between brushed and brushless.

Looking forward to getting something hotter in there 3.5 maybe????
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:24 AM   #2330
Tech Initiate
 
trf junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks guys, narrows things down a bit.
Are these esc compatible with other motor manufacturers or not.
How does the 13.5 brushless compare to the std 27 turn brushed motor?

How often does it need maintenance or not?
Is it expensive to maintain?.

Sorry about all the questions, gotta do the research...spend monies once, not like before when I started racing, we've all been there..
trf junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:50 AM   #2331
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

If you're having problems with the heat sink and don't want to return it to Novak for a new one try this.

Use some Easy Off oven cleaner on a rag and clean off the anodising on the inside of the heatsink. Don't get any on the outside because it will remove the anodising. It should remove enough material to allow the heatsink to slide on.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 11:17 PM   #2332
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

http://www.shopatron.com/index/135.0.15995.22397.0.0.0

Does the availability of sensor harnesses (in various lengths, praise be thy name!) hint at a future update for the Novak motors?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 11:52 PM   #2333
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf junkie View Post
Thanks guys, narrows things down a bit.
Are these esc compatible with other motor manufacturers or not.
How does the 13.5 brushless compare to the std 27 turn brushed motor?

How often does it need maintenance or not?
Is it expensive to maintain?.

Sorry about all the questions, gotta do the research...spend monies once, not like before when I started racing, we've all been there..
1. yes
2. the 13.5 was designed to be simular to a 27t stock motor
3. practically zero maintenance
4. no
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 11:52 PM   #2334
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
http://www.shopatron.com/index/135.0.15995.22397.0.0.0

Does the availability of sensor harnesses (in various lengths, praise be thy name!) hint at a future update for the Novak motors?
I dont think so:

"Novak's double-ended brushless motor sensor harness is for use with brushless motors that use a double-ended, replaceable sensor harness. Length is 4 inches (102mm). A longer 9 inch (229 mm) harness is also available (part #5355)."

"Note that the Novak brushless motors do not use this harness. However, this harness can be used with Novak Brushless ESCs when using a non-Novak sensored brushless motor."
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 05:15 AM   #2335
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,919
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The 13.5 is the stock brushless motor. I've had my motor for over a year. I've only opened up twice- Once to change the rotor and the second time a few weeks ago to clean it(It took more time to take it apart than to clean it).Mine was really clean inside.Gear it in the 4.50 overall gear ratio for outdoors.You'll hear of some people going lower but it will get hotter and the overall speed is not gained.I've raced against the same chassis and a 3.90 gear ratio and it was not faster. I've raced against a 5.16 overall while I was 4.42 and it was the same speed. Now I will stay around 4.50 for right for testing( got a new car).Oh make sure you get the SS version with the sintered rotor!If not you'll get one later after you thermo.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:19 PM   #2336
Tech Addict
 
J@UNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 621
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can I use the GTB Spread Spectrum with a crystal type receiver? I'll prbably go to spektrum later...

Thx
J@UNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:23 PM   #2337
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Can I use the GTB Spread Spectrum with a crystal type receiver? I'll prbably go to spektrum later...

Thx
Everything I've seen says NO! The GTB Spread Spectrum speed control has been reprogrammed to use much higher drive frequencies (cooler motor, cooler ESC) -- the ONLY way they can do that is for Spektrum type radios. Crystal radios are subject to interference from these higher drive frequencies and will glitch... You will have to use the standard GTB with a crystal receiver...
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:31 PM   #2338
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,200
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
Everything I've seen says NO! The GTB Spread Spectrum speed control has been reprogrammed to use much higher drive frequencies (cooler motor, cooler ESC) -- the ONLY way they can do that is for Spektrum type radios. Crystal radios are subject to interference from these higher drive frequencies and will glitch... You will have to use the standard GTB with a crystal receiver...
wow i didnt know there were still people out there using crystals
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 08:11 PM   #2339
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

hey, i love my crystal radio, people don't even ask me what channel anymore!
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 08:52 PM   #2340
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

My spread spektrum feels nice. I still have one crystal receiver that I'm holding on to just incase of an emergency I might be trading it in for a back up spektrum though.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net