R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 09:52 AM   #2281
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan View Post
I'm sending in my 13.5 today for repair. One of the sensor wires got pinched off. The wires are fairly exposed and have no protection from being pinched against the end of the motor in a crash. The only protection is a thin rubber grommet. So thin that it was gone pretty quick.

I think it could have been designed with a bit more protection. Better yet a user replaceable wire harness/plug system like the Orion motors. Novak seems to be good about improving their products so I hope this is something they look at. The same exact thing has happened to a couple other guys at the local track.

It's going to cost 46 bucks to get it replaced; that's half the price of a new motor. ARrrrrgggg.

Has anyone done anything to protect or cushion this area?
lol
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 12:32 PM   #2282
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking

Does the Novak GTB work well with the LRP Vortex 4.5r motors?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 03:48 AM   #2283
Tech Regular
 
NOOB-SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default caps

Does anyone know How many microfarads and voltage the standard GTB cap is
thanks.
NOOB-SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 04:40 AM   #2284
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
Does the Novak GTB work well with the LRP Vortex 4.5r motors?
I think you mix up something here. LRP is Vector X11 and Orion is Vortex.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:48 AM   #2285
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

can glitching be caused by a motor about to blow?
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 06:57 AM   #2286
Tech Regular
 
Alltapdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Great White Buffalo
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOOB-SMOKE View Post
Does anyone know How many microfarads and voltage the standard GTB cap is
thanks.
5600uf 10v.. I would recommend getting stock replacement!
Alltapdout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:02 PM   #2287
Tech Regular
 
NOOB-SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alltapdout View Post
5600uf 10v.. I would recommend getting stock replacement!
Thanks mate
I thought it was 5600uf.
why do you say stick with the 5600 ? what whould changing to a 4700 do.
cheers!
NOOB-SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 10:38 PM   #2288
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I rechecked mine abd it is 4700uf. Not sure why it is different. Will go look at what jaycar has on way ho and mayb get a bigger one.
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 01:47 AM   #2289
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOOB-SMOKE View Post
Thanks mate
I thought it was 5600uf.
why do you say stick with the 5600 ? what whould changing to a 4700 do.
cheers!
this multiquote stuff is awesome!!!

yeah, read this:


Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Here is an article from TeamNovak's website explaining capacitors (includes a photo):

Power Capacitors and Capacitor Modules

Reading the info probably won't make you any happier about running the module, but you may see why Novak stands by their "awful design."
the novak module has some other stuff in the board, at least keep the board and solder the cap to the board, not straight to the ESC...

al
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 05:51 AM   #2290
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Maintenance

recently converted from 27T brushed to SS 13.5 Pro system ... awsome

Read al the Novak manuals, no mention of maintenance.

Any maintenance required on these motors ?
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 06:27 AM   #2291
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,179
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazmo View Post
recently converted from 27T brushed to SS 13.5 Pro system ... awsome

Read al the Novak manuals, no mention of maintenance.

Any maintenance required on these motors ?
just a drop of oil on the bearings after a dozen runs or so
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 06:52 AM   #2292
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
just a drop of oil on the bearings after a dozen runs or so
FANTASTIC

Thanks
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 11:29 AM   #2293
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazmo View Post
recently converted from 27T brushed to SS 13.5 Pro system ... awsome

Read al the Novak manuals, no mention of maintenance.

Any maintenance required on these motors ?
Keep buying big pinion.....you will need that.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 09:00 PM   #2294
Tech Addict
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have a GTB 6.5R that has the new machined can, but the GTB esc does not seem to have the Built in Lipo Cutoff?

The box I have did not have the stickers stating lipo cutoff, but I was under the impression that all GTB's that have the New Machined Can meant that it was an updated version that also has the Sintered Rotor and Lipo Cutoff?
Xtant3150c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 09:16 PM   #2295
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default GTB Capacitor info

All,
The GTB has a big cap, 5600uf on most, and a circuit board containing seveal surface mount ceramic caps. The big electrolitic cap is to supply basically a current boost to the controller while the ceramics are used to filter the dc of mainly RF. Any electrolitic cap of the same voltage and capacitance value will work. Their caps are nothing special.
radarwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:26 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net