R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2007, 01:47 PM   #2266
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,179
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosey
Hi,

I have recently purchased a Novak GTB 3.5R system from speedtechrc.com and ran it today for the first time. I seemed to have encountered problems with the set-up of the speed controller, as it was reaching full power at about 20% throttle on the transmitter. I am using a Sanwa Gemini 2 (40mhz) radio system, and set the transmitter up as per the instruction manual (High EPA set to maximum, which in this case was 140%, and the Low EPA also set to maximum 160%). Whether it makes any difference, the throttle channel is also set to reverse on the transmitter so that the car goes forwards! If anyone could advise me of how to correct this problem it would be much appreciated as clearly something is not functioning properly?

Many thanks
i would reset your radio to the ESC again
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:22 PM   #2267
Tech Regular
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
its not novaks fault, I should have known. I mean I did ask over the phone if it was a sintered rotor and the guy said I was speaking a foreign langauge. I bought it anyways because I saw the part $ was 3414 so i assumed i was ok. I will talk to Novak on tuesday to see what they can do for me, I mean I dropped $90 on this motor and now I may havre to drop another $35 on the rotor.

so since you asked before you purchased the motor, and the owner has no idea, then when it arrived shouldnt you have checked whether it was sintered or not BEFORE USING IT?

instead you use it, then say hey this aint sintered, and now you complain? lucky for you the guys at novak has lots of patience
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:25 PM   #2268
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Could someone tell me what FDR range would be suitable for the 5.5R (sintered)? I'll be running it on a cyclone.. thanks!
dorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:35 PM   #2269
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,179
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dorick
Could someone tell me what FDR range would be suitable for the 5.5R (sintered)? I'll be running it on a cyclone.. thanks!
on my Cyclone i ran around a 8.5 range depending of the size of the track
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 01:44 AM   #2270
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm planning to gear it conservatively first.. my main concern would be temperature of the motor.. as i don't have a infra red temp sensor.. so i want to make sure it doesn't thermal. So would a FDR of about 9 be about right for that purpose then?
dorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 03:24 AM   #2271
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The 5.5 won't thermal unless you run a ridiculously low fdr. An 8 would be fine, just gear it to your track.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:09 AM   #2272
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

can i use a motor cooler (i.e. Much More or Crazy RC) with the brushless motors in between heats?
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:26 AM   #2273
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH
can i use a motor cooler (i.e. Much More or Crazy RC) with the brushless motors in between heats?
yes you can i emailed charlie a few months ago with this question and he said that as long as the condensation is not too much, you can use a peltier type cooler

after a run, i cool down the motor with a fan, and about 20+ minutes before a run, i put on my much more cooler
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:53 AM   #2274
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,179
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marvi
yes you can i emailed charlie a few months ago with this question and he said that as long as the condensation is not too much, you can use a peltier type cooler

after a run, i cool down the motor with a fan, and about 20+ minutes before a run, i put on my much more cooler
i gear mine properly and i dont have any problems with heat
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 08:45 AM   #2275
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

I'm sending in my 13.5 today for repair. One of the sensor wires got pinched off. The wires are fairly exposed and have no protection from being pinched against the end of the motor in a crash. The only protection is a thin rubber grommet. So thin that it was gone pretty quick.

I think it could have been designed with a bit more protection. Better yet a user replaceable wire harness/plug system like the Orion motors. Novak seems to be good about improving their products so I hope this is something they look at. The same exact thing has happened to a couple other guys at the local track.

It's going to cost 46 bucks to get it replaced; that's half the price of a new motor. ARrrrrgggg.

Has anyone done anything to protect or cushion this area?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 09:31 AM   #2276
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I haven't had it happen, but I'm fully in agreement with you about a replaceable sensor harness, especially one available in different lengths. Plus, it makes the motor more desirable for people that may try using it in a sensorless configuration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan
I'm sending in my 13.5 today for repair. One of the sensor wires got pinched off. The wires are fairly exposed and have no protection from being pinched against the end of the motor in a crash. The only protection is a thin rubber grommet. So thin that it was gone pretty quick.

I think it could have been designed with a bit more protection. Better yet a user replaceable wire harness/plug system like the Orion motors. Novak seems to be good about improving their products so I hope this is something they look at. The same exact thing has happened to a couple other guys at the local track.

It's going to cost 46 bucks to get it replaced; that's half the price of a new motor. ARrrrrgggg.

Has anyone done anything to protect or cushion this area?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 01:45 AM   #2277
Tech Initiate
 
Peter_PaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia VIC
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Any gearing recommendations with a GTB 4.5 setup on a TA05 im not a racer by the way.
Peter_PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:22 AM   #2278
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

About a 9.5 to a 9 would be a good starting point.
Drew.
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:32 AM   #2279
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewdc90 View Post
About a 9.5 to a 9 would be a good starting point.
Drew.
and you still be breaking traction on the straights
MrJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 04:34 AM   #2280
Tech Initiate
 
Peter_PaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia VIC
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Peter_PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net