Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 05-22-2007, 02:35 AM
  #2236  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
rcstunt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 659
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, its got no motor limit, im running a stock motor on it. U have to remember to do the ONE TOUCH SETUP with no motor or sensor wire connected, then change to brushed mode, then connect a brushed motor.
rcstunt101 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 05:35 AM
  #2237  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

Originally Posted by VooDooPH
is it OK to use a dean's connector? I'd like to be able to switch from brushed to brushless easilly.
It's ok us a dean's connector but you'll have to modify it for the three wire setup. I use a 3.5mm bullet connectors and switch from brush to bl all the time. I have posted some pic on the RDX tread but can't find it. Here's a link to some pics of my oval car with a bl and brushed motor. http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showth...&page=18&pp=15

Look at the third pic under the center shock, you'll see where I slice the red wire for the positive connection to the motor.
rcgen is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 10:02 AM
  #2238  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgen
It's ok us a dean's connector but you'll have to modify it for the three wire setup. I use a 3.5mm bullet connectors and switch from brush to bl all the time. I have posted some pic on the RDX tread but can't find it. Here's a link to some pics of my oval car with a bl and brushed motor. http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showth...&page=18&pp=15

Look at the third pic under the center shock, you'll see where I slice the red wire for the positive connection to the motor.
thanks for the pic. i assume you hotwire the wires from the esc and motor to the battery. i guess my problem is that i use bullet connectors for the battery. trying to figure out how i can branch a wire from the battery back to the motor for brushed without having an extra live wire danggling around when i switch to brushless.
VooDooPH is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 06:43 AM
  #2239  
Tech Master
 
rcgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,069
Default

In the brushed mode I hot wire the positive to the motor and battery. In brushless I normally hot wire the positive brush wire to the positive battery or sometimes unsolder the jumper wire
rcgen is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:35 AM
  #2240  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
SammyZ is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:34 AM
  #2241  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
you can but you shouldn't....

this question has been asked several times before, do a seach on this thread and you will certainly will get a proper answer on that....
rampal is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:57 AM
  #2242  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

put a smaller one in if you want.

u cant satisfy everyone. some people use 2 of them novak ones.
GymBeam is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 10:22 AM
  #2243  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Here is an article from TeamNovak's website explaining capacitors (includes a photo):

Power Capacitors and Capacitor Modules

Reading the info probably won't make you any happier about running the module, but you may see why Novak stands by their "awful design."

Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 10:37 AM
  #2244  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B18C Turbo
Help! I don't want to run that insanely large power cap on my new GTB. I have no space for it on my touring car. That is such an awful design, why does Novak do this? Look at the size of it, its the size of the whole ESC. Can I run the GTB without this power cap?
Zip tie it to the wires as low and centered as you can. That's what I do with mine. Or put it on the deck. Or on the servo. Tuck it away somewhere. You can make it work. You want that puppy on there to protect the ESC and make things run smoother. It's big for a reason... it works best that way !
swopemike is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 01:53 AM
  #2245  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

planning to pick up a Spektrum system for my old trusty M8. Will it work with the 1st gen GTB (not to Spektrum Optimized one)?
VooDooPH is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:00 AM
  #2246  
Tech Master
 
DRAG_ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ibanez,Cort,Yamaha
Posts: 1,783
Default

Need help, is it possible to replace the fan on GTB with the fan that comes with computer at the top of chipset heat sinks........?? i've been trying to buy the novak one but it's out of stock and i do really need one.
DRAG_ON is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:32 AM
  #2247  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

voodoo,

All of my GTB's are the NON Spectrum type..and I run Spectrum radios in ALL my cars.

It's my understanding you can run the NON Spectrum W/ a spectrum radio, but not vice versa.

The Spread Spectrum ESC's have a faster switching optimizing the Spectrums ability and this feature also lets the speed control run cooler.

DRAG-ON

Check With NOVAKS site for the fan

Shop At Team Novak
SWTour is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:42 AM
  #2248  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DRAG_ON
Need help, is it possible to replace the fan on GTB with the fan that comes with computer at the top of chipset heat sinks........?? i've been trying to buy the novak one but it's out of stock and i do really need one.
Yes as long as the fan is 5V, if not it will still work but won't spin very fast. If you can only get a 12V one solder it to the batt terminals on the speedie.
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:12 AM
  #2249  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 306
Default

@DRAG-ON

Have you try Muchmore fan, its slightly smaller (25x25mm) than novak fan (30x30mm), but its true 5V fan,
airflow is almost the same, I think it can replace original novak fan

Last edited by Faiz; 05-25-2007 at 03:27 AM.
Faiz is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:22 AM
  #2250  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

wat FDR would u recommend on a GTB 5.5r (sintered) with a cyclone? Also is it possible to limit the speed on it?
dorick is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.