R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-22-2007, 02:35 AM   #2236
Tech Addict
 
rcstunt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 659
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, its got no motor limit, im running a stock motor on it. U have to remember to do the ONE TOUCH SETUP with no motor or sensor wire connected, then change to brushed mode, then connect a brushed motor.
__________________
Associated TC5R
Associated B4
Yokomo B-max4
LRP, Intellect, Futaba
rcstunt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:35 AM   #2237
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH
is it OK to use a dean's connector? I'd like to be able to switch from brushed to brushless easilly.
It's ok us a dean's connector but you'll have to modify it for the three wire setup. I use a 3.5mm bullet connectors and switch from brush to bl all the time. I have posted some pic on the RDX tread but can't find it. Here's a link to some pics of my oval car with a bl and brushed motor. http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showth...&page=18&pp=15

Look at the third pic under the center shock, you'll see where I slice the red wire for the positive connection to the motor.
rcgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 10:02 AM   #2238
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgen
It's ok us a dean's connector but you'll have to modify it for the three wire setup. I use a 3.5mm bullet connectors and switch from brush to bl all the time. I have posted some pic on the RDX tread but can't find it. Here's a link to some pics of my oval car with a bl and brushed motor. http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showth...&page=18&pp=15

Look at the third pic under the center shock, you'll see where I slice the red wire for the positive connection to the motor.
thanks for the pic. i assume you hotwire the wires from the esc and motor to the battery. i guess my problem is that i use bullet connectors for the battery. trying to figure out how i can branch a wire from the battery back to the motor for brushed without having an extra live wire danggling around when i switch to brushless.
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 06:43 AM   #2239
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

In the brushed mode I hot wire the positive to the motor and battery. In brushless I normally hot wire the positive brush wire to the positive battery or sometimes unsolder the jumper wire
rcgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 01:35 AM   #2240
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:34 AM   #2241
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
you can but you shouldn't....

this question has been asked several times before, do a seach on this thread and you will certainly will get a proper answer on that....
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:57 AM   #2242
Tech Regular
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

put a smaller one in if you want.

u cant satisfy everyone. some people use 2 of them novak ones.
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 10:22 AM   #2243
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Here is an article from TeamNovak's website explaining capacitors (includes a photo):

Power Capacitors and Capacitor Modules

Reading the info probably won't make you any happier about running the module, but you may see why Novak stands by their "awful design."

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 10:37 AM   #2244
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
Zip tie it to the wires as low and centered as you can. That's what I do with mine. Or put it on the deck. Or on the servo. Tuck it away somewhere. You can make it work. You want that puppy on there to protect the ESC and make things run smoother. It's big for a reason... it works best that way !
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 01:53 AM   #2245
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

planning to pick up a Spektrum system for my old trusty M8. Will it work with the 1st gen GTB (not to Spektrum Optimized one)?
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 02:00 AM   #2246
Tech Master
 
DRAG_ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ibanez,Cort,Yamaha
Posts: 1,783
Default

Need help, is it possible to replace the fan on GTB with the fan that comes with computer at the top of chipset heat sinks........?? i've been trying to buy the novak one but it's out of stock and i do really need one.
__________________
Freq:29.945, car no:29, W.A.R.C.M.C.C, http://projectm-design.blogspot.com/
DRAG_ON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 02:32 AM   #2247
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

voodoo,

All of my GTB's are the NON Spectrum type..and I run Spectrum radios in ALL my cars.

It's my understanding you can run the NON Spectrum W/ a spectrum radio, but not vice versa.

The Spread Spectrum ESC's have a faster switching optimizing the Spectrums ability and this feature also lets the speed control run cooler.

DRAG-ON

Check With NOVAKS site for the fan

Shop At Team Novak
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 02:42 AM   #2248
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRAG_ON
Need help, is it possible to replace the fan on GTB with the fan that comes with computer at the top of chipset heat sinks........?? i've been trying to buy the novak one but it's out of stock and i do really need one.
Yes as long as the fan is 5V, if not it will still work but won't spin very fast. If you can only get a 12V one solder it to the batt terminals on the speedie.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 03:12 AM   #2249
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 306
Default

@DRAG-ON

Have you try Muchmore fan, its slightly smaller (25x25mm) than novak fan (30x30mm), but its true 5V fan,
airflow is almost the same, I think it can replace original novak fan

Last edited by Faiz; 05-25-2007 at 03:27 AM.
Faiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 05:22 AM   #2250
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

wat FDR would u recommend on a GTB 5.5r (sintered) with a cyclone? Also is it possible to limit the speed on it?
dorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net