R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2007, 02:35 AM   #1906
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

My GTB got a little warm last metting.
Attached Thumbnails
New Novak Brusless System-dscf0890-small.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-dscf0893-small.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-dscf0894-small.jpg   New Novak Brusless System-dscf0895-small.jpg  
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 03:12 AM   #1907
Tech Fanatic
 
warren_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rainsville
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to warren_s
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewdc90
My GTB got a little warm last metting.
What did you do?
__________________
All gods creatures have a place alongside my chips and gravy
T2'007 - resting / TRF 501x x 2 RIP / Durango DEX410 - All I can say MFG "WEAPON"
TC12L4 - why? / TC5R - Love that car /M05 Pro little bit on fun
MBX5R - noisy bugger / SC10 / T4 x2
warren_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 04:41 AM   #1908
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Nothing, it ran fine for the first three races then towards the end of the last race the car slowed down and heaps of smoke poured out of the car, a marshal unpluged my battery but it was a too late. I might try the GM next.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:03 PM   #1909
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

How do you gear the 4300 motor for touring cars with rubber tires? What is the recommended FDR for this motor? Thanks.
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:14 PM   #1910
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro
How do you gear the 4300 motor for touring cars with rubber tires? What is the recommended FDR for this motor? Thanks.
It varies greatly depending on what rotor you're using, and a little bit based on what batteries you're using. With LiPo, I can give you a ballpark in rollout. I'm not sure how to convert that to FDR.

Bonded (stock) Rotor: 28.5MM
Sintered Rotor: 33MM

The 4300 ships with the bonded rotor. The updated version that's coming out, the SS 10.5 Pro will ship with the sintered rotor. You can update your 4300 with a sintered rotor as well, though you'll need to also add the updated endbell with the larger bearing. There's a kit specifically for this that comes with the sintered rotor.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 05:02 PM   #1911
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

Hi there

i got a little mess on my GTB capacitor ... i removed the heat shrink cover to check the damage





it got a road shave ... , there was some liquid in the shaved part, not much, looks like the shaved part was sweting , i cleaned it with a napkin , and it looks like it doesnt sewt anymore ....

i should replace it , i know , but im not sure i can get a new one before sunday race...my question is , what would happen if i run it and capacitor fails? would it damage the ESC? battery? both? nothing? flames? explosion?
DrKucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 05:48 PM   #1912
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
It varies greatly depending on what rotor you're using, and a little bit based on what batteries you're using. With LiPo, I can give you a ballpark in rollout. I'm not sure how to convert that to FDR.

Bonded (stock) Rotor: 28.5MM
Sintered Rotor: 33MM

The 4300 ships with the bonded rotor. The updated version that's coming out, the SS 10.5 Pro will ship with the sintered rotor. You can update your 4300 with a sintered rotor as well, though you'll need to also add the updated endbell with the larger bearing. There's a kit specifically for this that comes with the sintered rotor.
I have the upgrade to sintered rotor. Just out of curiosity, how do you calculate roll out? What is considered a good rollout?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 05:55 PM   #1913
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

greetings all,

Will the SS 13.5 Pro combo include the spread spectrum speedo (#1711 GTB Spread Spectrum Brushless/brush ESC)?

Cheerz
Obsidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 06:21 PM   #1914
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrKucho
i should replace it , i know , but im not sure i can get a new one before sunday race...my question is , what would happen if i run it and capacitor fails? would it damage the ESC? battery? both? nothing? flames? explosion?
That's pretty risky...it'll probably damage the ESC based on what I have seen.

Novak recommends changing power caps even when they get the slightest little dent!
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 07:08 PM   #1915
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro
I have the upgrade to sintered rotor. Just out of curiosity, how do you calculate roll out? What is considered a good rollout?
www.GearChart.com for calculating roll out. Try one of the roll outs syndr0me recommended.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 07:44 PM   #1916
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
That's pretty risky...it'll probably damage the ESC based on what I have seen.

Novak recommends changing power caps even when they get the slightest little dent!
..

Yeah true - I assume because it's doing 3 times the work of a "Regular" speedo, the large cap is required to stop the thing from overheating..
Actually - I do recall some members who had thermalling problems which were "cured" by replacing their caps..

You could always substitue another cap in there if you can't find the Novak one. Or get a few smaller low voltage capps and wire them in parallel.
Eg. 2 x 2400uF 10V in parallel..

Actually the more caps the better..
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:05 AM   #1917
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

thx, im trying to get the cap but looks like here in spain 10v capacitors are not so popular , we have 16v , 25v and they are bigger in size.... i woudnt want to run a very big cap .....

i know VFS-1 ESC fr brushed motors uses 25v and 2500uF which size is just little bigger than GTB one

so i wonder , if i use a 16v cap, can i use less uF ( lets say 3500 ) ?
DrKucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 07:13 AM   #1918
Tech Addict
 
rcdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Agusan del Norte
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

you can use capacitors with higher volts but keep the uF the same as the one novak used on the GTB. so 16v is fine.
__________________
TeamXray, TeamAssociated, Esky, Tamiya
rcdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 08:55 AM   #1919
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

will the extra volts do anthing good to ESC or battery?
DrKucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:40 AM   #1920
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Hey guys,

Just wanted to let you know that any of your local hobby shops/distributors that carry Novak products should be able to order you proper replacment capacitors from us.

Just ask them and I'm sure they'd be happy to order them for you!

Most of the team runs the Trans-Cap Module on pretty much everything. The Novak part # for that is: 5679

Cheers guys!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net