Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 12-20-2006, 05:32 PM
  #1786  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight
any word if Novak is making one? 1/12 scale here I come when I see a smaller Novak brushless.
The footprint is the problem and it's exactly the same....
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 02:33 AM
  #1787  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

When you replace the bonded rotor with the sintered one is there suppose to be any end play when you pull on the shaft?

The instructions say to put back all the shims when swapping rotors but it binds up the bearings and the rotor doesn't spin free when I tighten everything down. I left 1 of the 2 original shims out and it seems to spin ok but there's no end play.

This is a 13.5 if it makes a difference.
Sydewynder is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 05:24 AM
  #1788  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,128
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sydewynder
When you replace the bonded rotor with the sintered one is there suppose to be any end play when you pull on the shaft?

The instructions say to put back all the shims when swapping rotors but it binds up the bearings and the rotor doesn't spin free when I tighten everything down. I left 1 of the 2 original shims out and it seems to spin ok but there's no end play.

This is a 13.5 if it makes a difference.
it should have a little play
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 12:29 PM
  #1789  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
it should have a little play

Thanks.
Sydewynder is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 08:25 PM
  #1790  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
HVAC25000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

My steering servo is shutting off for about 3-7 seconds at a time while I'm running. I loose complete control over the servo and it locks (I say locks, but I'm not sure if it is locking in that position or just shutting off completely, hard to catch thecar while it's moving and grab the wheels to find out) in whatever position it is in for a few seconds. The wires don't have any visible breaks and the servo is fairly new. I don't lose any control over throttle, though. It only happened after about 2 minutes of running, but I still had atleast half a pack left (Orion 442s 1.176v), and no noticable loss in acceleration, so I don't think power is the reason. No components in the car were warmer than about 75 degrees so I don't think it has anything to do with overheating. I've used this radio system, batteries, and servo in this car in conjunction with a GTX and an Orion motor with no trouble. As soon as I switched to the GTB the trouble arose.

Anyone have any ideas?
HVAC25000 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 08:48 PM
  #1791  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,832
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

I'll bet you're running a spektrum system with the older Rx. If so, the Rx is going into failsafe mode because of the draw from the motor. Get the Spektrum voltage regulator cap and it should fix the problem.

Blake
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 09:13 PM
  #1792  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
HVAC25000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I wish I had a Spektrum, lol. All I've got is a Hitec Aggressor FM http://hitecrcd.com/Radios/aggressorFM.htm

Servo being an HS-5625 http://hitecrcd.com/Servos/hs5625.htm
HVAC25000 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 10:30 PM
  #1793  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hot Mountains of S.E. Arizona
Posts: 3,014
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

How's this look...to remove the Fan and Heat Sink from your OLDER GTB and make it like the 4 cell version?





This cover is made by Randy at Big Boys Toys in Bakersfield CA
SWTour is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:42 PM
  #1794  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
rcdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Agusan del Norte
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

very nice...
rcdy is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:41 AM
  #1795  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,128
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SWTour
How's this look...to remove the Fan and Heat Sink from your OLDER GTB and make it like the 4 cell version?





This cover is made by Randy at Big Boys Toys in Bakersfield CA
do you have the new profiles on it? and does that void your warranty?
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:48 PM
  #1796  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hot Mountains of S.E. Arizona
Posts: 3,014
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I'm not running it yet, this was run at our recent VELODROME OVAL race on Scot Petitclerc's RECORD Setting Mod Oval Car using a Novak 3.5 motor.

He's posting some info on the HobbyTalk sight about it. I just got my first B/L system (GTB w/ 5.5 motor) and 2 days later saw the 4 Cell deal, then I was shown this deal that I can put on my set up.
SWTour is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:45 AM
  #1797  
Tech Fanatic
 
akura2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 822
Default

Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
The footprint is the problem and it's exactly the same....
you guys are all complaining about size.... I own the original SuperSport ESC....LOL


it's not in my 12t scale... but it IS a bigger piece than the GTB...
akura2 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 07:11 AM
  #1798  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,986
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

ran the 4300 and loved every second of my run from start to finish. I would love to have a smaller version but I'm okay with the current size. There were more brushless systems on the track today than ever before with more hitting the track next weekend.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 07:29 AM
  #1799  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,128
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST
ran the 4300 and loved every second of my run from start to finish. I would love to have a smaller version but I'm okay with the current size. There were more brushless systems on the track today than ever before with more hitting the track next weekend.
brushed motors are going to be extinct
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:16 AM
  #1800  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
dal bains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

What can be done if the sensor wire is too short? Can novak lengthen it? or would it just be cheaper to buy another motor?

I ran a stock brushless for the first time last night (borrowed it from a friend) for the main, well lets just say it gonna stay in the car... he was selling it anyway. I like stlnlst would have taken the win if i hadnt mixed up my batteries.
dal bains is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.